Ratings based on 281 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Nice boutique resort lodge

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Had a wonderful time at the Lost Iguana. Helpful staff, beautiful location with on site trails and a very clean property. It is a little bit isolated so a rental car is recommended to get around.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Disappointing. Not at all worth what you pay. The staff were polite and friendly, but we had a sense that no one really cared if we were there or not. The room was clean. The food average. Given some of the other options in Arenal, we would not stay here again (and we do plan to return). On a separate note, rent a car. It's very difficult to tour the area without one.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Best Vacation Ever

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: Everything, specially the golf cart transportation and the FOOD.
Cons: N/A
Location: La Fortuna is a beautiful city filled with plenty of activities for tourists such as Hot Springs, ATV Riding, Hanging Bridges, Fishing in Lake Arenal
The staff was incredible, the food exquisite, the array of plants and animals inside the resort, the silence, and beauty was divine. I would love to go again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from OH

Nice place with View to die for

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: Trails. Proximity to town. The views
My wife and I spent 2 nights here on our adventure thru CR. The room was clean and very nice with the perfect view of volcano. We seen it perfect as we arrived with clear sky's .. although after that it was cloudy and a bit of rain which didn't damper us one bit. The clouds one day looked like a mushroom around the top of Arenal which looked pretty impressive. Seen many birds on site that we didn't see anywhere else in CR. We ate dinner at the restaurant which is just a bit over priced and mediocre on the taste buds as we had a couple pasta dishes. The ceviche is made with ginger and is the best ceviche we had during our visit. Very on point! Close to La Fortuna which was nice .. maybe 30 minute drive. Had some delicious empanadas in town which were the best we had during our stay for 9 days. We did the night tour on their trail with Diego ... he was very nice and informative about the culture and wildlife. He was able to spot frogs and spiders that amazes me that he seen. We seen an owl and heard another one hooting back and forth ... which Diego mentioned that he has never seen one on the property before and he was really excited to spot it. I would recommend to others and for sure stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Welcome to Jurassic Park

Posted Mar 12, 2017
The resort was beautiful, food was delicious, and the property was extraordinary. The way it's designed makes you feel like you're in the middle of the rainforest, except with the comfort of a nice restaurant, one of the best spa experiences you'll ever have, and a swim up bar in a heated pool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Schomberg Ontario

Beautiful secluded hotel

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Pros: View from our room was amazing. Staff were very friendly. Did not get a chance to use the spa, but it looked very nice.
Cons: Hard to improve. Very nice hotel.
Location: Hotel is very quiet, not for people looking for night life. You're there for the views and nature. Lots to see and do 10-15 minute drive away.
The hotel is a little off the beaten path, so if you want to leave the resort, a car is essential. Hotel was very nice, staff was very friendly, and our room had an awesome view of the volcanoes. Pool area was lovely, but rarely used it as it rained quite a bit while we were there. The bar music was a little loud. The Blue Hibiscus restaurant was very nice, though a little pricey. Overall we would recommend staying here, just make sure you have transportation. P.S. The Hanging Bridges park next door was well worth the price. Wear running shoes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dayton, nv

Very easy to get to

Posted Mar 7, 2017
We chose this hotel not only for price but location. We had a view of the volcano right outside our window. The only complaint would be the breakfast selection was limited and the restaurant alittle pricey. Steak dinner for me and my husband with soup, a water and a beer was $130. Otherwise, great place. I don't normally comment on housekeeping, but they left the place immaculate. Must do is Rio Celeste. Just don't let your Garmin take you down the road to the springs resort. NOT a road!!! Go in the entrance off hwy 6.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston area

Beautiful hotel in the Jungle!

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Absolutely loved this hotel. Beautiful, clean, friendly staff, and convenient to arenal volcano.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Durham, CT

We were thrilled with this hotel. A++++

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Pros: Honestly everything. Wouldn't change a thing.
Cons: The only problem in room number 1 was the toilet rocked a bit and needs to be pulled up and reinstalled.
Location: Arenal Volcano self hike. Tabacon thermal springs-incredible. Mistico hanging bridges-so cool and educational. Lake Arenal. Hiking on property.
We were in room number 1. It's downstairs and had a gorgeous view of Arenal. We had an outside shower (so cool!) and a jet tub outside just off of the patio. The plants and flowers were so beautiful. We had hummingbirds visit everyday. We saw Toucans just above our outdoor shower. Awesome! The food was perfection-not kidding! The Poblano soup was so good I ordered 3x. Breakfast (included) was a fantastic spread. The best of all the hotels we stayed in. Everything so fresh and well prepared. The servers put out fruit and the animals and birds come eat with you:-) The staff at this hotel were wonderful. So friendly and helpful. The Spa was dreamy at night. The hotel had a special package available and Leticia did a deep tissue massage for me (she's amazing!!!). The therapy rooms sit out on a boardwalk near rushing water and each has a fireplace in a clay style oven so between the water, the fire and the sound of jungle night life it was a pretty magical experience. Do not pass up the chance to enjoy it. There are countless hikes you can do on the property. The pools are nice. One is small and heated with a swim up bar and the other is larger and not heated. We used both. The grounds are stunning and we loved the location up in the mountains and away from busier towns. Mistico park is right next door-so fun! We did the rainforest hike with Donald who was wonderful...especially with children. Arenal lake and the Volcano Park are also close. LOVED Lost Iguana. Can't wait to return
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BURLINGTON, CANADA

Excellent view of ARENAL VOLCANO

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Located in a Rainforest with a heated pool with a swim up bar. The staff here were very friendly, the rooms nice and clean with great shower.
Cons: the menu could be a bit more expanded, although it has a nice variety. I had the stuffed TILAPIA which was very good.
Location: TABACON springs nearby -- VERY CLOSE to the HANGING BRIDGES; TABACON hot springs, ARENAL VOLCANO park, LAKE ARENAL.
Beautiful JUNGLE resort with an incredible view of the ARENAL volcano right outside of our patio. The hotel is about 20 klm's out of LA FORTUNA - I would definitely come back. We only had a standard room as the deluxe rooms were already booked. I heard these deluxe rooms were quite nice with outdoor private showers. Our room had 2 double beds and was quite nice - but would have preferred the deluxe room. The views are great all around the resort - the heated pool is really nice after a long day of exploring or hiking or whatever - open until 10pm with a swim up bar. The only issue could be that most of the rooms are up and down hills which could be a bit of a challenge for some patrons - but you can ask for their golf cart to take you to your room. We opted to walk the beautiful path among the forest. The restaurant had breakfast included - including fresh omelets. The staff was accommodating and friendly - rooms clean - nice restaurant. Very close to the "HANGING BRIDGES" - but need a car if you want to go to other restaurants. Most of these hotels outside of LA FORTUNA are the same way ..but this one has a unique RAIN FORREST jungle setting - with birds flying around and a great view while of the VOLCANO having breakfast in the restaurant.