Ratings based on 253 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A hotel to make your entertainment plans

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Pros: We liked how we were treated, the knowledge, the guidance, the suggestions and their breakfast.
Cons: Nothing specifically at this time.
Location: It was one one of the best locations for planning our daily activities.
For the price we paid, it was very nice to stay at this hotel
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nyc

Friendly staff

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Great place to stay in town. Walkable location. Desafio adventure company was great with all activities as well!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nyc

Close

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Hotel is close to town and activities. It was nice to walk to dinner and close to transportation. Breakfast was pretty good
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nyc

La fortuna

Posted Jul 30, 2016
In the middle of town!! Breakfast was good and staff was friendly
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pasadena, Ca

Downtown

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Tv
This hotel isn't the prettiest but it is walking distance to a lot of restaurants and shops. We had the volcano view but didn't get to see a nice view since it was raining and really foggy. :( other than that the beds are ok and the staff was super helpful with all our questions. The lady at the reception gave us some good tips on the activities we might like and refereed a affordable delicious restaurant around the corner :)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

Good hotel in downtown Fortuna

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Hotel La Fortuna is conveniently located in downtown Fortuna and close to Arenal. They had clean, good sized rooms and bathrooms and tasty sumptuous breakfast. The receptionist Mercedes was great at guiding us about places to eat and also offered to watch our bags while we went on a hike after checkout. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a reasonable, basic, clean place to stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Katy, TX

Pleasantly surprised

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Pros: Staff, the location, and all the great accommodations (AC, TV, private bathroom, comfortable bed, and good WiFi).
Location: Downtown La Fortuna. You can shop around for lots of fun activities.
I wasn't looking forward to coming to this hotel after staying at Volcano Lodge and Springs the previous 3 nights but I was honestly very pleasantly surprised by my stay here. The staff (Josuey? not sure how to spell his name) was extremely helpful and friendly and the accommodations were top notch for the price. There was a fully functioning AC in the room (crucial in Costa Rica in June), a TV, a private bathroom w/ shower, comfortable and clean sheets, and GREAT WiFi! I had stayed at 3 other places during my 10 day stay in CR and this place had absolutely the best WiFi; it was even better than the resort I was at previously. Another reason why I loved the stay here was the location; it's RIGHT in downtown La Fortuna so you'll never run out a variety of activities or food during your stay. Also, kind of minor but I would also recommend getting a room with the mountain view, it's absolutely worth the extra $4 a night! Overall, I would 100% recommend this hotel to anyone else considering it and really wouldn't have minded staying here during my entire time in La Fortuna.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Corona, Ca. USA

Very easy to find when arriving at nite. 4 stories

Posted May 16, 2016
Pros: Just about everything for a traveler that needs a budget room to stay. We planned for two days and stayed for four.
Cons: Breakfast was a little boring but sufficed to get each day started on a good note.
Location: Beautiful park, restaurants all over. Best ever Calzones at Luigi's. Rufinos $ but xlnt. Paraiso best deal for zip lining and hot spa pools.
All hotel staff was very helpful and spoke English. Location was perfect as a home base to explore the entire Arenal area for all single day events and excursions. Everything was bleach clean. Our room ( 305 ) had a perfect unobstructed view of the Volcano and a very small balcony, (if you're a smoker) The elevator was perfect if you're handicapped.
4 out of 5
by Darlene from Canada

Great location for your stay in La Fortuna

Posted Apr 28, 2016 on Hotels
Enjoyed our stay once again. Terrific friendly staff who make an effort to remember our names.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from atlanta ga

Good hotel in fortunate

Posted Apr 22, 2016
We stayed at this hotel four days. Breakfast is good to start your day. Mercedes was helpful in getting a room for our party of 3 on weekend. She gets credit for my good experience. Will stay again in future. Hotel is in downtown la fortuna.