Ratings based on 191 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando FL

Posted Mar 22, 2017
The refrigerator in the room did not get cold and they need to have microwaves in the rooms...in addition there are only 2 restaurants to choose from...we had more reasonable food choices by simply driving back into town....the best feature is the hot springs which are truly relaxing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2017 by Customer Service Department, Hotel Management
Ms. Norja, We appreciate the time you took to provide us with your feedback. All your comments will be taken under consideration to improve the quality of the services we offer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Fantastic view of the volcano!

Posted Mar 1, 2017
The view of the volcano couldn't be best. The property is gorgeous. Breakfast was delicious every day. The two disappointments were the day tour we booked through the hotel. $145 pp for two hikes (hanging bridges at Mistico) and Volcano hike. We were left in town for 2 hrs in between and served a lunch that was mediocre. Felt we overpaid. Food at hotel was just ok for dinner. Better food in town but $16 cab ride each way
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2017 by Customer Service Department, Hotel Management
Mr. Lee, We'd like to say Thanks for your comments. We're taking under consideration your comments regarding the tours you booked through us, to speak with our tour company providers to make sure the quality of this service is good, and that we don't receive any more comments like yours about the activity.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

It's all about the weather

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Large windows everywhere face the volcano. Have great weather like us and it's magical but I can imagine with continual low cloud you would be more aware, for example, of the hanger like soilessness of the massive eating area. Overall in need of a refresh but still fit for purpose and spotlessly clean. Lovely grounds.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 2, 2017 by Customer Service , Hotel Management
Ms. Dodge, Your comments are always welcomed, and we're glad to see your positive feedback. It is nice to know that you enjoyed our grounds and views from our property.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston

A beautiful hotel with volcano view

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: The view and the staff
Cons: The temperature of the hot tub
Location: So many tours, so little time. We liked the hanging bridges, the zip lines and the chocolate tour.
The staff was so helpful and they go above and beyond. The grounds are beautiful with native plants and birds everywhere. The rooms are very comfortable and have a hot tub in every room (although they do not seem to get hot enough). The restaurant for dinner is good but not great if you have picky eaters in your group. But the included breakfast should work for everyone. Spa was just average.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 2, 2017 by Customer Service , Hotel Management
Mr. Joe, We'd like to thank you for taking the time and provide us with your comments about your recent stay with us. We're glad to know that you enjoyed your stay, and that our staff helped you with everything you needed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 9, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 26, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time and provide us with your positive evaluation. It is a pleasure to see that you enjoyed your time at our property.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg, MB

Amazing resort hotel at the foot of Arenal

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Pros: Staff was amazing, friendly, helpful and always smiling. They made our stay special.
Cons: More variety of food at the restaurant but otherwise the hotel is almost perfect :-)
Location: Highly recommend Baldi hot springs, Las Brasitas restaurant, Mistico Hanging Bridges tour
I left an identical review on the Facebook page of Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa. A truly incredible resort hotel just at the foot of the volcano. The staff to a person was warm and welcoming, helpful and friendly. The rooms were fantastic and the location unbeatable. We ended our Costa Rican adventure with a three day stay at this exceptional property and it was an almost perfect stay. We took advantage of the spa and highly recommend the gentleman's package which was perfect after the drive from Puntarenas to La Fortuna in a torrential downpour! All the stress melted away :-) Service was impeccable and everyone was so ready to help in any way, from putting up and helping with my terrible Spanish to setting up the Mistico Park Hanging Bridges tour to booking spa treatments. The Jacuzzi in the room was convenient and the view from room through floor to ceiling windows was truly remarkable. We wish we could have stayed longer; the weather cleared just as we left! Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa is a wonderful resort hotel and definitely worth a try if in La Fortuna!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2016 by Guest Service, Hotel Management
Mr. Apollo, We'd like to say Thanks for your comments. With your help we improve the quality of the service we offer every day. We're glad to know that you enjoyed our property, and that our staff was that helpful with you.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Incredible

Posted Dec 3, 2016 on Hotels
Amazing
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 26, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time and provide us with your positive evaluation. It is a pleasure to see that you enjoyed your time at our property.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Awesome view

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: The view and hot springs
Cons: Little softer bed and pillow
Location: Park just down the road, and la fortuna town is less than ten minutes down the road. Great place to get a bite to eat
First time in arenal and what a great time. Woke every morning to the stunning site of arenal. Five minutes from the national park for a hike. The staff was very helpful with anything we needed
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2016 by Guest Service, Hotel Management
Ms. Kaylin, Thanks for taking the time and providing us with your feedback. We're very glad to see your positive evaluation and comments. It is always nice to know that our guests enjoyed their stay with us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AZ

Luxury in the jungle

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: The room was awesome. Huge. Beautifully done. Luxurious. Comfortable. And did I tell you, it had a jacuzzi in the room. The hot springs were really fun. The grounds were beautiful. Close on view of Arenal from bedroom.
Cons: Nothing really. Housekeeping forgot to put soap and shampoo in the shower, which they quickly replaced after a phone call.
Location: So much to do. We went on skylark zip line tours which were so much fun and great for the adrenaline junkie. Hanging gardens is beautiful and worth it
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2016 by Guest Service, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments and positive evaluation about your recent stay with us. It is always nice to know that our guests enjoyed our rooms and grounds. Your comments always help us to improve the quality of the service we offer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from The World

Gorgeous Romantic Hotel with On/Off-site HotSpring

Posted Oct 1, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Everything was amazing. From the hot springs on and off site to the spa and definitely enjoyed the view from the bed (directly facing the volcano).
Location: La Fortuna Waterfall (short half day trip 15 mins from hotel) & El Novillo Restaurant (Amazing steak & seafood dishes 2 mins from the hotel)
Perfect for a romantic couple getaway (they have couple rooms with a King sized bed) & private jacuzzis in your room or the same room with 2 Queen beds and a day bed for families. Rooms are extremely spacious, both room types have jacuzzi in the room which is large and comfortable you could practically swim in it. Each room has an amazing view of the volcano (NOTE: I highly recommend waking up at dawn to check if the clouds have parted from the tip of the volcano and then cross your fingers it will open up again as long as it doesn't rain). Best time to go is definitely during low season (rainy season - mid SEP/OCT) as it is less crowded and you can enjoy the premises all to yourself but keeping in mind that it will rain a lot more than high season.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 6, 2016 by Guest Service, Hotel Management
Dear Stephanie, We'd like to say Thanks for you comments and detailed advices about your recent stay in our hotel. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed all aspects of our property, and that the rooms and staff service were good enough for you to take nice memories with you.