Ratings based on 76 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
48% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bahamas

Bit depressing but Ok I guess

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Overnighted here. It was passable and clean enough but made me feel a bit icky to be honest. I dropped my eyeliner in the bathroom and threw it away rather than wash it off and use it again. I wasn't sad to leave but I wouldn't go as far as to say that it was a bad place to stay. If I had to stay for more than one night I'd probably have enjoyed my trip a lot less though.
5 out of 5
by Francisco from Costa Rica

Excelente

Posted Feb 23, 2015 on Hotels
Viaje de bodas, ambiente agradable y muy tranquilo, excelente
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NY

Inexpensive comfortable small place

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Pros: Price, convenience.
Cons: Real pillows would be nice. Some dishware, too (could be locked up like the refrigerator to keep from disappearing).
Location: Volcan Arenal park. Hanging bridges nature walk. Natura Zoological Park. Nenes Restaurant, Chocolate Fusion coffee house.
We chose El Volcan because of the reviews lauding the host, and were not disappointed. Luis was helpful, friendly and knowledgeable about the area. Our first night he recommended a local restaurant where we had the best steak (ribeye) we'd ever eaten. The beds were OK, although the pillows were just egg crate foam in pillowslips. Despite that, we slept very well. The hotel has an outdoor covered patio with a common refrigerator and microwave (put away late at night). No dishes, however, but handy anyway. It's within easy walking distance of most of the town, and the walks were pleasant.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Affordable, close to town center

Posted Feb 15, 2015
Wonderful little room, very modest, simple, don't expect a standard US-room by any means. I thought it was a great lil find. Site mgr was very helpful and friendly. Has wifi, hot water and is in the town. Downside is room facing the street hears everyyyything. Overall great.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 13, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Enkelt, billigt och inget för den kräsna.

Posted Feb 3, 2015 on Hotels
Läget bra och bra bemötande av personal. Rummen mycket enkla och renligheten var inte tillfredställande. Ett mycket enkelt boende till jämförelse lågt pris. Funkar för en natt eller två.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great place for people on a budget.

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Close to downtown, clean and the owner was very helpful. Wifi connection is so so depending on your room, but this problem I found through out Costa Rican hotels.
1 out of 5
by Bernardo from Canada

Don't stay there.

Posted Dec 26, 2014 on Hotels
I don't recommended this hotel at all. No clean and a very bad smell that my wife had to sleep in the car. Smell mold everywhere, on pillows, mattresses, it's horrible.
4 out of 5
by Fernando Machado from Cartago, Costa rica

Buena ubicacion, opcion economica para una noche

Posted Sep 17, 2014 on Hotels
Excelente ubicación y precio muy razonable. Ideal para pasar la noche y continuar tu viaje. La habitación es muy pequeña, pero estan limpias con televisor pequeño y aire acondicionado un poco ruidoso. Pero si es solo para dormir y continuar tu viaje esta bien. El personal es amable y te puede ayudar con información de la zona.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from redwood city

Close to downtown

Posted Aug 14, 2014
I did not like the facilities, every thing looks old, but at least is close to downtown