Ratings based on 91 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Nice place to stay at a reasonable cost. The breakfast was also nice to have.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Hotel photos nothing like on their hotel site.

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: The reception staff.
Cons: Breakfast.
Location: Excellent position for eating out and surrounding area.
We didn't expect anything brilliant but taking into the fact that it was Costa Rica expected more for our money. The reception staff were very helpful but the breakfast was unsatisfactory. Again we just expected continental but the fruit looked awful, there was only hard toast and dried scrambled egg. We decided to go round the corner to the Rainforest cafe for our coffee and cake in a morning before we went out for the day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Staff and location are superb

Posted Feb 8, 2017
From the moment we arrived the staff were friendly, helpful and made you feel at home. Its not a five star hotel but its well worth every cent. If you are not planning on spending a lot of time in your room its perfect. The breakfast is basic nothing fancy but again the service and attention you receive compensates for this. Manrique, Victor and staff are genuine and will be missed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Convenient hotel in the town centre

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Hotel staff was friendly and polite. Our double room was small but sufficient. However there was a problem with the door lock and we had to try at least 3 or 4 times every day to open the door. There was an air conditioning unit outside our room so was a bit noisy and we had to wear ear plugs to sleep. Hotel offered discounts if booked services through them,e.g. Bus shuttle, Baldi spa. A good hotel to stay in if you do not have your own car and for an affordable price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No frills for a fair price

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Convenient location, central to all that the La Fortuna/Arenal area has to offer. Good breakfast and they offer a discount to Baldi Hot Springs
Cons: The internet was ok but sometimes not strong enough to support Facetime which was a pain
Location: Great view of the volcano right from your window if you face that way. Hot springs and hanging bridges a real highlight. Also visited "Proyecto ASIS"
Stayed two nights, everything was as advertised. Nothing fancy but a good price relative to most other options in the area
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Conveniently located, capable staff

Posted Nov 25, 2016
The hotel is within walking distance to a lot of restaurants, within 10-min drive to the La Fortuna Waterfall and most of the well-known hot springs in town, and within 30-min drive to the hanging bridge park (Mistico Park) and the Observatory Lodge which is a good place for hiking to the volcano and the lake. The staff speak English and they are good at planning your trip based on different weather conditions. The room is clean with direct view of the volcano. The bed is comfortable. If you are looking for a five-star hotel experience you may be disappointed but if you are looking for a nice no-nonsense hotel to stay for an outdoor trip, this hotel has great value for your money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia Beach, VA, U S A

A pleasant hotel, the staff are very friendly.

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: Good location, clean, friendly staff, knowledgeable about the area.
Cons: Could have had a pool. I have no other dislikes except for this app.
Location: Everything is centered around Arenal Volcano and the National Park, many activities, zip lining, rafting, etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A hotel to make your entertainment plans

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Pros: We liked how we were treated, the knowledge, the guidance, the suggestions and their breakfast.
Cons: Nothing specifically at this time.
Location: It was one one of the best locations for planning our daily activities.
For the price we paid, it was very nice to stay at this hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nyc

Friendly staff

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Great place to stay in town. Walkable location. Desafio adventure company was great with all activities as well!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nyc

Close

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Hotel is close to town and activities. It was nice to walk to dinner and close to transportation. Breakfast was pretty good