Ratings based on 352 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MN

Nice & close to volcano & La Fortunate.

Posted Feb 17, 2016
Staff was vey helpful and arranged several tours and hikes for us. Food was 1st class. Beds needed to be upgraded though.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 5, 2016 on Hotels
Muy bien. Buen trato del personal. Excelente vista del volcán. Delicioso el ceviche de atún.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 1, 2016
The place was absolutely wonderful… Much better than I expected since I had never been to the hotel before. The place is very well landscaped and delightful.
5 out of 5
by Gloria from Washington DC

Posted Jan 20, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful! The view of the volcano was amazing. We enjoyed the adorable Coati "Poncho" during breakfast and had an easy time navigating between our hotel and the sights in town. Booked a zipline tour with the hotel that was incredible. Highly recommend!
1 out of 5
by Kelsey from USA

Do Not Stay!

Posted Jan 12, 2016 on Hotels
Do not stay here! We booked an economy room-arrived to find no lights worked. Someone came and fixed this with what appeared to be a 10 watt bulb. Then, 3 minutes into my shower all hot water shuts off and does not come back. Another maintenance person comes and tells me that anytime I want hot water I need to wait 20 minutes. **Bathroom has permanently open windows so there are always bugs all over everything. Also, a gross smell for the duration of our trip. I started using the reception bathroom instead, but this too had dead bugs covering the vanity and huge moths on the walls. The walls of our room had large stains from killing the huge black moths. Disgusting. We each got 1 pillow and combined 1 hand towel-when our room was serviced this hand towel was taken and not replaced. Finally, there was a flyer in our room offering massages and facials; my husband tried to book one to surprise me and the desk looked up our room number and told him he couldn't book one because our room was too small...no offer to relocate the service or apology. Why was the flyer in our room in the first place?? In total-dingy, buggy, gross, camping-like experience for a high price. My husband compared it to a cheap hostel. I would love a total or partial refund, the entire thing was greatly disappointing.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 26, 2015
Gute Lage mit perfektem Ausblick auf den Vulkan, schöne Bungalows in tollem Garten, durchschnittliches Frühstück
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from monte verde

terrible staff

Posted Nov 26, 2015
Pros: Bad experience
Cons: Better managers
After a tiring journey to the hotel,in spite of confirmed reservations was told the hotel was overbooked and booted to a second grade hotel, no apologies, no respect for how tired we were after traveling for 6 hours ,kicked out from the door and not allowed to enter the lobby Manager never had the courage to meet with me and apologise many beautiful hotels around would give this one a skip Never has this happened to me in 35 years and the booking was done 6 months ago and confirmed the day before Not a word that they were overbooked so be ready for disappointments if you check into this hotels.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Peaceful and beautiful

Posted Nov 21, 2015
We stayed one night only but wished we could have stayed another night. We didn't get a chance to walk around the property but saw a few a animals. Private bungalows are very nice inside and out and well maintained. Breakfast was fantastic (eggs made on the spot however you like... omelette, sunside up, etc). There is a 1km dirt road after entering the property to get to reception. We had heavy rain the night we arrive and that road got washed away. We had to wait about an hour before they were able to pile enough dirt to make it driveable. Other than that,we highly recommend staying here.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from santa monica

Tranquil setting at base of Volcano

Posted Nov 15, 2015
Pros: Food, solitude, views.
Cons: Access road a little rough. Sometimes tour groups can be a little overpowering
Location: National parks, walking, spa, adventure activities.
Beautiful quiet setting up a rough 1 mile road. Stand alone rooms are large and well appointed with large bathrooms, twin balconies and good air conditioning. Resort is a distance from town so reasonably isolated at resort if not prepared to take taxis or tackle a steep, rough walk. Nice bar, good food (fresh food for breakfast) and friendly staff. Good range of tours can be booked. Go for the stand alone suites. Great view of volcano when clouds lift.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 8, 2015
The perfect hut-style hotel to stay close to nature. Very clean hotel and friendly staff. Nice view of the volcano.