Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 19, 2016
not a lot of amenities, room was very dark and bare.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gatineau

Close to everything but cleanliness???

Posted Jan 14, 2016
Very close to beautiful town centre. The owner is very nice and helpful. The room we got was full of little critters (ants) in bathroom sink and around doors. The sheets in the bed had small black flakes, not sure what it was, maybe fleas -related? I was worried especially travelling with children.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Good location, good staff

Posted Sep 5, 2015
Pros: The staff and location were great!
Cons: The rooms could be cleaner.
Location: There are plenty of eco-tours and adventure activities to do really close by. Plenty of restaurants to choose from, even a crazy good vegan/gf spot.
The hotel was really close to the main road and plaza area (2 minute walk). The front desk staff was really helpful and organized trips for us super short notice! Although the actual room we stayed in for one night wasn't the best. It was moldy and definitely could have been cleaner. Overall it was fine for staying a night but for longer trips I would look elsewhere.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Adequate hotel near the main center of town.

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff, great price.
Cons: New towels.
Location: It's La Fortuna - one of the greatest parts of Costa Rica. So many things to do it's not possible to list them all.
Very inexpensive, basic amenities, friendly staff. Was clean, if threadbare.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bahamas

Bit depressing but Ok I guess

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Overnighted here. It was passable and clean enough but made me feel a bit icky to be honest. I dropped my eyeliner in the bathroom and threw it away rather than wash it off and use it again. I wasn't sad to leave but I wouldn't go as far as to say that it was a bad place to stay. If I had to stay for more than one night I'd probably have enjoyed my trip a lot less though.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NY

Inexpensive comfortable small place

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Pros: Price, convenience.
Cons: Real pillows would be nice. Some dishware, too (could be locked up like the refrigerator to keep from disappearing).
Location: Volcan Arenal park. Hanging bridges nature walk. Natura Zoological Park. Nenes Restaurant, Chocolate Fusion coffee house.
We chose El Volcan because of the reviews lauding the host, and were not disappointed. Luis was helpful, friendly and knowledgeable about the area. Our first night he recommended a local restaurant where we had the best steak (ribeye) we'd ever eaten. The beds were OK, although the pillows were just egg crate foam in pillowslips. Despite that, we slept very well. The hotel has an outdoor covered patio with a common refrigerator and microwave (put away late at night). No dishes, however, but handy anyway. It's within easy walking distance of most of the town, and the walks were pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Affordable, close to town center

Posted Feb 15, 2015
Wonderful little room, very modest, simple, don't expect a standard US-room by any means. I thought it was a great lil find. Site mgr was very helpful and friendly. Has wifi, hot water and is in the town. Downside is room facing the street hears everyyyything. Overall great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great place for people on a budget.

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Close to downtown, clean and the owner was very helpful. Wifi connection is so so depending on your room, but this problem I found through out Costa Rican hotels.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from redwood city

Close to downtown

Posted Aug 14, 2014
I did not like the facilities, every thing looks old, but at least is close to downtown
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas Tx

Disappointed

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: The owner was extremely nice and the room had air conditioning, which a lot of places do not in Costa Rica.
Cons: Softer beds. Easier access to soft drinks (you could not always find someone to unlock the machine). Access to coffee & tea at the hotel.
Location: I didn't go anywhere in that area so I don't know.
The owner was very nice but not what it appeared to be online. I wasn't really comfortable with the location. The bed was very hard so it was hard to sleep. But there was air conditioning which was nice.