Ratings based on 95 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 19, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Clive from Escazu

Basic Hotel with no frills and poor service.

Posted Aug 1, 2016 on Hotels
One night in Arenal. Bathroom was dirty, we only were given 2 towels. Beds were uncomfortable. Check in was complicated. We came with a dog as site says dogs welcome and we even called hotel in advance but when we turned up only some rooms allow dogs so took sometime to resolve. We booked this last minute as the first hotel we chose was unacceptable and for this one night they upped their charges on the site for $81 to $250 as it was a holiday weekend !!!!. Poor food not fresh or hot. No response when we raised these issues.
2 out of 5
by Mario

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 26, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Carla from Vancouver, BC, Canada

Not recommended

Posted Apr 14, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel was awful... 1. They had a pool, but no towels were available. Always told to come back later or that they would send some to the room - but no towels ever arrived. 2. Cleaner left our door wide open. She was cleaning room next door. Didn't even notice that I came back to the room to find our camera equipment at risk. 3. Front desk clerk was totally unhelpful for booking tours. 4. First room assigned had a gaping crack at base of door - lots of insects in Costa Rica and while I came to see the wildlife, I didn't want to sleep with it. 5. Wifi only in restaurant 6. Bathroom in terrible shape, ac unit was dripping all night, not worth the price - but it was all that was available at the peak Easter week we traveled. After tracking down manager to complain, he offered us tour at a "low price" or free - but it was one we had already done. There was one tour we did ask for help organizing, he got someone to assist - but no discount was offered. He was open to hearing our issues - it seemed to be a training issue and shortage of staff. We did get a meal in the hotel, which was a nice gesture, but not sufficient for the poor quality of the hotel and service.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City, UT

Posted Mar 23, 2016 on Orbitz
Fan did not work. A/C was working slow . Shower did not have enough power. Water was coming very poor.
3 out of 5
by Mark from Burin

Enjoyed our stay. Amazing view.

Posted Mar 8, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was nice. Amazing view of the Arenal Volcano. Could use new mattresses and pillows(we could feel the springs) but perhaps that is not al of the rooms. No wifi in the rooms, only in the common area. No real reataurant(service depended on hotel capacity). It was very difficult to communicate with the front desk/reception staff as they spoke little to no English, but they did try their best and were very kind(as all Ticos are). It is about a $12 taxi ride down into la fortuna city centre. It sounds like I'm complaining a lot but I don't mean to. Just pointing out some things that would have made out stay slightly more comfortable but overall it was fine for the price. New mattresses and wifi in the rooms and we would have been perfectly content.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fredericton NB Canada

friendly staff n guests, charming, central,

Posted Mar 8, 2016
Charming, safe, friendly staff and guests. Clean lobby garden kitchen and rooms. Very utilitarian with a creative twist. Reliable hot water, laundry hand wash area great breakfast included with free coffee all day. Central to all grocery restaurants tourism offices. Staff will book for you at discounted rates.
5 out of 5
by John

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 24, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Stefan

Hard beds

Posted Dec 31, 2015 on Hotels
Hard beds were uncomfortable
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lavas Tacotal

Posted Dec 31, 2015
Budget hotel with beautiful grounds. Good service Simple breakfast Bed mattress is terrible that need to be replaced