Ratings based on 357 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Place and great view.

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Location: La fortunis is great and there is a lot to do.
Would have gotten a 4/5 but one of the overheadlights was out and we reported it and they did not fix it before we left so the place was very dim the entire time we would there.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

Posted Sep 15, 2016
The location was great and the staff were super nice.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 7, 2016
My wife and I loved staying at this hotel because it was really quite and the staff was really helpful and it was clean. The food was great I loved it.
5 out of 5
by Faezeh from Maryland, USA

Staying in Paradise!

Posted Aug 15, 2016 on Hotels
We enjoyed our recent stay at Lomas del Volcan. The room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast and other meals at the restaurant were fresh and delicious. The best part was a group of nice, thoughtful and courteous staff (reception, restaurant, etc.). We will return to this paradise soon!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

broke my arm

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Pros: no comment
Cons: they know as i already told them
Location: no comment
broke my arm on this property. excruciating pain. had to drive back to san jose 3 hours with 1 arm. i have wasted a whole week of my life so far waiting in emergency rooms and doctors offices. now months of physical therapy and possible surgery to follow. all of this unnecessary pain and suffering just so this hotel could save a few dollars on their electric bill. also destroyed my camera ($300) during the fall onto stone tiles. to the credit of the hotel management, they did offer to drive me to the hospital. i declined their offer however as i was in such excruciating pain i could hardly move. also, to the hotel's credit, nelson at the front desk did call to make sure i was still alive and to try to see if he could convince me to let them take me to the hospital.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Felton, CA

Very nice...a couple of requests to management

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: The night bar tender was our favorite staff member. Super friendly and made my 8 yr. old the best virgin pina colada ever. She still raves about it!
First off, we really loved the property and would definitely recommend it. The grounds are immaculately kept and the bungalows are really nice. You have a sense of privacy that you don't get in a traditional hotel. Each unit has a nice back patio that is protected from the rain and sun. The views of the volcano are great. My family really enjoyed the jungle train up the mountain. Breakfast was very good. We had a few things we thought could be improved: - Allow guests to open windows and install screens. Was told windows locked for security, but allow guests to secure from inside and enjoy the fresh air. - The cleaning staff uses something with a strong fragrance. It was a bit too much for us. - The hot tub should be a bit warmer to be a "hot" tub. Pool is already very cool, so make the hot tub hot. - The front desk staff seemed a bit hesitant to be helpful at times. For instance, I asked to make change for a 10mil. bill and it was not until I said it was for the wait staff that he agreed. I was not clear if this was a personality issue or an empowerment issue. - Our room did not have a room guide. It would have been nice to look up the restaurant hours, pool hours, know how to use the telephone, order room service, etc.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from miami

Try to take your money

Posted Jun 20, 2016
Told me my daughter that is 9 was an adult and had to pay an extra 70 dollars
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Pleasant Stay. Great view of volcano.

Posted May 5, 2016
Pros: Somewhat secluded (away from the main road). Clearly a lot of guests were registered but it never seemed crowded.
Cons: The beds were very firm. The second night we were exhausted and slept better.
Location: Anything Arenal and Fortuna is within a few minutes drive. Hanging bridges, Frog Tours, Zip Lines etc etc
We stayed for two nights at Lomas Del Volcan during a our two week trip around Costa Rica. It was convenient located to Fortuna and short drive to Arenal Park as well as Mistico. Plenty of parking available for our rented SUV. We found the reception staff to be very welcoming. In addition to the check-in they quickly arranged for a guided evening tour. The room was spacious and more than adequate for our needs. The included breakfast was likewise more than adequate with a decent offering of dishes to suit most tastes/diets.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lomas del Volcan was excellent!

Posted Apr 22, 2016
Pros: The cabins located around the property were great. They were clean and spacious. The porch was an excellent spot to listen to the birds.
We had a wonderful time in Arenal and our stay at Lomas del Volcan was perfect. The view of the volcano was beautiful and the cabins were excellent. The staff was very helpful with coordinating excursions.
5 out of 5
by Morten

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 8, 2016 on Hotels