Ratings based on 105 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 6

Staff was great.The place has thermal pool.

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Pros: Has it´s own little reserve, restaurant, thermal pool and nature trail.
Cons: The thermal pool could be opened before 4 pm.
Location: Excellent place to stay.
No problem. I wish though their thermal pools would be open before 4 pm.
5 out of 5
by Bethany from Colorado

Friendly staff, great view of Arenal Volcano!

Posted Apr 22, 2016 on Hotels
We have stayed at this hotel twice. We have been pleased both times. The location is very convenient to the heart of La Fortuna. The best part is waking up and looking out your window at the colossal Arenal Volcano. It is breathtaking! The staff here is always friendly, and the daily breakfast is awesome! The facility is pet friendly and we really enjoyed bringing our dog with us last time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Orbitz
We read so many good reviews about this place and were very excited to spend 3 nights in La Fortuna. The staff were wonderful, and the breakfast and shared facilities quite nice as well. But the unit itself, which we paid to upgrade before arriving, was a disappointment. The furniture, linens, and bathroom appliances were outdated and didn't seem well cleaned or cared for. The walls were paper thin and we could hear everything within 50 feet as if it were inside the unit, from kids in the nearby common room to animals and cars passing by. Although it's located in a jungle and bugs are to be expected, there were much more than we encountered in any other places in CR. In short, we didn't get a good night's sleep any of the nights, and overall were disappointed in the quality for the price we paid. We stayed in many places during our trip and found much better facilities in hotels half the price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Good value, great location

Posted Mar 22, 2016
Pros: First of all, Majid at the front desk provided excellent customer service! He booked several local excursions for us, as well as the airport taxi ride
Cons: The restaurant hours are very limited, and you have to make advance reservations. There is no separate bar.
Location: Kokoro is located right in the middle of all the activities in the La Fortuna area, including eco tours, ATVs, ziplining, etc.
Our family of four stayed recently at Kokoro. Overall, we found the hotel to be comfortable and a good overall value, but the location was the best part of it. The staff is very helpful in arranging local trips and transportation, making recommendation, etc. Each room is a private cabin/cottage type of structure with lots of space inside. The bathroom is large and bedding is fairly comfortable. The rooms are more on the rustic side, so don't expect luxurious accomodations, but you have everything you need.
4 out of 5
by Sonia from Somerville, NJ

Great location, friendly staff

Posted Mar 22, 2016 on Hotels
Staff was very friendly and accommodating. In close proximity to many tours. Complimentary breakfast was delicious. Only criticism was the bathroom could have been cleaner.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MA

Pretty as a picture

Posted Mar 19, 2016
We had a great time I loved soaking in their hot springs after climbing the volcano
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from texas

Great location

Posted Feb 25, 2016
Tropical grounds, quaint rooms, very basic services and facilities . Very convenient location to anything in and around la fortuna. Not luxury but more like upgraded camping. Kitchen is lacking for meals so you need to eat outside of hotel for meals.
4 out of 5
by Janet from Marin County, California

Good value, great location, nice amenities

Posted Feb 21, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice moderately priced place close to everything. Some reviews noted the distance from town, but this place is as close as any in the area and is in a beautiful, natural setting. The food was excellent as well.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from kakabeka falls

Beautiful place away from the crowds!!

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Pros: See above..the staff, the cabinas, the hot tub with mineral water, the breakfast, the coffee...
Cons: Had trouble with our shower..regulating the temperature..cant think of anything else!
Location: Loved that we were out of the hustle and bustle of la fortuna. Tons if things to do..shop in fortuna, hike, zipline, whatever you want!
Very friendly and knowledgable staff that spoke great english! Really good coffee 24/7. Very good breakfasts. Loved our little cabinas...only down side was perhaps the shower..not much luck regulating the temp but we managed okay. Would not hesitate to return. Loved that we were away from the hustle and bustle of fortuna!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

nature tours

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Pros: Not a hotel in the usual sense. Small individual cabins surrounded by lush flowers plus a few chickens and roosters walking around. We liked that!
Location: Hiking, zip lines, boat trip to see monkeys, iguanas,birds. Also a waterfall to hike to, sporting activities on Arenal Lake like kayaking. Good town.
The hotel staff recommended excellent things for us to do. One was driving to a dramatic nearby waterfall, and others were nature tours that were absolutely worth it.