Ratings based on 402 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Wayne, IN

Amazing!

Posted Jun 13, 2017
We stayed at El Silencio for three days at the beginning of the rainy season. I don't know how full it was, but we always had a feeling of having the resort to ourselves. The staff are amazing. Elio at the front desk was so cheerful and willing to help us with anything. May Ling at the bar was sweet as can be and made great drinks! The hot springs were perfect and our room was great. I have absolutely NOTHING bad to say about this resort.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017 by Elio , Hotel Management
HI, Jill! We are so glad to hear that you had enjoyed your stay at El Silencio. We hope you can give us another opportunity to serve again you next trip you come to Costa Rica. Cheers!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel with fantastic owners

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: The owners were friendly. Room was very nice.
Eliot was friendly and very helpful. Loved the hotel with a great view of the volcano and great hot pools.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017 by Elio , Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest I appreciate your wonderful words about my job. We work hard to make you feel as if you were at home. I am glad to learn that you were able to see the Volcano and that you enjoyed the hot springs
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dallas, tx

Wonderful family experience near arenal

Posted Mar 22, 2017
We have stayed multiple times with our three small kids The grounds are beautiful and well maintained with fantastic spring fed pools (a few different ones at varying temperatures) We spend lots of time just enjoying the grounds and relaxing on our private cabin patio with views of the volcano The staff is friendly and amazing - plus the breakfast (included) is some of the best I have had. There is a small working farm on the grounds that provides the eggs, milk and cheese. Alejandro (he runs the farm) is great with kids and shows them around Already trying to plan out next trip back :)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very Comfortable and clean hotel

Posted Mar 15, 2017 on Hotels
Hote El Silencio was great - the staff were extremely friendly, helpful and very knowledgeable about the local area (parks, tours etc...)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Delightful

Posted Mar 6, 2017
A special thanks to the landscaping crew making the grounds look magical. Awesome job by the farmers on hand that made me feel welcome at their on premises farm Great job all around by making the springs ADA accessible or pretty close.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing hotel at a great value.

Posted Mar 5, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Everything!
Cons: The shower water temperature was a bit difficult to control but that's a small flaw.
Location: Fantastic location! Short 30 min drive to Arenal National Park entrance and ziplining and also a short 5-10 min drive to downtown La Fortuna.
Our experience was a positive one. The staff is unbelievable attentive and friendly. Food is delicious and don't even get us started on the spa. Quite possible the best spa experience any of us has ever had; that is saying a lot from three women. We changed locations to the beach side of the country for a few days before heading back to the states and all we kept saying was that we wished we could go back to El Silencio.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The best staff and ambiance.

Posted Mar 4, 2017
A truly relaxing and tranquil environment. The whole experience was unforgettable. I drove by the many resorts around the area and was always glad I got to go back to mine at the end of the day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Family friendly, beautifully designed cottages

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Pros: The hot springs are very pleasantly designed and served to be a great way to relax.
We were delighted by the number of things the staff did to accommodate us - arrival, last minute spa reservation, activity booking, vegetarian breakfast and lunch as well as late checkout.
5 out of 5
by Matthew

Perfect hotel

Posted Feb 25, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel turned out to be a nice surprise. The bungalows are spacious, modern and clean. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The grounds are kept well. It's the perfect place to come back to after a day of hiking, zip lining. In addition to a pool, hot springs and a spa there is also a small farm next to it. Very lovely. Would definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montana

Beautiful and peaceful!

Posted Feb 24, 2017 on CheapTickets
Just returned from our first time in Costa Rica. We stayed here at the end of our vacation. It is a beautiful property with individual villas for each guest. They have a wonderful hot pool, cool pool and jacuzzi plus a snack bar for food and drinks. Breakfast was included and you can have them book some of your excursions for you. Great staff!!!! Stay here you won't be disappointed!