Ratings based on 218 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by charles from baltimore, md

Paradise

Posted Feb 29, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent location isolated from the other resorts. It was worth the extra drive in the rental car. Fantastic view of the Arenal volcano from our room. The staff and food was excellent. Very quiet atmosphere. The rural trail right on the property was very good. Found Howler monkeys during my walk.
5 out of 5
by Louise

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 14, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Georgia from SC

Lovely Property with Great On-Site Trails

Posted Feb 11, 2016 on Hotels
Secluded location with gorgeous, well-kept grounds. Extremely accommodating staff. The on-site hiking trails are a huge plus, as is the easy (though uphill) walk from the hotel to Mystico hanging bridges. Hotel should provide better signage from the Arenal main road to navigate up the pitch-dark hill: provide directional arrows /distance and make clear it is uphill past the cell tower and all the many (confusing) signs for Arenal Lodge-- please put up a sign on the dark uphill road that says "Lost Iguana." Guests will be well rewarded once they reach you, but it is very difficult in the dark without signage.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ann Arbor, Michigan

Beautiful setting and comfortable rooms

Posted Jan 17, 2016
Pros: Views and setting
Cons: Staff were not as forthcoming about the activities to do n the area as they could have been.
Location: Zip lining, boating, hiking
We really enjoyed Lost Iguana. The setting was beautiful,the rooms were lovely and he restaurant was reasonably priced and ver good. The staff were very nice and generally helpful. The hotel may not be for everyone because it is somewhat remote from activities and the rooms are generally a steep climb from the restaurant. But, we found it beautiful and restful. There was so much to see just from the balcony of the room and the views were spectacular. We also enjoyed the hikes right on the property. While we had to travel at least 20 minutes to do anything, we felt that was an advantage not a detriment.
5 out of 5
by Lilian Kos from São Paulo

Maravilhoso

Posted Jan 11, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel maravilhoso, dentro da mata com muito conforto
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA USA

Beautiful Getaway

Posted Jan 6, 2016
A beautiful resort! Room was very spacious - we got a view of the volcano. Staff were very attentive and friendly. Restaurant was nice and they served good food for breakfast and dinner. We were there for New Year's Eve and the dinner and entertainment was phenomenal - the dinner buffet was delicious and the musicians played amazing music! After dinner, they had a DJ and at midnight we were pleasantly surprised by fireworks and dancers. We had such a blast! We would definitely recommend this place to anyone!
5 out of 5
by Jared

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 5, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 25, 2015
Very pleasant stay with beautiful grounds..Food was a little overpriced as there is only one restaurant, however the complimentary fantastic breakfast made up for it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay in the rainforest

Posted Dec 12, 2015 on Hotels
spectacular grounds - on the side of a hill in the rainforest (steep walk around the property but worth it). Food was generally very good and restaurant staff were lovely. Bed was very comfortable and balcony views were great when whether was good enough to see out. I would nearly give the hotel five stars except that we came from the Azul Ocean Club, where all of the desk and other staff at the resort went the extra mile in every way - this did not stack up by comparison.
5 out of 5
by Gordon from Ft. Lauderdale

Amazing

Posted Dec 10, 2015 on Hotels
One of the coolest places we've ever stayed.