Ratings based on 382 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hot Spring paradise

Posted Feb 15, 2017
This hotel is a gem. We were only there one day but could have stayed a week. The hots springs are a treasure and the grounds are beautiful with birds peacocks exotic flowers. Bar attendant was gracious and wonderful as we're the servers at the restaurant. Food was delicious and included a free made to order breakfast. We had houevos ranchers amd omelets. Got speedy help with a flat tire.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ferndale, WA

Low key hot spring/hotel

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Pros: the service was excellent,
Cons: the food was basic, well prepared but nothing special
This was our first time in the La Fortuna area. We wanted to avoid the hype and congestion of the major hot springs attractions, and this hotel was perfect for us. We spent 2 nights at the end of a strenuous trip, and had the pools almost to ourselves during the day when other guests were out doing activities. We are avid birders and were delighted to have a fruit feeder at the restaurant and excellent easy garden/ orchard birding
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

The Perfect Experience!

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: Everything about the experience was perfect!
Location: Centrally located and close to Hanging Bridges, Arenal Volcano, Butterfly Sanctuary Zip-Lining. Best restaurant - la Famiglia Feliz for Peruvian Food
We stayed at Hotel El Silencio del Campo for 3 nights in January 2017 and the Hotel exceeded all expectations! Friendly and welcoming staff always available for suggestions and reservations-how much you can accomplish in one day, directions, etc. The Villa was beautifully landscaped and the room was clean and well equipped with cathedral ceilings and a front patio with table and chairs. The 4 hot springs on site were clean and a perfect place to relax with an adjacent bar. Wild birds and other animals roaming freely throughout the property. The free breakfast was excellent, nice restaurant with wild birds all around including Toucans! Wouldn't consider staying anywhere else. 5 STARS!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

A Hotel with Character

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: The staff is amazing at this hotel. They will book tours (group and private). They are very knowledgeable of the area.
Location: There is plenty to do nearby. The Baldi Hot Springs are within walking distance. The volcano and waterfall are close as well.
This was a very unique place to stay. You have your own private cabin. There is a small working farm for fresh eggs and they have fresh milk from the cows. If you are a bird watcher, they put out fruit every day for the birds and so many different varieties come to eat! The hot pools on the grounds are beautiful. It was a great experience!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 29, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful Romantic place

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Beautiful Romantic place. Will recommend to friends and family
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 17, 2016 on Hotels
We had a wonderful 5 night stay while exploring the La Fortuna/Arenal area. We loved our own private bungalow with a nice outdoor sitting area. The room was spacious and comfortable. Our own huge jetted tub was a bonus, except there wasn't really enough hot water to fill it properly past the jets. Meals were pretty good- not great, but we weren't here for the food. Watching the birds feed each morning on the 'fruit tree' was a delight. The hot pools were very relaxing and beautifully landscaped. We just wish they were warmer. One evening they were on the cool side. There is a nice bar by the pool with wonderful staff. Reception was very warm and welcoming and helped us book our zip-lining, hiking, and mountain biking trips. All the staff were truly amazing and friendly-the best part of the property.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice quiet hotel in a busy town.

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Location: This hotel is close to all attractions in La Fortuna. Lots of literature of fun places to go and see wildlife etc.
The staff, grounds, pools, and spa are beautiful. Food and drinks are good as well. Bungalows all have a view of the volcano (we saw it once for a minute). The hot springs pools are fantastic. Beautiful and clean!! Highly recommend!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta Canada

Beautiful hotel grounds & spa

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: The grounds, hot springs, the spa and the personable staff.
Cons: The food. Breakfast is included, but selection too limited. Other meals expensive & inconsistent in quality for price.
Location: A million things to do close by, including adventure tours, coffee and chocolate tours, Mistico Hanging Bridges, Cano Negro tours.
Beautiful grounds, amazing hot springs & spa. Staff very friendly and helpful. Close to town of La Fortuna, where food is exceptional.