Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Tucson AZ

Like heaven

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Location: La fortuna town, waterfalls, volcano Arenal national park, gastronomy, nature, rappelling, canopy and much more.
The hotel is very quiet is the perfect to relax and experience nature. The employees were amazing and very helpful. The breakfast was fresh, made to order and delicious. The view, the trails, the weather, the people...this is great place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Ramon de Alajuela, Costa Rica

Nice grounds with a wilderness walking trail.

Posted Sep 20, 2016
My 10 and 12 year old daughters really enjoyed the walking trail. Very natural and fun. Wendy, the manager was exceptional. The free breakfast was more than adequate. We will stay there again when in La Fortuna.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica

To The Rescue

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: The view of the volcano from the porch, the attentive staff, the room amenities, & the location (out of town).
Cons: A table lamp by the bed would be a nice addition, but not a deal breaker.
Location: Arenal Nacional Park (hiking), La Fortuna (touristy, but nice), Lake Arenal (& the drive North), Hot Springs.
Kate & I stayed in one of the Junior Suite cabins for a weekend celebration of our 5th wedding anniversary. The cabin was roomy, comfortable, and cool with the ceiling fan alone. What amazed us was the staff. We had car trouble Sat. night, after driving around all day. Oneida at Reception called a friend who came over to troubleshoot, but could not find the problem. He then called a mechanic friend to ask if he could come Sun. & look things over. On Sun. morning he arrived with a trunk full of tools & in less than 2 hours we were repaired professionally, and headed home to Playa Hermosa. Without the help of these nice people we were looking at a long ride on a carrier truck to San Jose & more nights in another hotel. Instead, we drove the 4 hours to our home. Thank you Oneida, Wendy, Raphael, & Minor! You made a stressful situation easy, and we want everyone who visits Volcan Arenal to stay at Campo Verde! Hasta Pronto!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Mediocre, Overpriced Hotel With Excellent Staff

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Positive: The receptionist was very friendly, and everything was clean. Additionally, the breakfast is quite good. Negative: Overall the hotel is ok, but considering that we spend $90 per night, I expect a bit more. Usually, when we spend $90 per night on a hotel on Expedia, we were able to get some pretty nice places; especially, off season. The hotel is very mediocre, and the bathrooms looked pretty old. When we arrived, the tv was unplugged and we had to search for the tv stations. Additionally, on the second night, I saw a HUGE cockroach in our bathroom. I also did not like that the air condition rained on us, and the plug in the bathroom sink was missing. All of these things are not deal breakers, but again for $90 a night it is not the best-value option.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Beautiful hotel

Posted Jun 1, 2016
Enjoyed our short stay at this beautiful hotel. The view of the volcano from our room was awesome. Wendy and her staff were friendly n courteous. The breakfast was fresh n wholesome
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ca

Nice View

Posted Jan 15, 2016
Location: We went to "The Springs". It's down the street from the hotel. It's a bumpy ride by well worth it.
View was perfect. Around noon the fog cleared and you could see the volcano. The rooms were perfect! Staff wasn't the nicest but we didn't let it ruin our trip. You're about 10 minutes out of town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Naples, FL

Great view of the volcano and close to town.

Posted Jan 13, 2016
The check in was easy they held our luggage for us as we had reservations for other adventure trips. Breakfast was great and grounds were very nice as well. Overall great stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 15, 2016 by Lisbeth, Hotel Management
Is so nice to know that you enjoy the stay with us…Thank you very much for your lovely review!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing Arenal Volcano View

Posted Dec 24, 2015
Wendy and her staff were very helpful, really enjoyed the stay in this hotel Park like setting , very serene and relaxing experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 15, 2016 by Lisbeth, Hotel Management
Is so nice to know that you enjoy the stay with us…Thank you very much for your lovely review!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Lauderdale, FL

Private, close to adventure excursions

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Location: Hotel/resort is pretty far from the airport so make sure you plan for traveling to the location before you arrive. We rented a car and got a GPS.
Hotel staff very friendly and the daily breakfast is pretty good! Adventure excursions (horseback riding, zip lining, etc) are very close by. Rooms are private cabin-like cottages. There is a nice hiking path on premises.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Roseville,ca

Helpful staff, takes care of all your needs

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Pros: helpful staff, location, cleanliness, size of rooms
Location: close to La Fortuna waterfall, Arenal National Park, hot springs and downtown La Fortuna. You will need your own car or take a taxi to go to most plac
Our Arenal trip was foiled by rain but staff at Campo Verde definitely made our stay better. The location was great, very convenient and close to main attractions. The cottages were facing the volcano and significantly large. Hot water was available with adequate pressure( a luxury in CR). Rooms were clean. The staff helped us book our tours, suggested great places to eat (important for vegetarians like us). They even gave us bottled water at cost and at times agreed to take our money later when we were in rush. They accommodated our request to give us early breakfast when our tour was in the early morning. It seemed like we just had to ask and they did everything in their power to make our stay comfortable and relaxing. The trail on the property is nice as well, a small rain forest hike in itself, remember to use insect repellent though.