Ratings based on 356 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver, canada

Charming older lodge (could be fabulous)

Posted Mar 20, 2017
This is a charming older lodge with lots of character. I loved the reception area with its huge fireplace and carved wooden furniture. Unfortunately we were placed in a 2 bedroom suite at the back of the property. The furnishings were old and uninspiring. No view. The cane chair was worn and broken. They should try harder to please. Food was really mediocre. Breakfast lukewarm. With a little effort and some cash this place could be brought back to its former glory.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto Canada

Nice, lodge, with excellent view of Arenal Volcano

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: Location, food, the view, the gardens.
Location: Lots of outdoor activites nearby, hiking at Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna waterfall, there was also ziplining, chocolate tours available.
Stayed two nights with my family of 4. Loved the view of he volcano and the hiking trails that were on the property. A great place to see birds. Stays included a breakfast that was quite good. Staff were very nice. Games in the lobby as well a kids room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome hotel, wonderful staff

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Pros: The staff was very helpful planning our activities, but maybe a little overpriced.
Cons: The beds were a little uncomfortable.
Location: Lots of things, hikes, zip lining, rainforest tours, hot springs.
We were welcomed from the first second we stepped into the hotel. The drive up the mountain was unexpected, but the view from the top was worth the drive! The lodge was wonderful overall.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 12, 2017
3 night stay. Hotel in lovely position with stunning views. We had a junior suite which was spacious with balcony. Hotel itself seems in need of an update. Room was so dark almost needed a torch to pack our bags. Desperate for a cup of tea, but could only boil water through a coffee machine. Breakfast provision good. Restaurant meals were OK, but there was no ambience in the restaurant at all. Some nice walks, with a hummingbird garden which was so run down and dark that we only saw one or two birds. Such a shame - the whole place has so much potential.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montana

Nice view but isolated

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: I loved the view of the volcano and the lovely gardens and trails.
Cons: Fix the lock on the door of the room I had.
Location: Location was pretty out of the way, but beautiful surroundings made up for it. Many activities to do and transportation to all of them.
I stayed at Hotel Arenal Lodge two nights in Feb. The room was a little shabby but adequate. It had a wonderful view of gardens and the volcano. The journey up the winding mountain road was rough, but a van picked me up for my activities; still, I felt pretty isolated. My main complaint is the lock on the door of my room. The door knob lock worked, but there was a slider lock that I could not budge. I told hotel staff first thing in the morning after I had arrived and they promised to fix it. When I returned from a walk it still did not work, so I asked again. Hotel staff said the cleaning staff told them it worked. It did not. I told them again, and they promised again, but it still did not get fixed. It was of particular concern to me as a single female traveling alone. I recommend this hotel to people who are looking for solitude and beautiful views and don't mind a rough ride up the mountain.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Exterior windows

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Stayed in the chalet, which was nice except for the filthy exterior windows. A beautiful view but could not thoroughly enjoy
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice resort

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Stayed two nights, great views of the volcano. A couple short trails and horseback riding was awesome.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice view though the food is not so good

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Has a great view , though the food is not so good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sk Canada

Tranquil quiet scenic getaway

Posted Jan 21, 2017
This was our first stop in Costa Rica & it didn't disappoint. The staff were very friendly & welcoming. The setting was so relaxing with trails & scenery to enjoy! The food was good & service excellent. Our only issue was transportation as we did not have a car. The cost & unavailability of regular shuttle service limited our exploration of La Fortuna & surrounding areas. Booking trips through Jacamar Tours was our only option. Jessie was very helpful in doing so. We would highly recommend arranging transportation to & from the Lodge with an agreed price prior to going. The drivers were excellent!! It was a perfect way to begin our first 2 days in Costa Rica!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from C

challet rooms/overall exp

Posted Jan 16, 2017
We stayed in challet rooms and they def need some upgrades Terrible water pressure in the bathroom Lights did not work No Wifi Room is run down The road to hotel is really bad