Ratings based on 172 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

The Perfect Experience!

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: Everything about the experience was perfect!
Location: Centrally located and close to Hanging Bridges, Arenal Volcano, Butterfly Sanctuary Zip-Lining. Best restaurant - la Famiglia Feliz for Peruvian Food
We stayed at Hotel El Silencio del Campo for 3 nights in January 2017 and the Hotel exceeded all expectations! Friendly and welcoming staff always available for suggestions and reservations-how much you can accomplish in one day, directions, etc. The Villa was beautifully landscaped and the room was clean and well equipped with cathedral ceilings and a front patio with table and chairs. The 4 hot springs on site were clean and a perfect place to relax with an adjacent bar. Wild birds and other animals roaming freely throughout the property. The free breakfast was excellent, nice restaurant with wild birds all around including Toucans! Wouldn't consider staying anywhere else. 5 STARS!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

A Hotel with Character

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: The staff is amazing at this hotel. They will book tours (group and private). They are very knowledgeable of the area.
Location: There is plenty to do nearby. The Baldi Hot Springs are within walking distance. The volcano and waterfall are close as well.
This was a very unique place to stay. You have your own private cabin. There is a small working farm for fresh eggs and they have fresh milk from the cows. If you are a bird watcher, they put out fruit every day for the birds and so many different varieties come to eat! The hot pools on the grounds are beautiful. It was a great experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful Romantic place

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Beautiful Romantic place. Will recommend to friends and family
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice quiet hotel in a busy town.

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Location: This hotel is close to all attractions in La Fortuna. Lots of literature of fun places to go and see wildlife etc.
The staff, grounds, pools, and spa are beautiful. Food and drinks are good as well. Bungalows all have a view of the volcano (we saw it once for a minute). The hot springs pools are fantastic. Beautiful and clean!! Highly recommend!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta Canada

Beautiful hotel grounds & spa

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: The grounds, hot springs, the spa and the personable staff.
Cons: The food. Breakfast is included, but selection too limited. Other meals expensive & inconsistent in quality for price.
Location: A million things to do close by, including adventure tours, coffee and chocolate tours, Mistico Hanging Bridges, Cano Negro tours.
Beautiful grounds, amazing hot springs & spa. Staff very friendly and helpful. Close to town of La Fortuna, where food is exceptional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from alabama

Perfect

Posted Sep 25, 2016
The camp is beautiful. Also has a working farm where you can collect eggs, milk cows, pet the animals. They use these resources for their meals at the restaurant. The staff is wonderful. They speak English and Spanish, and go out of their way to be accommodating. They even went and bought a cake when they heard it was a member of our group's birthday. The location is beautiful, and the hot spring pools are incredible. And hot! 10/10. Would recommend to anyone
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2016
great view of the volcano! I loved the friendliness of the staff. I really liked how small the resort is it wasn't over crowded we were the only ones in the pool and hot springs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rockville, MD

Beautiful grounds but some improvements needed

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Ok, loved this hotel. The grounds are amazing, lush and beautiful. The natural Springs are secluded and range in temperature. Many have little refreshing waterfalls. The staff at the front desk in the evenings were fun and helpful. Hotel an 8 dollar cab ride from town. The not so good is no life at night, no entertainment at all. The bar is empty. Food at breakfast boring and repetitive but ok. Fun watching birds eat fruit from Tree in front. Dinner menu and food lacking. Rather expensive for poor quality. For example, pasta small with minimal tomato sauce. It comes with nothing, no vegetables, no salad. Night I went no customers either!!!! Still would recommend hotel but take a taxi and eat elsewhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hot Springs Haven

Posted May 12, 2016
Pros: The grounds were beautiful, the staff were awesome. The breakfast included in the cost of the room was delicious and made-to-order.
Cons: Not impressed with the dinner we had at their little restaurant. Also, there was no hot water in our room so we had cold showers each morning.
Loved our stay at El Silencio. Wonderful staff, beautiful facilities. We enjoyed massages at their lovely spa and soaked in the hot springs each night after hiking in the rain forest--a real treat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine

Personal Attention

Posted Feb 19, 2016
Pros: Peaceful quiet. Plants, birds. Personal attention. Beautiful views
Location: Beautiful grounds and Hot Spring pools. Watching the birds in the morning. Went zip lining, white water rafting Hanging Bridges and Safari raft.
From the moment we arrived at El Silencio del Campo until the time we left any question, problem,or help that we needed was quickly addressed with incredible personalized service. I have never felt so well taken care of. Whether was requesting extra pillows, arranging a tour, information about the local area, restaurant suggestions, or obtaining a taxi it was all taken care of quickly and with a smile and thoughtful asssistance, We're amazed at how well Eliomar and the staff always juggled so many different things at onetime. The entire staff did an incredible job in making El Silencio Del Campo such a warm welcoming and beautiful place. The cabins were spacious, lovely, peaceful and well kept surrounded by local plants. Watching the birds feeding while eating breakfast was a special treat as well spending time in the thermal hot springs after a busy day. Our trip to Costa Rica was one that we'll treasure.