Ratings based on 470 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 20, 2018
Beasutiful views to the volcano. Needs lots of work on maibtenbance and refresh of rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful view of Arenal Volcano.

Posted Apr 20, 2018
This place is outstanding. Beautiful views of Arenal Volcano. There is a short hiking trail down from the hotel to a great seating area with a small room nearby with pictures and the history of the area. They even have their own rain forest with well defined trails. Can't say enough good stuff about the staff, room and restaurant. Would definitely go there again. The only drawback is that the hotel is quite removed from any town so unless you have a car you will need transportation to go anywhere. Tour coordinator is onsite.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Amazing

Posted Apr 2, 2018
Beautiful views of Arenal Volcano and jungle. Beside mistico hanging bridges but on your own privately mountain overlooking Arenal Volcano. Stunning amazing!!! Go on the horseback ride!!! You go to the top and see the entire area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful View, look back into Old Costa Rica

Posted Mar 30, 2018
Beautiful View, and a wonderful look back into Old Costa Rica. Spend some time walking the jungle path for some great surprises.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB, Canada

Lovely hotel - but a little out of the way

Posted Mar 25, 2018
Pros: This hotel has spectacular views of the volcano and a lovely restaurant on site.
Cons: The rooms (especially the bathroom) could be updated.
Location: This hotel was out of the way. If you are staying for any length of time, this might not be convenient.
We arrived to Hotel Arenal Lodge at 1:30 a.m. and we were worried that no one would be there to give us keys to our rooms. However, the hotel left the keys with the security guard so we were able to get settled in our room that night. We had a short stay in Arenal but this hotel had stunning views of the volcano and a lovely pool area for relaxing - again with great views. The rooms were fine - nothing outstanding but good air conditioning and beds were comfortable. This hotel was out of the way and up a very steep hill with sharp curves. The views were amazing! However the tour companies had to send in smaller vehicles to pick us up and take us back because the larger vehicles could not get up this windy hill.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lower priced hotel in excellent location

Posted Mar 21, 2018
The location is awesome. Lower priced. Allowed us to budget more for the activities
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Peaceful and rustic lodge with a lot of hiking

Posted Mar 19, 2018
Peaceful and rustic lodge about 10 minutes to the Volcano. We spent a good hour hiking the property (rainforest, hummingbirds and great views). Only complaint would be the property is slightly dated and we had minor water issues in the room. But if you want a peaceful place with good views I would recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Beach, CA

Great rain forest experience

Posted Mar 18, 2018
Out of the way lodge near everything in the Costa Rican rain forest. A little hard to get to but worth it. Good food at the restaurant and helpful, friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great time at the arenal lodge

Posted Mar 17, 2018
stayed 5 days/nights great staff all around great grounds hiking rain forest maintanence has fallen behind signs worn room infrastructure needs maintanence handyman fixit especially in room 302 where my friend stayed owner needs to spend some money not let the place deteriorate more but will stay there again if in costa rica arenal views are fantastic
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming

Posted Mar 16, 2018
My husband and I had a great time. It’s definitely an older hotel but charming, friendly and relaxing. We enjoyed all it’s amen it had to offer including the pool, spa, horseback riding, restaurant and trails. It’s not luxurious but it’s sweet and fun.