Ratings based on 113 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tucson, AZ

Cool Hotel

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Location: Located on highway between La Fortuna and the volcano and lake. While the driveway is on the highway it is far enough away so there is no road noise.
It is different from what you would think of a hotel. It is actually individual cabins in the jungle. There is not individual parking by the units, you park near the reception area and walk down short paved trails. It is important to note there are no phones or WIFI in the rooms. WIFI is available in some common areas. The location is off the main road between La Fortuna and Arenal, very convenient but also secluded. The rooms are huge with AC, ceiling fan, and TV. Did I mention there’s no WIFI. The grounds are lush with jungle vegetation, There are natural hot spring baths, a large pool, covered outdoor yoga area, on-site restaurant and always hot coffee in the reception area. Breakfast is good but basic. Really a nice place to stay and at a good off-season rate.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lodge Rooms that are not sound-proof

Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
There was no view of the volcano that we could see anywhere on the property. There was a small pool with hot springs water in it, but it didn't look very inviting. The other small pools in the hot springs area weren't even filled with water. There was a swimming pool that I didn't see anyone get in while we were there. It had some green stuff on the bottom which I assumed was algae, but I did see someone cleaning it one morning. I love the tranquility of the hotel, but the cabins are not sound-proof. They have a rooster on the property who will wake you at 5 am. The restaurant is not open during lunch, and only open in the mornings for breakfast and evenings by reservation only, and there's a limited menu. The breakfast buffet was great. It's a shame about the sound-proofing of the rooms because other than that, it was a peaceful place - it just made our mornings very unpleasant getting awoken by noises! If you stay here, bring your ear plugs and don't get anywhere near the reservation office because that's where all the noise is. I would only stay here if you like the rustic lodge feel - reminded me of cabins we stay in at the state parks in the US. And if you don't mind getting awoken early in the morning.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Great hotel and staff! Secluded feel, right next to everything you'll want
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Great boutique value hotel

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: Comfort, convenience
Location: Convenient location with all access to all the major Arenal activities.
Hotel Kokoro is a great mid-range boutique hotel with access to all the activities you would want to do. It's a smaller property and doesn't have all the bells and whistles of a 5-star, but met all of my needs and at a good pricepoint. The cabins were very spacious and comfortable. Food at restaurant was good too.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice, very tropical area with beautiful views.

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Great hotel amidst a beautiful setting and views of Arenal. Breakfasts are great but no bar for cocktails. Food available for dinner was okay. You have to take a cab ($8 total) each way to get to and from La Fortuna town where there are restaurants.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel de montaña muy agradable, aguas termales.

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Pros: Aguas termales y buen precio
Cons: Las zonas alrededor, que se vean mejor cuidadas.
Location: Canopy, aguas termales, buena comida.
Es un hotel bonito, con excelente vista al Volcan Arenal y cuenta con aguas termales ahi mismo.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Great boutique value hotel in Arenal

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: Rooms were very spacious. It was like having your own little cabin. The overall atmosphere was very serene. Staff were helpful and location was good..
Cons: Some of the other properties were larger and had more amenities, but as I said it's a great price point for Arenal.
Location: Convenient location for outdoor activities and visiting La Fortuna.
If you're looking to save money but have a good experience I'd highly recommend Hotel Kokoro. It's smaller and doesn't have all the resort-style amenities, but the rooms were clean and have everything I needed. The restaurant was good, and the staff was very helpful arranging activities for me even last-minute. It also has a pool and small hot springs area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 6

Staff was great.The place has thermal pool.

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Pros: Has it´s own little reserve, restaurant, thermal pool and nature trail.
Cons: The thermal pool could be opened before 4 pm.
Location: Excellent place to stay.
No problem. I wish though their thermal pools would be open before 4 pm.
4 out of 5
by Hans from sassenheim

rustig genieten

Posted Jun 6, 2016 on Hotels
gezellige huisjes op een mooi terrein met hotspring. Hele aardige en behulpzame receptie met goed werkend wifi (maar alleen daar en in het restaurant). vanuit je huisje of restaurant volop genieten van de dieren om je heen. Een aanrader.
5 out of 5
by Anais from Marseille

Superbe hotel et séjour

Posted May 21, 2016 on Hotels
Ponts suspendus + kayak sur le lac + zip line dans la canopy + hot springs