Ratings based on 71 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Ramon de Alajuela, Costa Rica

Nice grounds with a wilderness walking trail.

Posted Sep 20, 2016
My 10 and 12 year old daughters really enjoyed the walking trail. Very natural and fun. Wendy, the manager was exceptional. The free breakfast was more than adequate. We will stay there again when in La Fortuna.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica

To The Rescue

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: The view of the volcano from the porch, the attentive staff, the room amenities, & the location (out of town).
Cons: A table lamp by the bed would be a nice addition, but not a deal breaker.
Location: Arenal Nacional Park (hiking), La Fortuna (touristy, but nice), Lake Arenal (& the drive North), Hot Springs.
Kate & I stayed in one of the Junior Suite cabins for a weekend celebration of our 5th wedding anniversary. The cabin was roomy, comfortable, and cool with the ceiling fan alone. What amazed us was the staff. We had car trouble Sat. night, after driving around all day. Oneida at Reception called a friend who came over to troubleshoot, but could not find the problem. He then called a mechanic friend to ask if he could come Sun. & look things over. On Sun. morning he arrived with a trunk full of tools & in less than 2 hours we were repaired professionally, and headed home to Playa Hermosa. Without the help of these nice people we were looking at a long ride on a carrier truck to San Jose & more nights in another hotel. Instead, we drove the 4 hours to our home. Thank you Oneida, Wendy, Raphael, & Minor! You made a stressful situation easy, and we want everyone who visits Volcan Arenal to stay at Campo Verde! Hasta Pronto!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Mediocre, Overpriced Hotel With Excellent Staff

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Positive: The receptionist was very friendly, and everything was clean. Additionally, the breakfast is quite good. Negative: Overall the hotel is ok, but considering that we spend $90 per night, I expect a bit more. Usually, when we spend $90 per night on a hotel on Expedia, we were able to get some pretty nice places; especially, off season. The hotel is very mediocre, and the bathrooms looked pretty old. When we arrived, the tv was unplugged and we had to search for the tv stations. Additionally, on the second night, I saw a HUGE cockroach in our bathroom. I also did not like that the air condition rained on us, and the plug in the bathroom sink was missing. All of these things are not deal breakers, but again for $90 a night it is not the best-value option.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from toronto

Beautiful hotel

Posted Jun 1, 2016
Enjoyed our short stay at this beautiful hotel. The view of the volcano from our room was awesome. Wendy and her staff were friendly n courteous. The breakfast was fresh n wholesome
4 out of 5
by Angeles from DF

Increible vista al Volcan

Posted May 26, 2016 on Hotels
El lugar esta muy cerca de Tabacon y del acceso al Parque, tardamos muy poco en llegar, la habitación muuuy bonita, hubiéramos querido estar más tiempo, el personal de recepción nos oriento en como llegar y nos dio tolerancia por salir un poco tarde :S, sin duda lo recomendamos. La vista al Volcán es increíble - mal x que todo el tiempo estuvo lloviendo :'(
4 out of 5
by John from Dallas

Nice smaller hotel with specular views!

Posted May 11, 2016 on Hotels
We arrived fairly late but the receptionist was waiting for us. She gave us a full description of the best places to go Zip lining and for a spa. The grounds themselves are great! And the view of the Volcano from the unit was second to none. Just be aware that the hotel is a bit out of town from La Fortuna. If you need to be right in town, this is not the place. If you want peace and quiet, then this is it.
4 out of 5
by Denise from Montréal

Calme, détente.

Posted Apr 10, 2016 on Hotels
Beau séjour dans cet établissement qui comprend de jolies cabines (une grande pièce avec commodités + salle de bain complète). Simple, mais propre. Site calme où le chant des oiseaux vous réveillera doucement avec peut-être quelques cris du singe hurleur!) Très belle vue du volcan Arenal. Personnel avenant et aimable qui n'a pas hésité à nous aider à réserver quelques expéditions et coordonner une réparation de crevaison. Muchas gracias!
5 out of 5
by florine

Posted Mar 15, 2016 on Hotels
Nice stay , great view and great breakfist
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Zug, Schweiz

Schöne Aussicht auf den Vulkan Arenal

Posted Feb 10, 2016
Pros: Die Lage und Aussicht.
Hübsche kleine Hotelanlage mit vielen Orchideen, Kolibris und toller Aussicht auf den Arenal - wenn man Glück hat ;-) Sehr freundliches und hilfsbereites Personal mit sehr sauberen und grosszügigen Zimmern. Einziger kleiner Störfaktor sind vorbeifahrende LKW's in den frühen Morgenstunden die man relativ gut hört. Insgesamt ein schöner Aufenthalt.
5 out of 5
by luc from laval

un excellent choix

Posted Feb 4, 2016 on Hotels
Très beau séjour pour un excellent rapport qualité/prix, je recommande le Campo Verde pour la propreté, le confort, la beauté et la sécurité des lieux à proximité du Tabacon et du village de La Fortuna. Je n'hésiterai pas à y retourner si l'occasion se présente.