Ratings based on 581 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Good view. Close to Arbat. Nice room. Very clean .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Soviet Union Feeling

Posted Sep 27, 2017
Pros: The man, who carries luggage and opens the door.
Cons: Everything
Location: There's really nothing close to the hotel. You have to walk 20 minutes to the area, where you can get stores, restaurant, etc.
The hotel itself is very old. The furniture and bathroom needs to be updated. The staff is not friendly, the overall feeling like you are living in Soviet Union. When they cleaned the windows from outside, they didn't let us know in advance, and two days in the row some guy caught me walking naked in the room. The only guy who was friendly, the man, who helped me to carry my luggage. The room cleaning was very interesting; they would never throw out any garbage that stays on the table, even dirty plates or wine glasses were never removed or cleaned. I would not book this hotel and would not recommend it to my friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cape cod

The best hotel for the price

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Excellent hotel close to everything. Nice breakfast buffet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Memphis, TN.

Great hotel not far from downtonw Moscow

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: I liked the amenities, cleanliness, and the ambience as well as its great location.
Cons: Just keep up the good work and quality of service.
Location: Arbat street is very close and you could walk to it but the weather in Moscow is awful. When it rains, it pours. Bring your umbrella.
The Golden Ring hotel is a classical 5 star hotel whose staff is excellent. We arrived at half past midnight on a Sunday night, after being ripped off at the Sheremetyevo Airport with a 10,000 rubles ride to the hotel. When I mentioned this to the Front Desk, he was embarrassed by his compatriots at the airport who are eager to rip off Americans who in our case did not have any other means of transportation due to the fact that the Metro was already closed. The Front Desk attendant told us that the taxi fee should have been 1,750 rubles. As soon as we arrived at the hotel, we were able to exchange dollars to rubles, a 24 hr service which I consider great.
5 out of 5
by Robert

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 3, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Robert

Best Location without tourist hoards

Posted Jun 29, 2017 on Hotels
Double room was spacious and bathroom was very large. Room was well appointed with all we expected. 16th story room had a view of the city and was very quiet. In a short walk is Smolenskaya Metro station which is on the line of the magnificent Stalinist era metro architecture. There is plenty of shopping and good restaurants nearby. Dine one night after dusk at the Panorama restaurant at the top of the hotel and witness the lights of Moscow. Would highly recommend. Great value for the price near the upscale Arbat neighborhood.
5 out of 5
by Jeanette

excellent hotel

Posted Jun 23, 2017 on Hotels
Everything about the hotel was good for me, staff was helpful, room, and lobby comfortable, location excellent, and good dinner in restaurant. Very happy with my stay.
5 out of 5
by nama

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 23, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not close to Red Square -must use the Metro which

Posted May 11, 2017
Unfriendly staff. The room was hot and stuffy. Could not open the windows and the air conditioner was not working.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Washington

Yes, it's a 5* hotel

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: Amazing view from 18 floor, central location, room comfort.
Cons: Standard room is way too small. No AC in Spring during hot days is a nightmare.
Location: The location is very central. Lots of restaurants, supermarkets, metro station and entertainment around.
Some people write this is not a 5* hotel. That's not right. In a single trip I stayed at a 4* Hilton in Mexico City and in this hotel, hence can compare them. My comparison is in favour of the Golden Ring hotel, it's definitely better than a 4* Hilton. I also stayed at 3-4* in Cancun and Miami. Again, this hotel is way above 3-4* by any international standards. Facilities are a bit obsolete, and you should not expect western level of service. Staff don't smile because it's a national Russian feature, not because people are not happy to help. The service is good enough. Rooms are clean. The gym is spacious with all necessary machines. You don't find such big a fitness room in a 3*, and not in every 4* western hotel. The price is cheap comparing to other 5* Moscow hotels. Highly recommended.