Ratings based on 519 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chandler, AZ

Family trip to Arenal Hot Springs

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: The location is perfect, the pool is very good, the food quality is excellent.
Cons: I wish the hotel had the option of "All Included", the breakfast is included, but lunch and dinner are not and are a little $$$.
Location: There are a lot of things to do around the area: hiking, bike, horse riding, water parks, rain forest, etc.
Excellent hotel and even more excellent customer service. Hotel Staff is very friendly and helpful, and they are always open to help you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Very relaxing

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Pros: Best view of the volcano from our room! It was amazing to wake up, look out your window, and see the amazing Arenal Hotel!
Cons: Better bandwidth for the Wifi in the junior suites.
Location: LOTS of excursions and tours! We enjoyed the safari float and zip lining!
This is a great resort for families. Our kids enjoyed the all you can eat breakfast. We got connecting rooms and put our kids in one and my husband and I in the other. I think a two queen bed room would have been a little tight for the 4 of us, but is doable. Our days were full of adventures, so we didn't hang out too much at the resort, but when we did it was very quiet and relaxing. The Wifi is not very good in the rooms, but excellent in the main reception area. The bandwidth in the rooms is very slow, but we weren't there too much, so it was OK. The staff was all very nice and accommodating. We had a bottle of wine and two glasses waiting for us in our room when we arrived and the kids loved the towel animals on the beds! February is the best month to go to Costa Rica and we had only about 20 minutes of rain the entire 3 days we were there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hot spring pools

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Hot spring pools were very nice. Gardens attracted many unusual birds. Staff was very accommodating, try to please. Limited mini bar was free. Room was comfortable with great view of volcano. It would have been nice to have a chair in the room instead of a stool. All in all I would give them 4 stars.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Comfortable Hotel

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Facilities and rooms were excellent my only complain was the unatural looking " smurfsville"roadways all over the place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Mexico

Great view of volcano - great customer service

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: The staff, cleanliness, view, gardens, rooms, hot springs, etc.
Location: La Fortuna/Arenal area has great opportunities for birding, hiking, hot springs. Some people go rafting & zip lining.
Arenal Springs Resort goes to great effort to provide a clean, friendly, welcoming place for its guests. This is our second time to come here, and we will stay here again if we are back in Costa Rica. The breakfast buffet is the nicest we've had out of the 7 different places we've stayed at. The other restaurants also have good food, but you can drive into La Fortuna if you don't want to pay as much. All of the staff are extremely helpful, and there are several hot spring pools right here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Paradise

Posted Jan 18, 2017
When you walk in you're are greeted with a warm towel and delicious tropical drink. The kind staff then escorts you to your accommodation where you have a choice of relaxing at their hot springs, reading a book in a hammock while admiring their phenominal view of the volcanoe, or simply enjoying an amazing message at their spa. We could have easily gone out into the town and enjoyed the many amenities and adventure it has to offer but with so much at our fingertips at this resort we just didn't want to leave. It has the privacy and intimacy that many places are lacking while still allowing for the joy of a mid day drink in the water at their hot springs bar. If your looking to relax and be pampered, this is the place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from santa ana California

Excellent hotel

Posted Jan 16, 2017
The view is the best in town , the hotel is very secure, clean , very peaceful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice mid level reaort

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Good facility with view of volcano. Staff was ok. Rooms were nice sized. Not outstanding and slightly overpriced. Would stay again on a discount.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great hotel in Arenal

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Pros: Iguanas near the pools ! Plenty of birds The hamacs
We really enjoyed the pool and the pool bar. We used the travel agent for two day trips and got better rates that directly through the outside companies ! The staff was super responsive. We called from the room twice for service and it took less than 5 minutes for them to come.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Resort Close to Arenal Activities

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff. Clean. Close to Fortuna and all activities.
Cons: Rooms are not very large.
Location: Ziplining, canyoning, ATVs, horses, Hanging Bridges, Volcanoe Hike, Rafting.
There are tons of outdoor activities in the area. The restaurant food was pretty good. Overall, a good base for your Arenal adventures.