Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Cons: Tight reception area. Overall untidy look of the hotel. Bad service.
1 hour wait to be checked in and the room key didn't work. There are many other nice hotels around so I left.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 14, 2016 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your concerns. We apologize you were disappointed with the overall condition and cleanliness of the hotel, as well as the service when you were checking into the hotel. We value your feedback and have shared your comments with hotel management to improve our guest experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Weekend Getaway

Posted Jun 13, 2016
The hotel had trash strewn in the walkways, stairwell and common areas; it was dirty and the room we initially checked into was even more filthy. We asked to speak to a manager and we were not able to. We changed our room 3 times before we found one semi suitable. Before the end of the first day my husband killed a roach in the room, 3 am the next morning he killed another one. We've stayed at close to 100 hotels in various countries and this is the first time we found cockroaches in our hotel room. The comforter on the bed had stains, and several dirt marks, the bathrooms in the first three rooms we looked at reeked. Housekeeping came to resolve the issue, but the deodorizer only masked the smell momentarily. We stayed the weekend, but checked out earlier than we needed to on the day of departure. By no means can this be considered a 5 star hotel. It is lacking in numerous areas. I would not stay here again and certainly wouldn't recommend it to anyone. It was worse than words will allow me to express; it was so bad that my husband has decided that we will never stay at a Radisson again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 20, 2016 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Dear Lani, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We regret to hear about your disappointment with the cleanliness of the hotel and the rooms you were shown. We apologize for any discomfort caused during your stay and appreciate you sharing your experience with us. We value your feedback and have shared your concerns with hotel management to continually improve our guest experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bahrain

Nice hotel right at the beach.

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Pros: Location, staff.
Cons: A bit softer bed would be nice.
Location: Plenty of restaurants, shops, scuba diving, unique glass bottom boat and more on premises. Located on South Beach so not a lot of shops nearby.
Other than the problem we had finding the location (Google Maps put it about 20 minutes away on two different devices) it was a fantastic hotel. The staff was courteous and helpful. Check-in and checkout was a breeze. From our balcony we had a nice view. Overall a great stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Amman

Location Location lack of service

Posted Apr 7, 2016
Location is excellent I have no faults with that but the service levels are atrocious, Jordanians need to up their game when it comes to customer service particularly if they want to compete in the tourist industry against Sharm al Sheikh etc, the use of mobile phones while serving a customer is something Europeans find rude, I appreciate the culture differences however no matter where you are in the world when you are dealing with a customer your main aim is that customer and not your mobile or your friend at the back of the que who expects to be served before guests
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2016 by Corporate Customer Care, Hotel Management
We apologise for the disappointing service you received from our staff in Tala Bay. We appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention, and hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Service

Posted Jan 9, 2016
Friendly staff and wonderful hotel. Nice pools................................................................................................ I highly recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel right on the beach resort atmosphere.

Posted Nov 3, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: General maintenance.
Location: Beautiful views, beautiful beach.
Nice hotel , property just needs some routine maintenance, a good thorough cleaning. Locks on room door were broken, drain partially clogged in shower and room needed a good spring cleaning. Staff pleasant, food good, resort atmosphere wounderful. Pools beautiful! Hotel grounds beautiful. A small amount of general maintenance would make this a perfect locations!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 11, 2015
The location of the hotel is great, located on the beach and 7 minutes driving from the city. The rooms are ok, breakfast is very reach. Overall I recommend this hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2015 by Anas Habashneh, Hotel Management
Dear Valued guest First of all thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us , we are delighted to hear that you had comfortable stay and you have recommended our resort through Expedia, Once again thank and hope to see you in the near future. Sincerely
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 2, 2015
Adequate . Need to upgrade mattresses pillows & drapes. Drapes were falling apart. The door to the patio did not have a lock. Had dinner at heatwave was very good & the staff were good. We were over charged for the 3rd person in our part which was our son with no added value. They way to to be 4!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 6, 2015 by Anas Habashneh/Front Office Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest First of All I would like to thank you for taking the time to to share your feedback at our resort, I am sorry to hear you did not have good night's sleep due to mattress and pillow, Rest assure we will work on your feedback seriously. Sincerely
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very Disapointing for the rate I paid

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Pros: the beach and location
Cons: Cleanness in general, services staff, rooms look old and worn out for a 5 star hotel
The beach is nice, all the rest was not good, rooms are shabby, not clean in general, we had to wait approx. 45 min to check in although we arrived at 3:00 pm. In the room when we arrived there where no towels, nothing is 5 stars in this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2015 by Anas Habashneh - Front Office Manage , Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest First of all I would like to thank for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay , I appreciate you bringing to my attention all issue you have experienced I hope to accept my sincere apology for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to Rooms condition cleanness, amenities and check-in experience, your feedback are valuable and necessary action will be taken to ensure similar situation can be avoided in the future, Once again thank you and we know that you have many choices when it comes to you and hope to have more chance to host for more comfortable stay. Sincerely Anas Habashneh
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent and close to the beach

Posted Apr 14, 2015
The check in and tour of facilities via the hotel touring cart were great but the rooms were very average and the room layout that we reserved was not provided (king and a single). I also did not think the buffet was worth the money.