Ratings based on 198 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Hotel with Exceptional Service

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Beautiful view of the volcano, spacious room and exceptional service.
Cons: A bit better lighting in the rooms
The room and grounds were both incredibly beautiful - the views of the volcano were stunning as were the gardens. The hotel and grounds felt very private. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The staff were exceptionally accommodating and very friendly. The breakfast buffet was very good and had an excellent amount of variety. We did not eat any additional meals at the hotel. It was nice to have access to hot springs both on the property and a second location with a bit hotter water and to not have to book a tour or guide to do that. We enjoyed having a car since we could come and go into town and do various activities as we pleased (about 10 min to La Fortuna).
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2017 by Customer Service Department, Hotel Management
Dear customer, It is always nice to read such detailed comments! Thanks for taking the time and provide us with this valuable feedback.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice view to Volcán Arenal

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Good hotel. Far away for airport. Difficult road to arrive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2017 by Customer Service Department, Hotel Management
Thanks for your comments. It is nice to know that you liked our hotel. Driving around Costa Rica is mostly an aventure to enjoy the rain forest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palo Alto, CA

Gorgeous setting right in front of volcano

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Location: Floating safari on Penas Blanca river was fantastic. Saw lots of animals. Zip lining and hanging bridges walk also fun.
Fantastic stay at this gorgeous setting in front of volcano with beautiful lush gardens and a line up of thermal pools. Very peaceful and relaxing setting. Spotted Congo monkeys right outside of the restaurant one morning. Staff was super friendly and helpful. Restaurants were very good. Close to many fun activities. Definitely recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2017 by Customer Service Department, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Your positive comments and great evaluaion is very welcome. It is our pleasure to read such nice comments, and to knoe that you enjoyed your stay at our property, from our staff to the surrounding nature.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Over all a great stay. Beds a little hard. Restaurants were a bit pricey and service was ok not great. Beautiful grounds and volcano views.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2017 by Customer Service Department, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, All your comments are always welcome, and we would like to thank you for your positive feedback. We're glad to know that you enjoyed our grounds and views during your recent visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Relaxing couple's getaway

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: Large suite, with Jacuzzi and your private patio facing Arenal volcano. Friendly bilingual staff, great breakfast, spa (w/ hot-stone massages), clean!
Cons: Breakfast is included but if you choose to eat lunch/dinner on site - resort prices apply.
Location: Horseback riding, kayaking, rain-forest tours, zip-lining etc. If you rent a car, it is easy to get around - everything is off one main road.
If you are looking to relax, enjoy amazing vistas and natural surroundings, soak in natural hot springs, access to spa treatment and tours/activities - this works perfectly and you will not be disappointed at this price compared to others. The resort gives you a sense of exclusivity since it is not crowded and seems to be geared towards couples and families as well. Note - you won't find "springbreakers" here. We ended up staying here an extra night. Great memories!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2017 by Customer Service Department, Hotel Management
Dear guest, At Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa we always feel glad to read comments like yours. It is our pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay at our property, from the enviroments to the staff. All your comments help us improve our service. Please be welcome to ever come back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando FL

Posted Mar 22, 2017
The refrigerator in the room did not get cold and they need to have microwaves in the rooms...in addition there are only 2 restaurants to choose from...we had more reasonable food choices by simply driving back into town....the best feature is the hot springs which are truly relaxing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2017 by Customer Service Department, Hotel Management
Ms. Norja, We appreciate the time you took to provide us with your feedback. All your comments will be taken under consideration to improve the quality of the services we offer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Fantastic view of the volcano!

Posted Mar 1, 2017
The view of the volcano couldn't be best. The property is gorgeous. Breakfast was delicious every day. The two disappointments were the day tour we booked through the hotel. $145 pp for two hikes (hanging bridges at Mistico) and Volcano hike. We were left in town for 2 hrs in between and served a lunch that was mediocre. Felt we overpaid. Food at hotel was just ok for dinner. Better food in town but $16 cab ride each way
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2017 by Customer Service Department, Hotel Management
Mr. Lee, We'd like to say Thanks for your comments. We're taking under consideration your comments regarding the tours you booked through us, to speak with our tour company providers to make sure the quality of this service is good, and that we don't receive any more comments like yours about the activity.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

It's all about the weather

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Large windows everywhere face the volcano. Have great weather like us and it's magical but I can imagine with continual low cloud you would be more aware, for example, of the hanger like soilessness of the massive eating area. Overall in need of a refresh but still fit for purpose and spotlessly clean. Lovely grounds.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 2, 2017 by Customer Service , Hotel Management
Ms. Dodge, Your comments are always welcomed, and we're glad to see your positive feedback. It is nice to know that you enjoyed our grounds and views from our property.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston

A beautiful hotel with volcano view

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: The view and the staff
Cons: The temperature of the hot tub
Location: So many tours, so little time. We liked the hanging bridges, the zip lines and the chocolate tour.
The staff was so helpful and they go above and beyond. The grounds are beautiful with native plants and birds everywhere. The rooms are very comfortable and have a hot tub in every room (although they do not seem to get hot enough). The restaurant for dinner is good but not great if you have picky eaters in your group. But the included breakfast should work for everyone. Spa was just average.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 2, 2017 by Customer Service , Hotel Management
Mr. Joe, We'd like to thank you for taking the time and provide us with your comments about your recent stay with us. We're glad to know that you enjoyed your stay, and that our staff helped you with everything you needed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Luxurious Stay at the foot of a live Volcano

Posted Dec 25, 2016 on Hotels
The staff is incredibly friendly and easy to understand as they spoke English and Spanish. Our room, 404, was both gorgeous and spacious with enormous balcony sliding door windows that opened up to Arenal. The pool and "hot pools" were nice, but I would highly recommend a trip down the road to Eco Thermales for a true Volcanic Hot Springs experience! The breakfast buffet was decent with a wide variety of hot and cold options, including Gallo Pinto and an Omelette station. We also ate dinner in their main restaurant. It was nice, but fell short of the wow factor that the rest of the property has. Lastly, the gift shop was large but mostly full of cheaply made trinkets. They really missed the boat as they have a captive audience, already willing to pay top dollar, so it would have been nice to find souvenirs of a higher quality. Overall, my wife and I both agree that this was a fantastic place to stay. 15 minutes to Alberto's Horses, run by none other than Alberto himself who offers horseback riding to La Fortuna Waterfall and a homemade organic chicken dinner when your ride is complete...his wife's pico de gallo is AMAZING... and 15 minutes to the Rainforest Chocolate Tour, where you get a new appreciation for how chocolate is made plus an all you can eat tasting tour of flavors at the end ;) Hotel Arenal Kioro is definitely worthy of your time and money. Pura Vida!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 27, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thanks so much for your detailed review about your stay with us. It is our pleasure to know that our staff provided a good service, and that you enjoyed our rooms and property in general. All of your comments help us take care of any detail in order to make sure that we will offer a wonderful stay to our guests.