Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Panama

A bit overpriced

Posted Nov 27, 2016
The hotel was really outdated and thus, overpriced. The worse thing was the mold and mildew on the walls. The staff was really friendly and eager to serve. The best part of this hotel is that it is next door to the "Mi Casa" restaurant - an absolute fine dining experience - we ate there 3 times (on a one night hotel stay).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Decent hotel

Posted Mar 31, 2016
Pros: Rooms were clean. Proximity to everything was nice. Easy to get in and out. Supermarket and restaurants nearby.
Cons: Road noise was a slight issue (some might be too bothered by it).
The hotel was decent, the rooms were clean. It was on the highway, so the proximity to everything was nice. Easy to get in and out. Supermarket and restaurants nearby. Road noise was a slight issue (some might be too bothered by it). Overall, nice value for the price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SK

Overall decent sleep for one or two night stay

Posted Mar 8, 2016
The staff was very friendly and offered suggestions about the area and what to do and see. The beds were comfortable enough for a short stay but may hurt the back after that as the mattresses were a little basic. Breakfast was included and was delicious.. Also very great service. We didn't use the pool or hot tub but it looked like it was in good shape and others seemed to be enjoying it. Overall a good place to stay for a great price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good view of volcano, but a lot of traffic noise.

Posted Feb 12, 2016
Room was decent for the price. Pretty good free breakfast. Disappointed the jacuzzi wasn't working. Close to falls and volcano.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kelowna, BC Canada

La Fortuna

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Pros: The wonderful staff and the breakfast.
Location: The hotel is 2km out of La Forturna. There is a store across the road. It is close to Hot springs and tour booking office.
Small hotel 2km from La Fortuna. Great breakfast included at the restaurant next to hotel. The staff were very helpful in booking my tours and cab.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Well located, excellent view

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Pros: Location and how clean it is
Cons: Maybe improve facilities for handicapped, first floor rooms are quite accesible, bathrooms may need bars to help those with physical problems
Location: Fortuna is a Hot Spring town with hot water from the volcano, but there is plenty to do from rafting, horseback ridding, jungle exploration, spas.
The place is fairly new, rooms are huge, can accommodate easily 4 persons in double beds. Bathroom is clean and comfortable. The view from the rooms is direct to the volcano. The hotel is close to everything. The staff is quite helpful. The breakfast is beyond the normal continental and offers typical, american, continental, etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Nice and clean small hotel at the volcano foothill

Posted Dec 30, 2014
Pros: Great nice hotel.
Hotel Vista del Cerro is a nice small hotel at the Arenal volcano foothill. The front desk staff was friendly and attentive. The room was clean and spacious. We had a little problem in the ceiling. The owner and staff were very responsive and fixed the problems quickly. We did encounter a bit surprise during check-in. When we made the reservation with Expedia, we entered the ages of children correctly and prepaid the room price. At check-in time, the staff told us that the children are considered adults and we were asked to pay additional. Overall it was a nice hotel. Next to it there is a small restaurant Mi Casa - very convenient and great food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from houston

Good value for the money.

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Good view of the Arenal volcano from the hotel. Room was spacious and clean, though the wifi signal in the room was weak, worked fine when we stepped out to the balcony. The hotel is a few km from downtown and La Fortuna waterfall. Staff is very pleasant. Will definitely there stay if we visit again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Christine from Toronto, Canada

Great location

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Pros: the location and also the staff.
Location: shop at red rooster souvenir, Roy (the owner) is wonderful and he sells coffee beans for $4.50. Also eat the chicken restaurant next door.
The hotel is centrally located between La Fortuna and Arenal. Lots of stores including a supermarket across the street from the hotel. Rebecca from reception was very helpful and friendly. She helped us a lot. The hotel is located on the main road which means it's very noisy. If you have problems sleeping, I do not recommend this hotel for you. You can hear each car passing by.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carlos from Miami, FL, USA

perfect get away...

Posted Apr 5, 2013
Pros: cleanliness, and nice little garden behind the hotel, got some good birds pics there....
Cons: wi fi was not that good in the room
Location: perfect location for a vacation...
excelent! 5 minutes away from la fortuna downtown, in front of a supermarket and close to everything... nice breakfast by the way...