Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Donald from HKG

Gem at Arashiyama

Posted Aug 16, 2016 on Hotels
Its a gem right at Arashiyama, at night you get to see the beautiful lights from the bridge and at day is so close by the main places you need to visit/eat at Arashiyama. Room are not so spacious, and facilities are not of a high rate hotel, think of it as a modern higher class inn/ryokans, must try the breakfast, tofu and light Kaiseki cuisine. Free parking a bonus
5 out of 5
by Graham from Manchester

Great retreat in an attractive spot

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
I wanted a couple of days away from the big city hustle and bustle, and this hotel provided a very tranquil "ryokan style" retreat, but very close to Arashiyama's scenic spots. It was exactly what I was looking for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Honolulu, Hawaii

Nice stay in Arashiyama

Posted Jan 30, 2016
I've previously stated near Kyoto Station on recent visits to Kyoto but always liked the area around Arashiyama so I decided to stay there this time. I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the hotel as some of the other reviews weren't too good. It's not the most convenient location to either rail stations but if you like strolling through the bamboo forest, along the river or on the temple grounds it can't be beat, especially at the price. Staff was helpful getting me a taxi on a rainy day and spoke enough English for my needs. The room was large by Japan standards, more like a western style motel. I would definitely return.
2 out of 5
by Lee from London, living in Korea

This is NOT a ryokan.

Posted Oct 2, 2015 on Hotels
Unlike the classification on the Hotels.com website, the Razan is NOT a ryokan, which was the sole reason for booking. It is a regular, albeit Japanese, version of a standard motel/hotel. It is clean and has a standard, but not exceptional bath house. I appeared to be the only non-Japanese guest in the hotel during my two days there. There was much, good natured, amusement from the waitresses in the dining room for breakfast at my ignorance of the foods available, also some well-meaning, but incomprehensible instructions/offers of help. Contrary to the claim on the website, wifi is not available in the room and only within a 5 metre radius of the centre of the lobby.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 6, 2017
良くも悪くも昔ながらのの普通のホテル。 年輩の方の宿泊者が多い感じ。 空気清浄機のせいか、部屋が独特の臭いがあるので気になる人は気になるかも。 何が悪いと言う訳ではないけど、細やかなサービスは期待しない方がよい。
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Hotel with public bath

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: polite staff who showed us our room, helped us with the luggage and always smiled; the public bath was a good way of relaxing; room rate affordable
Location: shops nearby not open before 9 am as we could find, either have breakfast in the hotel or buy some food ahead for breakfast at convenience store
Overall experience is good, helpful and polite staff and we made use of the public bath. The hotel is few minutes from tram station but around 15 minutes from JR station or romantic train station. We did not have breakfast at the hotel, and there was no eating place opening before 9 am that we could find in this vicinity. It is not about this particular hotel but nothing opens early (before 9 am) in this area. There is convenience store nearby, Lawson, where one can buy some food. Last time we stayed in another hotel in which we could buy bus 1-day pass but we could not buy it in this hotel. We could buy that on the bus but this hotel cannot provide this little extra convenience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

空調の改善をお願いします。

Posted Sep 4, 2017 on Hotels
空調が夜寒く、昼間熱く調整できなかった。 朝食の時間が短かった。 お風呂がきれいでよかった。
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location. Near the river.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Nice time great for morning walk along the river. Breakfast was ok. Onsen was ok. Hotel front staff was not effective
3 out of 5
by WANKYU

쳬크아웃 시간이 너무 이름

Posted Aug 1, 2017 on Hotels
1. 호텔위치를 찾기가 힘틂 2. 객실에 생수서비스가 없음. 3. 조식에 다양한 일식 밑반찬이 나와 즐거움. 4. 제크아웃시간이 오전 10시이고 이후 1시간마다 1000엔씩 받는다고 하여 불편.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

嵐山に来たらまた泊まりたい旅館

Posted Jul 30, 2017 on Hotels
朝早くから伺いお部屋のチェックインがまだ出来なかったのですが、心良く荷物を預かって頂き、着替えるお部屋も貸して頂けてとても助かりました。皆さんとても親切でした。また川沿いなので便利な場所にありとても満足です。