Ratings based on 394 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Arenal Lodge has a huge property and has a beautiful scenery of the Arenal Volcano. It is advisable to rent a car if you're planning to stay in this hotel. The taxi cost $35 each way to go to downtown. The activity person named Jessie is very helpful. All the activities include transportation that's why it's very convenient but a little bit costly. Al the staff were nice and helpful. For me, the only negative on this hotel was the breakfast. Breakfast is included but they never changed the selections. We stayed there for 4 days and ate the same breakfast every single morning.The cereals were not even fresh/crunchy. We all just got tired of it on our 3rd and last day of our stay. Anyway overall, I still recommend this hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Santa Ana, CR

Visiting Arenal:

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Cons: Would like to have glass instead of plastic cups.
Location: We enjoyed the horse-back riding offered. Great price!
We enjoyed our stay at arenal Lodge. We enjoyed the trails, gardens, food, sauna and hot tub. We would recommend it because it had a lot to offer for a decent price! The staff was friendly and helpful!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by Marco, Hotel Management
Thanks for commenting. We hope you had a great trip back home. Arenal Lodge will be awaiting for you and your family + friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Truly a magical Place

Posted Jul 4, 2017
We lived this place so much we stayed two extra nights. The 2000 acre property has excellent 1/2 hour to 1 1/2 hr walks depending on how Much u linger. A rainforest trail behind the butterfly garden was strenuous and so worth it. I enjoyed this more than Manuel Antonio park. It felt like Being in an Indiana jones movie. Families were enjoying themselves and the staff made us feel Like family. Terry, the owner, batted with us at length about the history of the place and her husband caught us a frog. If you stay for many days and tire Of the excellent breakfast. They will Offer to make you an omelette. We did not rent a car so we paid :30 for a cab from lanfortuna. Jess in the booking office found us a shuttle that would Pick us up and take us to Manuel Antonio. We could not Recommend this place enough. So far it has been the highlight of Our trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Walled Lake, MI

Best views you could ask for!

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: The view, the property
Location: Tabacon Hot springs, Free hot springs, La Fortuna, La Fortuna waterfall
Decided our trip would be more about views verses luxury and we definitely picked the right hotel. We stayed in the chalets so we had a view of the volcano, the lake, and everything else. It was beautiful! Cattle and wild horses just doing what they do best in their own natural environment. The hotel has its own fields and gardens, definitely something to check out. They also have horse back riding on their own property which is great. Definitely recommend! The restaurant, the only one on the property, is great too. Great food for the value. Michael at the restaurant is the best! Definitely enjoyed our dining because of him, great service!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Beautiful views way up on the mountain

Posted Apr 25, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: The views
We had 3 different groups staying in rooms at the hotel. This was one of our favorite hotels on the trip. The chalets are amazing and had beautiful views of the volcano. Some of the rooms, like the "honeymoon suite" have not been updated and where clean, but definitely not as nice. We wanted to do a zipline last minute before we left town and the lady at the tour desk made it happen. The pool area was lovely and the food was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Miami

Beautiful property

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: The hotel is on a beautiful property overlooking lake Arenal and the Arenal Volcano.
Cons: There were tons of bugs right outside our bedroom door and some managed to get into our room.
Location: It is close to the lake and the Mistic Hanging Bridge. But it is a half hour drive to La Fortuna and the other major sites and activities.
The grounds of the hotel are beautiful. You need to get there during daylight because it is up on the mountain with lots of twists and turns. We arrived late and there was a lot of fog so it was a difficult ride. The breakfast was great, the common areas and views are very nice. The jungle trail is an amazing hike. There is a restaurant, so you don't have to leave at night.
5 out of 5
by JEROME

Aranel Lodge is fabulous

Posted Apr 20, 2017 on Hotels
It was amazing! Great grounds. Wonderful staff. Rooms luxurious. We can't wait to come back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose, Costa Rica

The bathroom smell terrible.

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: The views.
Cons: I do not know about the other rooms
The room 304 was very uncomfortable and the bathrooms have no ventilation. The food quality, serve in the restaurant, was not very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Amazing views of Arenal!

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: Location and seclusion from the main road - you felt like you were in your own rainforest.
Location: Near the Arenal National Park, zip lining and hot springs.
We loved this lodge. Our family stayed here and the kids loved the jacuzzi and pool, catching fire flies on the lush grounds, the food was good at the restaurant, and the staff was helpful and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing location

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Hotel is on a ridge line overlooking the Arenal Volcano. It has a nice pool, good breakfast and two trails to see wildlife in the jungle.