Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 4, 2017
We enjoyed our stay. The staff was accommodating and pleasant.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Checked out within an hour

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Very old, run down, mold on outside and inside walls, threadbare linens, two bugs in bed, ants in the kitchen, no towels in bathroom, oniy closet is in the bathroom, fire ants biting as we unloaded and then loaded the car, no wifi except in the office. Asked to cancel our 4 nights or at least the following 3 and clerk said too late! No money returned, You might as well camp--it would be easier breathing without the mold.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely property and amazing staff

Posted Nov 25, 2016
My bf and I stayed here for 3 days and had an amazing time. The staff where unbelievably helpful and friendly. The hotel is a little off of town but it was approx 3$ cab , so nice and easy, plus I liked the privacy . There's also a papaya plantation near by if you go exploring a bit. The farmer on the property told us we could walk around which was so nice. Over all really enjoyed my experience would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice hotel, very clean, friendly and helpful staff

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: The little balcony with the table was a nice touch
Location: 1 km from town, were you can find every thing, restaurant, shopping, etc.
We love the environment, flower, birds, monkeys and the small river. The swimming pool is nice. The breakfast building facing the volcano is a nice touch. We had a car so we didn't mind the 1km drive to town.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient but poor value

Posted Dec 28, 2015
This was the most expensive hotel we stayed at in 3 different regions of Costa Rica, however this may be because we booked just a few days before? We had a standard room and my biggest complaint was lack of comfort for the price- small, hard beds with small, lumpy pillows & A/C that couldn't remove the suffocating humidity. The staff, breakfast and location were awesome but it is hard to make up for poor sleep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Excellent, very peaceful & quiet, the staff very friendly, made us feel at home away from home, plan to return in a year. Very pleased.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet peaceful country setting with helpful staff

Posted Jan 30, 2015
Pros: Being out of the main part of the city at night everything was quiet and peaceful. Restful stay. Very good staff.
Cons: Coffee maker with daily coffee for preparation in the room. After all, it is Costa Rica the land of delicious coffee. A small table/desk for computer.
Location: Two km out of Fortuna worked well because it is only $3.50 by taxi to access all the restaurants and service in town.
Two km out of LaFortuna on one of the bumpiest roads. They call it a Costa Rican massage. Only $3.50 taxi from LaFortuna to this peaceful country environment with forest and small stream. Three nights of restful sleep after full days of tours were a welcome. Breakfasts complete but not expansive buffet in an open dining environment. Staff very helpful in all matters of room requests, tour advice, and in general pleasing personalities. The room does not have a table for placing personal things or working with a computer, which is important in these days of travel where the Internet is integral for planning and communicating. Internet signal good most of the time in the rooms except during rains. Phone service excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place and beautiful grounds

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Pros: Clean, quiet, great breakfast, close to all activities
Location: We did Volcano Arenal hike, hot springs with dinner, kayaking and mountain biking
We had a great stay at Eco Arenal. We only stayed one night, but I wish we could stay longer and take advantage of the beautiful grounds and the pool. We arrived earlier than the check-in time and after checking that our rooms are ready the manager on duty let us check -in. The rooms were roomy and very clean and neat. All the villas looked great( we booked 3 units) and well maintained. The grounds are so beautiful, with many different kinds of flowers, bushes and trees it feels like you in the botanical garden. The villas are also located outside the busy touristic area so it is super quiet and relaxing. The breakfast, which is included, was simple, but very delicious. We had rice and beans( it is served everywhere and with every meal in Costa Rica), scrambled eggs, ham, potatoes, fresh papaya, pineapple, bananas, bread basket, coffee, tea, orange juice. It is served starting at 7AM, so we had plenty of time to enjoy before going out to our activities. We were 8 adults in our group and everyone agree that we will stay there again if we're lucky to go back to Costa Rica.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful property

Posted Dec 30, 2014
The property was really nice Nice pool. Front desk person friendly and helpful. Rm was rough. We closed windows to try to block out barking dog and AC was a beastly loud machine that froze the rm but without it the room was a sauna. Big hole in wall covered w lattice. Shower didn't work.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Villas Eco Arenal Review

Posted Dec 30, 2014
Pros: Location, view and natural surroundings. Staff was amazing and very helpful.
Location: Arenal volcano, River Rafting, Hot Springs.
Hotel location is wonderful. Had extremely positive experience with staff. They were amazing people. We stayed there for two nights. We will stay there again if we have another opportunity to visit Costa Rica. I would highly recommend this place. Very Eco friendly. Rooms are not that great but all other things outweigh rooms.