Ratings based on 119 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from victoria

Quaint local resort hotel

Posted May 17, 2017
Very quiet. Attentive staff. Good sized rooms. Small hot springs. Not modern but comfortable and local feeling
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Spokane, WA

Beautiful facilities with individual cabins.

Posted Jan 31, 2017
The grounds are beautiful and well-maintained. Our room was a full cabin which was spacious, with a king-bed and a twin. The king was soft and comfy and the twin was very firm, which was ok for me but probably not for everyone. There is a hot springs on the grounds and a pool. We also had a great view of the Mt. Arenal volcano from the site (but not from our room). The staff were friendly and helpful. The included breakfast was a nice buffet. The location is a short drive from La Fortuna, which was just fine if you have a car.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson, AZ

Cool Hotel

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Location: Located on highway between La Fortuna and the volcano and lake. While the driveway is on the highway it is far enough away so there is no road noise.
It is different from what you would think of a hotel. It is actually individual cabins in the jungle. There is not individual parking by the units, you park near the reception area and walk down short paved trails. It is important to note there are no phones or WIFI in the rooms. WIFI is available in some common areas. The location is off the main road between La Fortuna and Arenal, very convenient but also secluded. The rooms are huge with AC, ceiling fan, and TV. Did I mention there’s no WIFI. The grounds are lush with jungle vegetation, There are natural hot spring baths, a large pool, covered outdoor yoga area, on-site restaurant and always hot coffee in the reception area. Breakfast is good but basic. Really a nice place to stay and at a good off-season rate.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lodge Rooms that are not sound-proof

Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
There was no view of the volcano that we could see anywhere on the property. There was a small pool with hot springs water in it, but it didn't look very inviting. The other small pools in the hot springs area weren't even filled with water. There was a swimming pool that I didn't see anyone get in while we were there. It had some green stuff on the bottom which I assumed was algae, but I did see someone cleaning it one morning. I love the tranquility of the hotel, but the cabins are not sound-proof. They have a rooster on the property who will wake you at 5 am. The restaurant is not open during lunch, and only open in the mornings for breakfast and evenings by reservation only, and there's a limited menu. The breakfast buffet was great. It's a shame about the sound-proofing of the rooms because other than that, it was a peaceful place - it just made our mornings very unpleasant getting awoken by noises! If you stay here, bring your ear plugs and don't get anywhere near the reservation office because that's where all the noise is. I would only stay here if you like the rustic lodge feel - reminded me of cabins we stay in at the state parks in the US. And if you don't mind getting awoken early in the morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Great hotel and staff! Secluded feel, right next to everything you'll want
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Great boutique value hotel

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: Comfort, convenience
Location: Convenient location with all access to all the major Arenal activities.
Hotel Kokoro is a great mid-range boutique hotel with access to all the activities you would want to do. It's a smaller property and doesn't have all the bells and whistles of a 5-star, but met all of my needs and at a good pricepoint. The cabins were very spacious and comfortable. Food at restaurant was good too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, very tropical area with beautiful views.

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Great hotel amidst a beautiful setting and views of Arenal. Breakfasts are great but no bar for cocktails. Food available for dinner was okay. You have to take a cab ($8 total) each way to get to and from La Fortuna town where there are restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Great boutique value hotel in Arenal

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: Rooms were very spacious. It was like having your own little cabin. The overall atmosphere was very serene. Staff were helpful and location was good..
Cons: Some of the other properties were larger and had more amenities, but as I said it's a great price point for Arenal.
Location: Convenient location for outdoor activities and visiting La Fortuna.
If you're looking to save money but have a good experience I'd highly recommend Hotel Kokoro. It's smaller and doesn't have all the resort-style amenities, but the rooms were clean and have everything I needed. The restaurant was good, and the staff was very helpful arranging activities for me even last-minute. It also has a pool and small hot springs area.
5 out of 5
by Bethany from Colorado

Friendly staff, great view of Arenal Volcano!

Posted Apr 22, 2016 on Hotels
We have stayed at this hotel twice. We have been pleased both times. The location is very convenient to the heart of La Fortuna. The best part is waking up and looking out your window at the colossal Arenal Volcano. It is breathtaking! The staff here is always friendly, and the daily breakfast is awesome! The facility is pet friendly and we really enjoyed bringing our dog with us last time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Orbitz
We read so many good reviews about this place and were very excited to spend 3 nights in La Fortuna. The staff were wonderful, and the breakfast and shared facilities quite nice as well. But the unit itself, which we paid to upgrade before arriving, was a disappointment. The furniture, linens, and bathroom appliances were outdated and didn't seem well cleaned or cared for. The walls were paper thin and we could hear everything within 50 feet as if it were inside the unit, from kids in the nearby common room to animals and cars passing by. Although it's located in a jungle and bugs are to be expected, there were much more than we encountered in any other places in CR. In short, we didn't get a good night's sleep any of the nights, and overall were disappointed in the quality for the price we paid. We stayed in many places during our trip and found much better facilities in hotels half the price.