Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel close to the sites

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Great hotel with pool and jacuzzi. Loads of frogs. Cerro Chatto trail starts within grounds. Amazing food, grown on site
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

A well feeling high above La Fortuna

Posted May 29, 2016
Pros: Great views, away from crowds. Beautiful natural environment.
Cons: Pool and Jacuzzi areas - need new paints and tile work.
Location: Out of the beaten path location. 15 mins walk to La Fortuna waterfall. Trail head to Cerra Chato green lagoon.
We stayed 2 nights at Green Lagoon. True to its name, we got the vibe and the feel of well being high above the town of La Fortuna. Very friendly and attentive staff - Andy at the front desk upgraded our room due to low season. Allen who oversees the bar and restaurant made us feel welcomed and comfortable. Christian who oversees the garden and landscape gave us a brief but informative free tour of the resort ground; we learned its mission and vision of providing a well being retreat (yoga, meditation, healthy diet..) for visitors and a sanctuary for area wildlife. It is still a work in progress on preparing its programs which Christian hopes to be available to guests by Sept 2016. This resort is one of a kind. It is high above La Fortuna. From the pool area to villa's porch, amazing view of the valley. Our villa was huge and comfortable. There are other units above ours that have even better view. The standard rooms seem small and are by the pool area, can't rate them as I didn't stay there. The pool and Jacuzzi could use a face lift however. There are frog ponds, lots of fruit plants and trees, organic gardens through out, birds- toucans and hummingbirds etc...Included breakfast was very delicious. Resort serves as trail head for the hike to Cerra Chato (free for resort guests). We opted to walk 15 min to the waterfall ($12 entrance fee), love it. We also walked to town, 40 mins. Memorable part of our journey; highly recommend for a out of beaten path experience!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Dream place.

Posted Apr 12, 2016
The hotel is very well located for hikings trails. Going Up to the cráter of Cerro Chato volcano is a real challenge but is like paradise. A dream place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 20, 2016
Nice hotel. Close to Cerro Chato and falls. Would recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from iowa

WONDERFUL

Posted Dec 18, 2015
Pros: staff, breakfast, location though the last 15 minutes was horrible driving at night , day not much better but it was worth it in the long run.
Cons: roads and signage
Location: the backyard is the hiking trail through the park. It is mostly uphill so these less athletic people only made it a half hours. others loved it. Volca
Friendly staff offered to carry in luggage, free smoothie. Along with your night comes a free pass for hotel patrons to the national park , $12 savings per person ,because it is in the national park. Breakfasts were homemade and included. Rooms clean but nothing fancy. Beautiful view of volcano's you feel as if you could touch it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 1, 2015
Pros: Staff and facilities.
Cons: Very poor restaurant food choices.
Location: Green lagoon is a very difficult trail, just FYI.
This was a decent hotel for the price range. The staff is excellent. They are very caring and genuinely interested in your tourist experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best Place in La Fortuna!

Posted Nov 29, 2015
Pros: everything
Cons: the road up
Location: It's about 5-10 minutes away to La Fortuna where you have all these nice little restaurants and shops. Arenal Volcano is 20 minutes away.
We couldn't be more grateful for having stayed at the Green Lagoon. It really made the entire trip even more enjoyable, especially after getting the worst possible rental car at the worst possible price. The staff at the Green Lagoon were exceptionally attentive and friendly. They upgraded us to the honeymoon suite so we got to wake up to a full view of the valley below. It was beautiful. The grounds are very well kept and you feel like you are in paradise. The views are extraordinary! We do recommend you get a 4x4 if you are planning on getting here since the road up isn't the best. The breakfast was DELICIOUS! 3 choices, along with fruits, juice and coffee. Very nice way to wake up. Also the Cerro Chato hike is right there and the price is included so you do not have to pay the 12$ entrance fee. The waterfall is 2 minutes down the road by car but many people walked, so that was nice to have nearby as well. Overall we HIGHLY recommend this place and we would definitely come back. There is no other hotel in La Fortuna we would have stayed at.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Canada

Nice view but you need a car to get there!

Posted Nov 25, 2015
Quite remote and for the price we paid, we expected more. Not enough blanket, wash rooms are really small, not enough hot water and no TV. View is quite nice but you need a car to the hotel. Not worth the money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 8, 2015
Lovely experience. Staff very friendly. Great food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Beautiful location with very friendly staff

Posted Sep 5, 2015
Pros: tranquility
Location: Hiking, viewing waterfall
If the main goal of your vacation is to be with Mother Nature, Green Lagoon Resort is a excellent place to be. Nearby the resort is the famous La Fortuna waterfall and it is a 20-minute walk from the lobby. In addition, hiking trail to Cerro Chato volcano is within the property. All the staff are very friendly. We really appreciate the assistance of Maribel and Danny. I highly recommend this place.