Ratings based on 71 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Budget hotel outside of La Fortuna

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: The staff, the breakfast and the cleanliness
Cons: For the price, nothing
Location: La Fortuna is 5 minutes away and from there the Arenal volcano is another 15 min
Our stay was very pleasant. The room was very clean upon our arrival. The breakfast was delicious and typical of Costa Rica. All of the staff went out of their way to be helpful. Bernie was cheerful, efficient and a wonderful host. Thank you for making the first part of our trip memorable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Third World Jungle Hotel

Posted Feb 28, 2014
This place is truly terrible. The hotel had no rooms when we checked in at 6pm so they put us up into suite that was still being build. The place had no hot water, the lighting fixtures in the bathroom were hanging from the ceiling by bare wires, the beds were iron military type single beds with three inch matresses, various construction debris was in the kitchen, and mosquitos abounded. The hotel is located 6km from any restaurant. Although their website says they have one, we didn't see one. The hotel manager offered to have us eat with her family but that was not what we were looking for. We left after 30 minutes of exploring the place and found another hotel in La Fortuna. Both Expedia and the hotel were useless in making any compensation to right our experience. The hotel refused to refund our money and Expedia said they were not responsible for the false information in their advertisements for this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very close to advanture park: zip lines, horse etc

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Nice hotel especially for family with kids. My son was so happy with all different type of swings (tarzan) and swimming pool
2 out of 5
by Lisa from Costa Rica

Very moderate hotel. Looks nicer in pictures

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Pros: Berny was awesome. So friendly and sweet. The cleaning ladies were also really nice.
Cons: Update decor in the rooms, fix stuff that doesn't work or is broken
Location: 10 minute drive or hour walk to Fortuna. Nothing really around the hotel at all.
I was quite disappointed with this hotel, especially since it's about a 10 minute drive from Fortuna with no views whatsoever. I think it was overpriced for what we got. Our room was very, very basic with mis-matched decor. Our shower was missing the hot water knob. There were just many things in the room that looked extremely outdated or poorly put together. The pool was dirty--breakfast very basic, but ok. No possibility of getting anything to drink or eat at all besides at breakfast. Would not recommend this hotel. I've stayed at others much nicer, closer to town, for far less.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible place

Posted Jan 6, 2014
Bad service. Didn't have even coffee machine in room! Very disappointed expedia!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joan from Salt Lake City

Friendly and quiet

Posted Jan 6, 2014
Our host, Mario was very friendly and accommodating to our late arrival and late checkout. The grounds are beautiful and in the jungle. Great hospitality, great breakfast and lunch offered as we checked out late. Individualized personal care. Thank you, The Aratas
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 3, 2014
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too costly for what you get

Posted Dec 26, 2013
Very simple room, Breakfast - almost no food, few things
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 7, 2013
Pros: Free wifi, clean room.
Cons: Air conditioner.
Very noisy air conditioner is in the room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ron from omaha

The manager is very helpful and friendly

Posted Jul 26, 2013
Pros: The staff were very nice.
Cons: It would have been nice to have a chair to go with the table in the room. Also some rooms had a bench outside the room for sitting in the evening, our
Location: Near the El Arenal national park and volcano
The hotel is nice. The price for the room was fair. The staff were friendly and accomodating. The room was in need of some updating, but was comfortable. The grounds were very nice. Overall it was a pleasant stay.