Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel close to town

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Pros: The hotel is ideally located very close to town. And walking distance to few restaurants.
Overall, we were very happy with this hotel. My only concern is some of the hotel staff were not knowledgeable about the local tour rates such as hiking trip at Arenal park.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Alec from Chicago

Resort room at hotel prices

Posted Jun 2, 2015 on Hotels
The staff was extremely helpful and courteous. Our first room didn't have a king bed and they switched us, no problem. The second room had a broken air conditioner and, again, they switched us no problem. Very good experience. Pool and hot tubs are beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by gabriella

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 2, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Marvin from Pérez Zeledón

Posted May 18, 2015 on Hotels
La atención muy amable y cordial, las habitaciones bastante confortables, aseadas y cómodas, la verdad pienso volver a ese hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great Hotel

Posted May 15, 2015
Pros: Nice Hotel and great Location.
Location: Walking distant from restaurants and grocery store.
We enjoyed our stay, employees where very friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Old and not clean

Posted May 14, 2015 on Hotels
We mostly didn't like it because it wasn't very clean. We got a room with a jacuzzi but never used it bc it was dirty. Our pillows smelled of mold and I slept with a t-shirt on top of it to avoid the smell. It's old and in need of a renovation. None of the taps work properly, a lot of details missing in the bathroom. The restaurant also looks old and I had a huge hair on my plate at dinner. Breakfast had good fresh fruits. It's a taxi ride away from the center, which costs 1$ per person. In general the staff was nice. The swimming pool area was pretty, we didn't use it bc it was raining all the time (never saw the volcano either).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Esterillos Oeste CR

Nice hotel, staff and restaurant needs some work

Posted May 7, 2015
Pros: Comfy bed, beautiful gardens, quiet
Cons: Front desk staff, concierge, restaurant (menu, food, pricing)
We stayed at Magic Mountain for 2 days of our trip to the Lake Arenal area. Great location - near La Fortuna for dining and shops and close to the hot springs resorts, short drive to park entrance and the lake. Safe, clean, quiet area. Hotel check-in was a huge disappointment. I book a room for 2 adults and 1 child on Expedia - pre-paid. Upon check-in, I was told I had paid for only 2 guests and that I would need to pay for the 3rd upon check-out, and she could only tell me it would "be around $20-$30". I showed her my Expedia email confirmation later on showing I had paid and she tried to argue with me that Expedia didn't charge enough - not my problem. The other issue was with the concierge guy. He constantly tried to sell us tours. Not only were they over-priced, but they didn't even offer a lot of what is available - only the tours they get kick-backs for. Book them online yourself or go to one of the MANY independent tour kiosks available. The room itself was comfortable. Great beds, comfortable pillows, cold AC. We had to ask for enough towels for 3 people and we had to kill a roach. Otherwise, no complaints about the room. Breakfast was included and was so-so. We didn't dine at the restaurant because of the very limited and expensive menu options. I'd recommend staying here, but make sure you have your confirmation and DON'T book tours here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 3, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sergey from москва

отзыв

Posted Apr 30, 2015 on Hotels
Небольшой, уютный отель. Удачное расположение,ориентирован таким образом, что вид из всех номеров на гору Арена. Рядом горячие источники, парк Арена. Имеется парковка для автомобиля. В целом приятное впечатление от пребывания в отеле.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee, WI

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Only stayed here briefly, overnight to sleep, but the staff was very friendly and helpful and the room was comfortable. The pool and patio looked inviting but we were off for other adventures early in the morning. The buffet breakfast was good. Location in La Fortuna was also good.