Ratings based on 154 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great!

Posted May 8, 2017
Fantastic place with incredible view on Volcan Arenal
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 30, 2017
great location, and loved the pools with the hot springs.. beautiful view of the volcanoe, and the steam caves were our favorite
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Just what the doctor ordered for stress.

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Not only is the hotel located close to the hotel the perfect location from tht
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ut

Beautiful Hotel next to Arenal Volcano

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Hotel Baldi is a beautiful place at the base of Arenal Volcano. Hot pools are great. Place to be if you are visiting La Fortunate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great choice!

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Pros: LOVE that they designate 1 hot spring each night to be open 24 hours! The resort we are at right now closes all pools/hot pool by 8:00...
Cons: The thin walls
Location: Close to town, but out of town. Right at the base of the Arenal Volcano.
After not being able to decide on which hotel to stay at in the Arenal area, we decided to pick 3 and try them all. Baldi was the least expensive and the first one we stayed in for 2 nights. The hot springs surrounding the accommodation building were amazing! Different deperature, huge 'water holes' with beautiful jungle landscape. The Italian restaurant was good, the daily (included) buffet breakfast was also enjoyable. (They don't offer traditional American 'maple syrup' but they have "WHITE SYRUP" (which is Condensed milk) and YUMMY Going from hot spring pool to hot spring pool is enjoying and has bars in between. There is an area for kids with water slides too. We have come the last weekend in April which has turned out to be a perfect time. It seems as thought Baldi has reserved the entire property for us alone! My only complaint... the accommodations are a 4 story building. The rooms have a 'rustic' cabin feel, but with modern bedding. They are comfortable and have a balcony. The floors and walls seem like 'old' wood. The flooring is nicely polished and clean, but WOW... we had neighbors on both sides of us. One side an older couple who woke us EARLY each morning talking VERY LOUDLY to each other and the other side a very small infant would make noises a small infant would make. Not sure what can be 'done' about that, but just know that if you are looking for total peace, bring earplugs but don't skip this hotel
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Nice Facilities, Other areas lacking

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Pros: Nice facilities, good breakfast buffet.
Cons: Rooms, crowd control, cleanliness of the springs/resort, dinner/lunch buffet, privacy. Perhaps an private area for hotel guests only.
Location: Close to downtown La Fortuna, ATV, horseback riding, hanging bridges, nature tours, waterfall, volcano hikes.
We had a last minute change in travel plans and booked at Baldi for the last few days of our trip. Upon arrival, the staff was very helpful and friendly. The sales representative even assisted me in booking a shuttle back to the airport (wonderful!) The facilities are beautiful, but couldn't compare after we had stayed at Tabacon for the majority of our trip. The breakfast buffet was yummy, but the dinner buffet was really not so good. We stayed during the "Holy/Easter" week. What I learned is that Baldi has very few resort guests staying in comparison to the number they allow in from the outside. Crowds and crowds of buses and families were allowed in the resort each day. There were many families with children. We enjoyed the springs in the beginning of the day (less crowded), but towards the end it was one big party. Reggaeton music blasting, very interesting party crowd to say the least. I'm all for a good party, but we felt out of place. As far as the room, you can hear every sound. They really need some thicker walls or to be moved away from the hot spring area. The room was just "ok" in comparison for what we paid. Overall, we learned that Baldi is essentially Costa Rica's "Disney World." If you are looking for a private, relaxing get-away or honeymoon, I wouldn't stay here. If you are looking for a resort that is family/kid friendly I would consider it. Better yet, come for the day and stay somewhere else cheaper
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alajuela, CR

A must visit

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Great experience. The place is fantastic, great food, kind and helpful staff. The Spa service is excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Beautiful and relaxing hot springs day or night.

Posted Mar 25, 2017
There are 15 or so hot springs options at Baldi. Waterfalls, Natural caves and steam rooms all in a picturesque setting of lush gardens and swim up bar pools.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Jr. Ste. Was Perfect

Posted Mar 16, 2017 on Orbitz
High quality everything. Our room was more than comfortable & spacious. All furnishings, linens, bedding, towels & etc were all high quality. The nicest place we have experienced in CR. The Springs were comfortable & inviting. We would go back again.
5 out of 5
by Ramachandran

Will stay gain

Posted Mar 14, 2017 on Hotels
The room was clean, the hot springs were relaxing and the breakfast was excellent. The front-desk service was excellent. The receptionist patiently provided a lot of useful information on the various sight-seeing options available and booked us on an excellent guided day-tour which was the highlight of our costa rica stay. We ate two nights at the restaurant. Though a bit on the expensive side, the food and service were excellent. There were not too many vegetarian options on the menu. This may be an area they could work on.