Ratings based on 141 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montana

Nice view but isolated

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: I loved the view of the volcano and the lovely gardens and trails.
Cons: Fix the lock on the door of the room I had.
Location: Location was pretty out of the way, but beautiful surroundings made up for it. Many activities to do and transportation to all of them.
I stayed at Hotel Arenal Lodge two nights in Feb. The room was a little shabby but adequate. It had a wonderful view of gardens and the volcano. The journey up the winding mountain road was rough, but a van picked me up for my activities; still, I felt pretty isolated. My main complaint is the lock on the door of my room. The door knob lock worked, but there was a slider lock that I could not budge. I told hotel staff first thing in the morning after I had arrived and they promised to fix it. When I returned from a walk it still did not work, so I asked again. Hotel staff said the cleaning staff told them it worked. It did not. I told them again, and they promised again, but it still did not get fixed. It was of particular concern to me as a single female traveling alone. I recommend this hotel to people who are looking for solitude and beautiful views and don't mind a rough ride up the mountain.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Exterior windows

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Stayed in the chalet, which was nice except for the filthy exterior windows. A beautiful view but could not thoroughly enjoy
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice resort

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Stayed two nights, great views of the volcano. A couple short trails and horseback riding was awesome.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice view though the food is not so good

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Has a great view , though the food is not so good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sk Canada

Tranquil quiet scenic getaway

Posted Jan 21, 2017
This was our first stop in Costa Rica & it didn't disappoint. The staff were very friendly & welcoming. The setting was so relaxing with trails & scenery to enjoy! The food was good & service excellent. Our only issue was transportation as we did not have a car. The cost & unavailability of regular shuttle service limited our exploration of La Fortuna & surrounding areas. Booking trips through Jacamar Tours was our only option. Jessie was very helpful in doing so. We would highly recommend arranging transportation to & from the Lodge with an agreed price prior to going. The drivers were excellent!! It was a perfect way to begin our first 2 days in Costa Rica!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from C

challet rooms/overall exp

Posted Jan 16, 2017
We stayed in challet rooms and they def need some upgrades Terrible water pressure in the bathroom Lights did not work No Wifi Room is run down The road to hotel is really bad
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Connecticut, USA

beautiful surroundings and views but

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: view
Cons: Kitchen staff need to be more attentive .
beautiful surroungdings and views but the facilities needs some updates. We stayed the matrimonial suite, the jacuzzi and shower leaking. The breakfast buffet choice were excellent, rice & beans eggs, sausages, plantines , fresh fruits and all. The restaurant staffs were not attentive, were talking each other loudly while the guest were looking for missing tong to pick up fruits from server, it took awhile before got their attention to get help. The location is so remote from everything else, was a challenge to drive up from the entrance gate to the reception... The gentleman from the front desk was very helpful. Not quite sure I recommend to others, it is OK for maybe just couple days.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Reno, Nevada, USA

Great mountain chalet, close to attractions

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: Staff and view
Cons: Free coffee/ tea, better food variety, at least a few plates, bowls and silverware would also be a plus, else kitchenette is near worthless.
Location: Everything great is very close, rappelling, rafting, birding, zip lines and Bridges!
Stayed with 10/12 yearly kids and spouse, hotel is a bit isolated, but this is part of the appeal... lots of great stuff to see and do within 20-30 min drive, rental car is a must. breakfast is good for about 2 days, needs more variety. Hotel doesn't provide basic drinks, such as tea and coffee without a charge after 10am, which is somewhat cheap in their part. Jacuzzi is tepid and pool is not heated, nor are the rooms (only relevant when more rainy and during chilly months), so nothing dries! Staff are wonderful, as is the ownership, who are local and work part of the time onsite. Property is georgeous and substantial.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Nice getaway

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Perfect place to getaway from all the other resorts but not too far. Me and my wife came here and we're treated with exceptional service from the staff. We also had a nice dinner at the restaurant in the hotel. We had a huge view of the garden and the arenal volcano. I recommend and will be definitely going back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful but...

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: This hotel had bar far the best view of the volcano, gorgeous property and friendly staff.
Cons: But.. the room had lots of little bugs in it that we sprayed for ourselves every night and still woke up with bug bites in the morning. They were not bed bugs but still very unpleasant. Also the hotel food was not very good and it is not in very close proximity to other restaurants or markets.
Location: It is about a 30 minute drive to La Fortuna which has a beautiful waterfall, hot springs and several volcano hiking trails all of which are great.