Ratings based on 90 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Cozy and beautiful views.

Posted Sep 20, 2017
It's a great option for the area. Most staff is nice. Good location. Not a lot of amenities but the whole point is to be close by the outdoor attractions. A fee ants in the room but one needs to understand that this a tropical country at the foot of a volcano so check your reality. Good overall experience. Recommended.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

When Nature Calls!!

Posted Jun 7, 2017 on Hotels
This was my first trip to Costa Rica and after overnighting in San Jose the first night we made the 3.5 hr drive to La Fortuna. The scenery and route to get there was amazing and very enjoyable!! The greeting upon arrival to Campo Verde was a breath of fresh air!! The receptionist was extremely friendly and very helpful. Very willing to assist with all our queries and needs! Our cabin was situated where our bedroom faced the volcano and the views were amazing!!! No bugs, no issues. The water was fresh and got for showers and cool and nice for drinking straight from the tap. With our doors closed and windows locked we could still here the clear sounds of nature, the birds and all other animals. The room was cool and we did not use the AC at all during the night!! The only complaint we had was on the day before we left we stumbled upon what turned out to be a very deadly and live coral snake a couple feet away from our room. The very next morning as I walked outside I was "greeted" by yet another one making its way up my walk way. That was scary!!! There are no warnings or signs about these deadly snakes and the potential of coming across them, one could have easily made its way into our room or worse, as I often ventured into the gardens barefooted,unsuspectingly, just to be "one" with nature!! The thought of a small child or someone just as ignorant to the danger as I was coming into contact with a deadly snake like that is chilling. Overall an awesome!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Luxury lodge

Posted May 16, 2017 on Hotels
Wonderful place at foothill of volcano
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Campo Verde Stay - March 2017

Posted Mar 30, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Our cottage was just opposite to Mt. Arenal and very pleasant to watch the volcano through our large window. The property is very eco-friendly.
Cons: The property has lot of bugs. Housekeeping should use some form of eco-friendly insect repellent to ensure there are less in the rooms.
Location: Our cottage was just opposite to Mt. Arenal and very pleasant to watch the volcano through our large window. The property is very eco-friendly.
Our cottage was just opposite to Mt. Arenal and very pleasant to watch the volcano through our large window. The property is very eco-friendly and has tons of guava and hibiscus trees. We loved the place!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California, USA

Great view

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Great view. Unlimited view to arenal vocano mountain. Each unit is quite since it is all detached cabin like atmosphere. You will need rental car for this location because it is wuite far away from main town-about 10mins drive to main area. Bathroom is some what outdated but still clean. I enjoyed staying here. Breakfast was efficient and friendly setvice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Heredia

Great location in La Fortuna

Posted Feb 13, 2017 on CheapTickets
Pros: Location is great and convenient, very well kept hotel, spacious rooms and great breakfast.
Cons: Reservation system to have better sync with 3rd party reservations like Cheaptickets, Expedia, etc to be able to provide the requested rooms/beds.
Location: Right in front of the volcano, close to hot springs and many tours or parks. Milni market at walking distance and restaurants close by.
This hotel was a pleasant surprise, great location with an amazing view of the volcano and close to the hot springs and many good restaurants. The grounds are very well kept and everything was clean and tidy. We had a problem with our reservation however, since it didn't show on the hotel's system that we had requested for 2 queen beds as we were travelling with a kid, and they gave us just one and the hotel was full so there was no option to move. They resolved it by providing us a spare mattress that solved the issue for us, but that would be the only thing I would mark for consideration when making a reservation. Breakfast was delicious and very complete, so overall it was a very good stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cute cottage close to the Arenal volcano

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: The cabin was cute and comfortable.
Cons: The hot water situation or at least a warning about it not being available.
Location: Arenal Volcano Hot Springs Hanging bridges Canopy Tours
We only stayed here one night even though we had booked it for two. It was pouring all day both days that we were there so we decided to cut our stay short. A refund on our second night would have been nice since we gave them plenty of warning. The room was comfortable and consisted of two queen sized beds and a full bathroom. It also had a refrigerator which was a nice thing to have. Everything was clean and comfortable and would have had unbeatable views of the volcano if the cloud cover would have allowed it. The cabins are close enough to La Fortuna to make it accessible, but far enough away to be peaceful. As a warning...the water is heated using solar panels which means that IF THERE IS NO SUN, THERE IS NO HOT WATER!! We really needed a shower after hiking through the mud and were disappointed to find no hot water available. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at Hotel Campo Verde, the weather just made our time better spent elsewhere.
5 out of 5
by suzanne

Best place to stay in Arenal.

Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Hotels
Private casita with views of Arenal. They had their own nature trail. Great breakfast.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 7, 2017 on Hotels