Ratings based on 642 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
47% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

RUDE STAFF!!!!!!!!!!

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Cons: Customer service!!!!!
When I was checking in, I didn't understand what the front desk staff was saying So I asked him politely to repeat. and soon as that happened, He made this really rude face and gave attitude. Also Not really sure but I Kinda heard him saying S word too. It seems like he was pretty raciest.. In my opinion, Front desk staff is the first person we see when we walk in, So I think that person's impression and service will affect the hotel and customers stay. It's because we are staying at the 2 star hotel, it doesn't mean that your customers should be treated that way... If you can't give good customer service, then go look for other job that doesn't involve dealing with people you know? Because of that one staff, he ruined our stay and rest of our day...
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by Super 8, Arcata, Hotel Management
we am sorry to hear that you had a bad encounter with one of the front desk. we will be addressing this issue directly with the person and thank you for your feedback.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cool, CA

Lousy customer service

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Pros: The size of the room was decent.
Cons: CUSTOMER SERVICE because there wasn't any! (See my description) The bathroom needs to be updated, especially the sink. New boxsprings.
Location: We loved Arcata! The Redwood forrest, the beach, and the marsh were fantastic! The hotel is not in the best area, but it felt safe.
Although we arrived after check in time, we were told, without an apology, that our room was not yet available. I asked if we could get a discount and we were told "no, you already paid for the room." We noticed that the rooms near us were still being cleaned at 5:15pm when check in time is 3pm. We booked our room using Expedia, so we submitted a check in review. The response to our review was the following: (copied directly from the email): "check in time starts at 3 does not mean all rooms must be cleaned by then. Im sure if 60 rooms was cleaned by 3 pm you would want to stay in them. that would be less than 15 mins to clean a room. we do apologize that your room was not cleaned by the time you got here and you had to wait an hour for your room. we are working hard here to fix issues of that manner. For the bus stop we have no control over that, the bus stop is a city issue, beside trying our hardest to keep people off the hotel property. we are sorry to hear you where unhappy with your stay here and we thank you for the feedback and will do our best to fix those issues" The room was somewhat spacious and there was an attempt to update it, but the bathroom was not great. The sink was outside the bathroom (not a big deal) and was right next to the front door (that's the odd part). When attempting to check out, the hotel clerk was no where to be found for several minutes (there was three of us waiting). Again, no apology. We were treated like we were a nuisance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017 by Super 8, Arcata, Hotel Management
We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very rude staff

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Front desk staff was very rude and had an attitude problem. When i was checking in, I didn't clearly understand what the staff was telling me so I asked him politely to repeat and he was making this dirty, rude face and gave hella attitude. And from this experience, my whole stay didnt feel comfortable. Front desk staff is the first person we see when we walk into the facility so i think that person's job position is important. It's because this is 2.5star place, it doesnt mean your customers should get 2.5star service.. if you think that way, then your place will stay as 2.5 forever.. If you cant give good customer service, then you shouldn't be working at the front desk.. seriously.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017 by Super 8, Arcata, Hotel Management
We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Conveniently located Hotel

Posted Aug 28, 2017
The appearance of this hotel is simple, with a large parking lot in the back. Parking lot is very convenient if you are towing a boat, which we were, or driving an RV. Parking lot is a bit dark, however, there was someone watching over the cars which offers a nice sense of security for person and property. The hotel offers the very basic amenities, however, the rooms are clean and the hotel is conveniently placed off of a main road, but not near enough where you hear traffic. The price was competitive for a last minute reservation, you get what you paid for, and I would use the hotel again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by Super 8, Arcata, Hotel Management
thank you for your feed back. we are happy you found our hotel useful for your needs and that you enjoyed your stay. all feed back helps us become a better business and we appreciate your feedback
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sacramento

Very unhappy!

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Location good and places to eat nearby.
We had to wait 2 hours to check-in because room was not ready. Hostess said that cleaning crew was short two people. Room not cleaned good and found clothing from previous travelers. Didn't realize we had reserved a "smoking" room. Everything you touched smelled like cigarettes. Our room was right next to the McDonald drive through window. Heard car noises and music all night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by Super 8, Arcata, Hotel Management
We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to many places in the Redwood Forest

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Hire more personnel to have someone available to check the rooms after the guests leave them.
Location: The Redwood Forest is amazing.
The refrigerator was not working in the originally given room. We had to move to a different one. Unfortunately, I left my sweater coat in that room to never see it again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by Super 8, Arcata, Hotel Management
Hello! thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate it. If you contact the front desk and tell us what room you were in along with the dates of your stay, we can look through our lost and found to find your sweater. If it's located, you can send us a pre-paid envelope/box ( w/ your address) and we'd be more than happy to send you your lost items.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ca

Never again...

Posted Aug 20, 2017
This hotel could use some air freshener and updating....not worth the couple bucks we saved.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017 by super 8 , Hotel Management
We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never again!

Posted Aug 17, 2017
The room smelled really bed, the beds were absolutely horrible and the free breakfast took almost an hour to get because they didn't have enough supplies or equipment based on the number of guests.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2017 by Super 8 Arcata , Hotel Management
We apologize you had difficulty getting breakfast in a timely manner. We thank you for your feedback and will work hard to address all the issues that you encountered.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington

great place to stay

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Good location and very clean
Cons: Check-in process took to long as they were not sure what rooms were cleaned or occupied.
Location: right off the freeway before Arcata. Easy to find as it sits with a bunch of other hotels.
The Super 8 was conveniently located next to a shopping center and a few small restaurants. Only about 2-miles from Arcata...so that was nice. The rooms were clean and the staff were friendly. And finally, a hotel that had different sized pillows where I could pick the one that suited me best...I hate places where they give you 4 pillows all the same..and usually rock hard!!! The only concern is that staff have noted that they seem to get over booked...so call and confirm your reservation before arriving...or at least get a confirmation number.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017 by super 8 , Hotel Management
We highly appreciate you taking the time to review our location . Thank you for choosing Super 8 Arcata!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Roach hotel

Posted Jun 26, 2017 on Orbitz
Lots of roaches....... enough said,very dirty place,i would never stay there again
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Super8 Arcata , Hotel Management
we are extremely sorry for the issues you experienced here. we thank you for your feedback so we can become a better hotel and also thank you for staying with us