Ratings based on 75 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 15, 2017
We loved this hotel. The staff was so friendly. The restaurant was delicious. We did the night tour with Cristian and it was one of the highlights of our trip. We would recommend this place.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Idaho

Falls short.

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: Great breakfast with fruit bar.
Cons: The drive way up to the facility is horrible. Blind curve on steep, rocky curve. Poorly maintained. Bad, even for Costa Rica.
Location: Farthest out of town, but right at trail heads to waterfall.
No well being here. Horrible road up to facility. Sketchy pool. Very good breakfast. Place wants to be nice, but it falls short. Potential is there, but it's lacking the polish to be rated very high.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from indianapolis, in

Hotel with 1950's vibe

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Great view and excellent location to visit La Fortuna Waterfall and hike to Cherro Chato. The breakfast was excellent, staff was friendly and breakfast was fresh and delicious!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

For a quiet retreat close to Cerro Chato volcano

Posted Feb 21, 2017
This is.place for bird watchers, it lets you forget the hustle and bustle of life in a big city. It's quiet, staff friendly and the view, magnificent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel close to the sites

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Great hotel with pool and jacuzzi. Loads of frogs. Cerro Chatto trail starts within grounds. Amazing food, grown on site
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loved our stay at Green Lagoon!

Posted Sep 24, 2016 on Hotels
This was a wonderful hotel! The location is great- within walking distance to the La Fortuna Waterfall and the Cerro Chato hike. The hot tub was great to soak in after a long day of touring. The front desk staff were very helpful and friendly. The room itself was just okay -nothing to brag about. The breakfast was amazing- we loved our server! Would definitely recommend this if you are looking for a quiet stay within walking distance of two of the main attractions in the area. Just a few min drive into town.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 21, 2016 on Hotels
A bit far from town but great sceneries around. Great cook for breakfast & dinner, Dinner price was too high though!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

A well feeling high above La Fortuna

Posted May 29, 2016
Pros: Great views, away from crowds. Beautiful natural environment.
Cons: Pool and Jacuzzi areas - need new paints and tile work.
Location: Out of the beaten path location. 15 mins walk to La Fortuna waterfall. Trail head to Cerra Chato green lagoon.
We stayed 2 nights at Green Lagoon. True to its name, we got the vibe and the feel of well being high above the town of La Fortuna. Very friendly and attentive staff - Andy at the front desk upgraded our room due to low season. Allen who oversees the bar and restaurant made us feel welcomed and comfortable. Christian who oversees the garden and landscape gave us a brief but informative free tour of the resort ground; we learned its mission and vision of providing a well being retreat (yoga, meditation, healthy diet..) for visitors and a sanctuary for area wildlife. It is still a work in progress on preparing its programs which Christian hopes to be available to guests by Sept 2016. This resort is one of a kind. It is high above La Fortuna. From the pool area to villa's porch, amazing view of the valley. Our villa was huge and comfortable. There are other units above ours that have even better view. The standard rooms seem small and are by the pool area, can't rate them as I didn't stay there. The pool and Jacuzzi could use a face lift however. There are frog ponds, lots of fruit plants and trees, organic gardens through out, birds- toucans and hummingbirds etc...Included breakfast was very delicious. Resort serves as trail head for the hike to Cerra Chato (free for resort guests). We opted to walk 15 min to the waterfall ($12 entrance fee), love it. We also walked to town, 40 mins. Memorable part of our journey; highly recommend for a out of beaten path experience!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Gem of a Hotel

Posted May 1, 2016 on Hotels
The Green Lagoon Hotel is a gem! Nothing fancy, but very charming, clean, welcoming and comfortable. The location for us was perfect for hiking Cerro Chato, viewing Volcan Arenal, La Fortuna Waterfall, and the Rainforest Chocolate Tour. All were fantastic!! Oh, and the food at Green Lagoon was fresh and absolutely delicious :-) This place will always be special in our memories. Beautiful views too!
4 out of 5
by Brunilda from New York

Posted Apr 28, 2016 on Hotels
I little disappointed with the restaurant menu. Juices and water were serve at room temperature, no ice.