Ratings based on 403 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oregon

Great Mountain Lodge

Posted Aug 31, 2017
We only stayed here for one night and wished we could stay longer! The drive up to the lodge made us feel like we were on an adventure!! The lodge has beautiful gardens and the view is spectacular!! The staff in the reception and restaurant were very friendly and welcoming. The food was delicious! We got to experience a thunderstorm while at the lodge which was pretty incredible! We would definitely recommend making the trek to get to Arenal Lodge!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2017
A great place tucked away in the rain forest with incredible views of the volcano
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel with a great view of Arenal Volcano

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Nice hotel, a little far away from la fortuna (25 minutes) . Don't take rooms 44 or 45 beds are really uncomfortable (hard) and there is no A/C. Luckily, Eddy changed our room the next day and everything went perfect for us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, NY, USA

Hotel Arenal Lodge

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Beutiful grounds and views of the volcano. Good value for the price. The rooms are clean but in need of some updating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Arenal Lodge has a huge property and has a beautiful scenery of the Arenal Volcano. It is advisable to rent a car if you're planning to stay in this hotel. The taxi cost $35 each way to go to downtown. The activity person named Jessie is very helpful. All the activities include transportation that's why it's very convenient but a little bit costly. Al the staff were nice and helpful. For me, the only negative on this hotel was the breakfast. Breakfast is included but they never changed the selections. We stayed there for 4 days and ate the same breakfast every single morning.The cereals were not even fresh/crunchy. We all just got tired of it on our 3rd and last day of our stay. Anyway overall, I still recommend this hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Santa Ana, CR

Visiting Arenal:

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Cons: Would like to have glass instead of plastic cups.
Location: We enjoyed the horse-back riding offered. Great price!
We enjoyed our stay at arenal Lodge. We enjoyed the trails, gardens, food, sauna and hot tub. We would recommend it because it had a lot to offer for a decent price! The staff was friendly and helpful!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by Marco, Hotel Management
Thanks for commenting. We hope you had a great trip back home. Arenal Lodge will be awaiting for you and your family + friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Truly a magical Place

Posted Jul 4, 2017
We lived this place so much we stayed two extra nights. The 2000 acre property has excellent 1/2 hour to 1 1/2 hr walks depending on how Much u linger. A rainforest trail behind the butterfly garden was strenuous and so worth it. I enjoyed this more than Manuel Antonio park. It felt like Being in an Indiana jones movie. Families were enjoying themselves and the staff made us feel Like family. Terry, the owner, batted with us at length about the history of the place and her husband caught us a frog. If you stay for many days and tire Of the excellent breakfast. They will Offer to make you an omelette. We did not rent a car so we paid :30 for a cab from lanfortuna. Jess in the booking office found us a shuttle that would Pick us up and take us to Manuel Antonio. We could not Recommend this place enough. So far it has been the highlight of Our trip.
5 out of 5
by Teresa

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 3, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Sean

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 1, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 31, 2017 on Hotels
Nice quirky old style hotel but a little bit tired looking in places. Breakfast was ok for a buffet style. Rooms were very spacious with an amazing view.