Ratings based on 136 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Amazing experience

Posted Dec 26, 2017
Staff r all very friendly and welcoming, room was tidy and very clean, onsen was fantastic, both breakfast and dinner are well prepared and enjoyed the stay very much
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: very quiet
Location: Arashiyama - Monkey Park, Bamboo grove
strong wood smell, staff's english is limited but very nice. public on sen is small.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very unique experience.

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Welcome by lovely staff who really cares for you, we had a wonderful stay in this Ryokan, very well located and close to many places of high interest. Take a deep breath, and enjoy your stay! I will definitely go back when I go back to Kyoto.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice ryokan

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Excellent hotel, clean, large rooms, very artfully arranged, fresh flowers. Staff will bend over backwards for you. Delicious breakfast. There was a strange noise coming from the wall in the morning, only negative.
5 out of 5
by Sze Wai

6-star Ryokan Kyoto Hotel

Posted Apr 11, 2017 on Hotels
Superb service and outstanding food quality that I had experienced two days ago, it was way beyond our expectation in light of customer-focused service, seasonal food quality and historical location. For instance, we were assigned with a lady butler to serve in-room dinner and breakfast, prepare our beds after dinner and arrange bath before our arrival. The hotel manager and the lady butler helped us to call taxi and also waited at the hotel entrance for farewell until our taxi left the premise. This room is also facilitated with private bathroom and external bath, it was really special to us though we didn't try the external bath during our stay coz it was around 7 degree there. In addition, the maximum privacy can also be offered as I barely met other guests around. Finally, there are many tourist attractions such as bamboo forrest around this hotel within 10-15 min walk, it is definitely an excellent ryokan hotel for couples and families.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Nice Hotel in the Arashiyama Area

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Excellent little hotel - very clean and comfortable. Extremely friendly staff and superd customer service. Food is excellent as well.
5 out of 5
by Michelle

Traditional and Timeless

Posted Mar 26, 2017 on Hotels
Was an amazing first experience at a ryokan. Very traditional feels but the staff, food, and room made you feel like a noble being well taken cared of and formal. Be warned that the formality may not work out for everyone and is best for customers that can fully respect that. No loud noises. Children must be respectful as this is a quiet inn. Meals are scheduled and must be on time as staff take great care of preparing your meals in dazzling trays and service. DO NOT MISS BREAKFAST, it was the BEST part of our trip in Kyoto. You CANNOT find any traditional service with such great quality as you would see "complimentary" with your stay!!! The dinner service I feel may have been prepared by a different chef, the taste and care was leagues below the breakfast offering. It's also expensive and 9 courses, it was difficult to finish because the tastes were very different to Western palettes. Futon style beds were surprisingly comfortable and onsen was a treat. Location is far from Kyoto central which is a wonderful place to visit for sight seeing and nightlife. Super safe to walk at night. Arashiyama is a very quite "suburban" neighborhood that closes fairly early (6PM wind down) that makes it great for locals but disappointing for tourists who want to make the most of their trip. But during the day it's a great place with food and Bamboo Forest as well as several sight seeing points walking distance away.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent Service

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
Small hotel by the riverside in Japanese style. Service is excellent, staff very helpful. Room is clean and quiet.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

excellent service with nice view

Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
it is a very very nice hotel. The service is well done. The staff are excellent. i will go again next time. it is a nice trip to live in this hotel
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 28, 2016 on Hotels