Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WI

Great location, BUT only stay if others sold out!

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Comfy beds, great location
Cons: Customer service, cleanliness, maintenance of furniture and appliances in rooms
Location: We rented a two hour tour on a glass bottom boat, got a great dinner at Hashem and Sons, and got a delicious box of baklava like sweets at Abu Ghariba
Hotel was so dirty that we had to wear shoes in the room to prevent our feet from turning black, door on cabinet for fridge was coming off the hinges, fridge needed a defrost so to allow door to shut properly, shower in bathroom had flimsy rod holding up the shower curtain and shower sprayed out back and front. However, the room was huge, included a living room and 2 bedrooms in addition to the bath, beds were comfortable, and it was in a great location within walking distance to beach, restaurants, shops, etc. We could see the Red Sea from the windows, and although they lacked screens, it was great that they opened to catch the breeze. Pool was OK but towels and cleanliness were lacking. Staff was not responsive to our concerns about the couch in the room, which was stained and dirty like all the furniture (even in the lobby), and wreaked of rotten food or a dead mouse. Restaurant was closed the whole time we were there, but that's probably for the best. WiFi was terrible, and only barely worked in the lobby, ended up going to restaurant on corner to use theirs.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
Our room was very nice but unfortunately the rest of the hotel was very disappointing. They originally gave us the wrong room when we checked in and the wifi didn't work for our whole visit. The hotel was under refurbishment and so was very messy with building equipment and materials in the corridors and blocking the stairs and we couldn't use the pool area as this was also being refurbished. Breakfast was quite limited and the receptionist didn't even know where breakfast was being served and sent us to the wrong floor.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by Annie from Toronto, Canada

Basic, clean, a little noisy

Posted May 19, 2014
Spent two nights at Mina, mother and daughter, early twenties. Tons of sugar estate smoke in the lobby; couldn't use pool because full of kids and men; this was quite disappointing. This is a conservative Arab Muslim country. Women travellers need to remember this.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by RV from london

Good hotel

Posted Mar 22, 2014
Pros: Balcony. Breakfast. Location.
Cons: Bar and swimming pool area looked tired. Service in upstairs bar!
Good hotel, across the road from some restaurants and good facilities (an alcohol shop with a good selection of European drinks, esp beers, proved handy). Sea view apartment had a lovely balcony, perfect for watching the sun go down. Room was comfortable. Only real gripe was that the swimming pool area looked tired and the bar woman in the upstairs bar was so rude, we chose not to drink there again! Breakfast was reasonable too.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 10, 2014
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Value for money

Posted Dec 22, 2013 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Pia Jensen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 9, 2013 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 15, 2013 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Philip from Israel


Posted Jun 5, 2013 on Hotels
We were disappointed with the cleanliness of the room (floor not cleaned and slime in the shower. Plastic cups in bathroom had someone else's toothpaste remains in them). We also had to ask for towels to be delivered even after leaving them hanging so as to not have them replaced during our 2 day stay. We were also disturbed at 2.00 am on the last morning of our stay with a call from reception saying our driver was waiting. After some discussion it was determined that reception had dialled the wrong room. The final insult was to have the reception person accuse us of stealing from the mini bar when we checked out. The mini bar was never fully stocked during our stay despite two visits from housekeeping staff during the first day. I am still extremely offended that after saying that we did not use the mini bar during our stay, the male receptionist said "perhaps your wife used it when you were not looking". My wife was standing right there when he made the accusation. We will not be recommending the Mina hotel in Aqaba to anyone.
4 out of 5
by Jens J

Good location in "central Aqaba"

Posted Nov 10, 2012 on Hotels
A hotel that lives up to the rating. Good location in the "city centre" of Aqaba. Restaurants just around the corner and also easy to get a hold of taxis outside the hotel. Located just behind Doubletree by Hilton. The hotel (as well as most others) is cooperating with "Berenice" (a pool- & beacharea by the south beach you can go to by bus for apr. 10 JOD). The breakfast isn't the most culinary you can find, but enough to get full. Though very cold (due to A/C) both in the corridors and restaurant, so bring a warm sweater when off to eat breakfast. If you're thinking about ordering something by the waiter by the pool, it might be a good idea to ask for the price first...