Ratings based on 260 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No frills for a fair price

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Convenient location, central to all that the La Fortuna/Arenal area has to offer. Good breakfast and they offer a discount to Baldi Hot Springs
Cons: The internet was ok but sometimes not strong enough to support Facetime which was a pain
Location: Great view of the volcano right from your window if you face that way. Hot springs and hanging bridges a real highlight. Also visited "Proyecto ASIS"
Stayed two nights, everything was as advertised. Nothing fancy but a good price relative to most other options in the area
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Conveniently located, capable staff

Posted Nov 25, 2016
The hotel is within walking distance to a lot of restaurants, within 10-min drive to the La Fortuna Waterfall and most of the well-known hot springs in town, and within 30-min drive to the hanging bridge park (Mistico Park) and the Observatory Lodge which is a good place for hiking to the volcano and the lake. The staff speak English and they are good at planning your trip based on different weather conditions. The room is clean with direct view of the volcano. The bed is comfortable. If you are looking for a five-star hotel experience you may be disappointed but if you are looking for a nice no-nonsense hotel to stay for an outdoor trip, this hotel has great value for your money.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia Beach, VA, U S A

A pleasant hotel, the staff are very friendly.

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: Good location, clean, friendly staff, knowledgeable about the area.
Cons: Could have had a pool. I have no other dislikes except for this app.
Location: Everything is centered around Arenal Volcano and the National Park, many activities, zip lining, rafting, etc.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 4, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A hotel to make your entertainment plans

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Pros: We liked how we were treated, the knowledge, the guidance, the suggestions and their breakfast.
Cons: Nothing specifically at this time.
Location: It was one one of the best locations for planning our daily activities.
For the price we paid, it was very nice to stay at this hotel
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nyc

Friendly staff

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Great place to stay in town. Walkable location. Desafio adventure company was great with all activities as well!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nyc

Close

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Hotel is close to town and activities. It was nice to walk to dinner and close to transportation. Breakfast was pretty good
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nyc

La fortuna

Posted Jul 30, 2016
In the middle of town!! Breakfast was good and staff was friendly
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Jul 29, 2016 on Hotels
La Fortuna is centrally-located which really helps with getting around, checking out the restaurants, and booking day trips. The Wifi and air-con work very well and the staff is very friendly. The breakfast was really nice too. They give you a green band to wear on your wrist - to be recognized for free breakfast and to enter after dark. I did not want to walk around with a band on my wrist (like a prisoner) and they were okay with me keeping it in my pocket. No matter what, I think this concept was a little silly. Overall, we had an excellent stay and I would strongly recommend them.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pasadena, Ca

Downtown

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Tv
This hotel isn't the prettiest but it is walking distance to a lot of restaurants and shops. We had the volcano view but didn't get to see a nice view since it was raining and really foggy. :( other than that the beds are ok and the staff was super helpful with all our questions. The lady at the reception gave us some good tips on the activities we might like and refereed a affordable delicious restaurant around the corner :)