Ratings based on 281 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Granite Bay, CA, USA

Utterly beautiful setting and unbelievable grounds

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: Setting, location
Location: Mystico park, volcano, lake Arenal and Hot Springs nearby
Came in at night, had no idea what to expect. Woke to the most unbelievable view of Arenal Volcano, and the setting was fantastic. Breakfast was wonderful as well, staff couldn't have been more helpful. Walking trails were phenomenal!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Beautiful, remote and luxuriously rustic resort located right in the rainforest with amazing views of the Arenal Volcano.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nj

exploring the volcano

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: everything
Cons: bugs
Location: great
the hotel and facilities where beautiful. spa was really special. breakfast was excellent. dinner ok. you definitely don't need tp pay for a tour when hiking, very safe. the only problem was invasion of beatles at night. don't leave lights on or doors open. we loved it. best place we've been in costa rica so far.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Good hotel for Arenal stay

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Stayed here for 2 nights. It's a smaller hotel (maybe 40 rooms). Pool area is small but nice with a swim bar and bathrooms nearby. Restaurant is tasty and affordable. Not much to do around the hotel so definitely plan excursions. Staff was always very responsive and willing to help with anything. The area is beautiful and you truly get to experience the rainforest and nature here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bozeman, Montana

exotic hotel in jungle

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: room, grounds, pools
Location: close to Arenal park
stayed one night but wish we could have stayed longer. Beautiful room with great views of Mt. Arenal and jungle right out our back porch. Pools were very nice and restaurant had good food with excellent staff. Took a hike on resort trails next morning-lots of birds, flowers-will stay again when back in the area. Thanks for everything!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Maine

This is a gem of a property

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Pretty much everything. Location! Style! Staff! Food! The extensive trails and beauty of the property really set it apart from others in the area.
Cons: I gave a 4 for room comfort because the bed was just OK. There was a/c & a dehumidifier in the room which was great because this area of CR is humid!
Location: The extensive trails onsite! Hanging Bridges is right next door. Hire a guide at the front desk- you will see and learn way more than if on your own.
This is a gem of a property. For the value, location and style. It's right down the road from the Hanging Bridges park and about 30 minutes from La Fortuna on a paved road/easy drive- closer to Liberia which is a plus if you are coming from that airport. We booked late and it was during Holy Week which is peak season in CR. This place may have been full, but we didn't feel the slightest bit crowded. We wanted an authentic resort with a local feel plus amenities, and this was certainly it. From the wood carvings on the room doors to the pretty winding paths connecting the blocks of rooms, you absolutely know you are in Costa Rico when you stay here. We had a beautiful view of the volcano from our room and saw two toucans fly right by our balcony one afternoon! The staff was super friendly and all the details were cared for with thoughtful touches like umbrellas in the room and a daily happy hour. Tours were easily booked via email prior to arrival or at the front desk. The breakfast was very good with an egg station and local offerings as well. We had Diego as a guide for the hikes- he was exceptional- incredibly knowledgeable about all the wildlife. We saw pretty much everything we wanted to see between doing the hanging bridges hike & the onsite property trails. Monkeys, eyelash pit vipers, red dart frogs, anteater, leaf cutter ants, humming birds, a sloth, an eagle, tons of beautiful flowers and vegetation and more!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Island, NY

AMAZING Staff

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Very nice Staff.
Cons: The doors to the patio have cracks large enough for a cockroach to get through
Location: Arenal has a lot to do. Mistico a park nearby was one of our favorite places we zip lined, rode horses, Zorbed and walked on Hanging Bridges
The staff at the restaurant and housecleaning were very nice helpful and intuitive. They knew their way around the place and did their job Perfectly!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, Canada

Great hotel very close to the Hanging Bridges

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: Large room, bed was extremely comfortable, the Spa was absolutely fantastic, located right next to the Hanging Bridges.
Cons: Not sure how suitable it is for those that can't climb steps or steep hills.pool area should be kept cleaner, they should sweep walkways each day.
Location: Close to Hanging Bridges and other outdoor attractions. Short drive to La Fortuna..
This hotel is just wonderful. Reception staff are very pleasant. Rooms are extremely comfortable (King Bed), Outdoor shower, very nice sitting area with view of the Volcano (when it's not cloudy or raining:))
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Nice hotel, in the rainforest

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Pros: Privacy and incorporation of the outdoors into the hotel room and facilities on site. Really liked the hiking trail thru the rainforest.
Cons: No complaints
Location: Nearby La Fortuna and El Castillo, lots to do. Definitely recommend a visit to Eco Termanales, and the butterfly garden in El Castello.
We had a very relaxing visit, very secluded, in the rainforest, far enough outside of town to be able to enjoy the serenity and nature.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 27, 2017
We had a great experience with the hotel. Private location, good stuff.