Ratings based on 202 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxing stay

Posted May 15, 2017
Very spacious suite, comfortable beds, clean room, food at the main restaurant very good. Friendly and very helpful staff. Beautiful gardens. Great location and views.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by Customer Service Department, Hotel Management
Your comments are always welcomed. It is nice for us to know that you enjoyed our suites, grounds and food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unique and beautiful property

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Loved our stay and highly recommend!! The staff, the breakfast (included), THE ROOM, the view, the hot springs!! Everything was great. My only complaint is for rooms beyond building 3- you are hiking a bit and will get wet if raining. We were in building 10 which included uphill walks outdoors. This may be appealing for some as it's a LOVELY walk but not for me.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2017 by Customer Service Department, Hotel Management
We appreciante your kind and detailed comments. We're glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice hotel, but creepy staff.

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: The view was amazing.
Cons: Security response time.
Location: Hot springs
My friend and I who are young women were staying at this hotel. On our second night, there was an incident with a Peeping Tom outside of our main floor bedroom window just before midnight. Security was called, but they took over 15 minutes to arrive. Our internet was sketchy, and then the front desk people were not answering the phone when we kept calling for an update on the security guard. The hotel did relocate us without an issue, but their slow response and offering no compensation for moving us to a much smaller room was displeasing. I did not expect such an issue to happen at this kind of place, since it is gated and family oriented, but it can happen anywhere. I just wish the security response was quicker, ultimately.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2017 by Customer Service Department, Hotel Management
Dear Guests, Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenients you had during your stay with us. We can tell you that the Peeping Tom situation was an isolated happening in our property, it is actually the first time we have such a situation. We understand our response was not the best in that moment. Sometimes, our night receptionist has to take care of a few issues at the same time, and that's the reason the phone was not answered we you needed it. We can assure that we are taking actions and protocols to have a better security responde when facing a similar situation eventually.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Hotel with Exceptional Service

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Beautiful view of the volcano, spacious room and exceptional service.
Cons: A bit better lighting in the rooms
The room and grounds were both incredibly beautiful - the views of the volcano were stunning as were the gardens. The hotel and grounds felt very private. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The staff were exceptionally accommodating and very friendly. The breakfast buffet was very good and had an excellent amount of variety. We did not eat any additional meals at the hotel. It was nice to have access to hot springs both on the property and a second location with a bit hotter water and to not have to book a tour or guide to do that. We enjoyed having a car since we could come and go into town and do various activities as we pleased (about 10 min to La Fortuna).
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2017 by Customer Service Department, Hotel Management
Dear customer, It is always nice to read such detailed comments! Thanks for taking the time and provide us with this valuable feedback.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice view to Volcán Arenal

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Good hotel. Far away for airport. Difficult road to arrive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2017 by Customer Service Department, Hotel Management
Thanks for your comments. It is nice to know that you liked our hotel. Driving around Costa Rica is mostly an aventure to enjoy the rain forest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palo Alto, CA

Gorgeous setting right in front of volcano

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Location: Floating safari on Penas Blanca river was fantastic. Saw lots of animals. Zip lining and hanging bridges walk also fun.
Fantastic stay at this gorgeous setting in front of volcano with beautiful lush gardens and a line up of thermal pools. Very peaceful and relaxing setting. Spotted Congo monkeys right outside of the restaurant one morning. Staff was super friendly and helpful. Restaurants were very good. Close to many fun activities. Definitely recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2017 by Customer Service Department, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Your positive comments and great evaluaion is very welcome. It is our pleasure to read such nice comments, and to knoe that you enjoyed your stay at our property, from our staff to the surrounding nature.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Over all a great stay. Beds a little hard. Restaurants were a bit pricey and service was ok not great. Beautiful grounds and volcano views.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2017 by Customer Service Department, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, All your comments are always welcome, and we would like to thank you for your positive feedback. We're glad to know that you enjoyed our grounds and views during your recent visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Relaxing couple's getaway

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: Large suite, with Jacuzzi and your private patio facing Arenal volcano. Friendly bilingual staff, great breakfast, spa (w/ hot-stone massages), clean!
Cons: Breakfast is included but if you choose to eat lunch/dinner on site - resort prices apply.
Location: Horseback riding, kayaking, rain-forest tours, zip-lining etc. If you rent a car, it is easy to get around - everything is off one main road.
If you are looking to relax, enjoy amazing vistas and natural surroundings, soak in natural hot springs, access to spa treatment and tours/activities - this works perfectly and you will not be disappointed at this price compared to others. The resort gives you a sense of exclusivity since it is not crowded and seems to be geared towards couples and families as well. Note - you won't find "springbreakers" here. We ended up staying here an extra night. Great memories!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2017 by Customer Service Department, Hotel Management
Dear guest, At Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa we always feel glad to read comments like yours. It is our pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay at our property, from the enviroments to the staff. All your comments help us improve our service. Please be welcome to ever come back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando FL

Posted Mar 22, 2017
The refrigerator in the room did not get cold and they need to have microwaves in the rooms...in addition there are only 2 restaurants to choose from...we had more reasonable food choices by simply driving back into town....the best feature is the hot springs which are truly relaxing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2017 by Customer Service Department, Hotel Management
Ms. Norja, We appreciate the time you took to provide us with your feedback. All your comments will be taken under consideration to improve the quality of the services we offer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Fantastic view of the volcano!

Posted Mar 1, 2017
The view of the volcano couldn't be best. The property is gorgeous. Breakfast was delicious every day. The two disappointments were the day tour we booked through the hotel. $145 pp for two hikes (hanging bridges at Mistico) and Volcano hike. We were left in town for 2 hrs in between and served a lunch that was mediocre. Felt we overpaid. Food at hotel was just ok for dinner. Better food in town but $16 cab ride each way
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2017 by Customer Service Department, Hotel Management
Mr. Lee, We'd like to say Thanks for your comments. We're taking under consideration your comments regarding the tours you booked through us, to speak with our tour company providers to make sure the quality of this service is good, and that we don't receive any more comments like yours about the activity.