Ratings based on 176 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 5, 2016 on Hotels
This was a last minute booking so I didn't do a lot of research. Dirt road to get to the hotel but found it ok. No problems getting checked in but the place reminded me of some old fishing cabin. Not a very clean room and it smelled a bit musty. It was quiet there which was good. The big surprise when I woke the next morning at 5am was that there was no hot water for the shower! Talking to some of the locals they seem to take cold showers but for the price of the hotel, I expected a hot shower. Due to the overall condition and lack of hot water for the price, I decided not to stay the second night. Unfortunately they wouldn't refund the cost for the second night.
2 out of 5
by Reena

Posted Jan 5, 2016 on Hotels
Beds were dirty, No hot water. Air Conditioner did not work. Basically, whatever they provided (which was not much) did not work.......:(
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beware of what you are getting.

Posted Jan 4, 2016
This is a place to sleep. We had no hot water. Located off the beaten path down a gravel road. Not really what we would expect from an American point of view. Please try another facility. I cant imagine anyone really being happy staying here..
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Seemed over-priced for a tiny room, an iffy air conditioner and plain food at the "restaurant". It was definitely "okay" but expensive and NOT in LA Fortuna as advertised!
1 out of 5
by Grace from San Francisco, CA

Overpriced for what it offers

Posted Jan 2, 2016 on Hotels
I would like to warn future travelers about the condition of this hotel. I paid $133 per night for a 3 night stay totaling $450 at this hotel. I knew this hotel was not going to be a fancy one, but given the reviews and the price I paid, I thought it would be bearable. Upon arrival, I already wanted to leave. Unfortunately, I already paid $450. Let me try my best to describe the room condition. The bed is very uncomfortable - the bed sheet is thin as paper and the pillows are small and thin. There is only one nightstand and the other side of the bed is probably 10cm to the wall - so one of us had to climb to the bottom of the bed to get on and off. One chair in the room has a super dirty cushion. The rug in the bathroom seemed dirty and worn out. Two towels and one hand towel are offered; all of them are clean but super worn out. The shower head is not bad, but I suspect the shower floor was not cleaned. The air conditioner is super old and almost falling out of the wall. It is very noisy and barely functional. With humidity at 90% plus and temperature at 85F+, we had very miserable 3 nights stay. I feel bad leaving a terrible review becuase all the staff are very friendly, even though they don't speak much English. However, this hotel probably should only cost $30, not $130.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awful room, awful breakfast.

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Better to forget it. This hotel is not good and definitely too expensive.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Broken bed. Very basic room. It is not worth almost $200/day rate.
3 out of 5
by Robert from Puyallup, Wa

not as nice as before

Posted Apr 25, 2015 on Hotels
We had stayed there about a year ago. It was quaint and quiet. The owner spoke some English. This time there was no one on staff that could speak English. I speak some Spanish, but it needs more work. The place was not as well maintained as before and we lost water in our unit for a few hours, think toilet.
1 out of 5
by Nicholas from United States

Over-priced Lavas Hotel

Posted Mar 3, 2015 on Hotels
Way over-priced and in a remote location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: It is in a nice natural very quiet area. Good breakfast service.
Cons: provide a turn around for the vehicle.
Location: Location is a little out of Town. Nice scenery need to have a vehicle to access and go around the town. There is a local bus service available but we
Quiet place and natural setting. Need transportation to get anywhere. friendly staff.