Ratings based on 200 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ann Arbor, Michigan

Beautiful setting and comfortable rooms

Posted Jan 17, 2016
Pros: Views and setting
Cons: Staff were not as forthcoming about the activities to do n the area as they could have been.
Location: Zip lining, boating, hiking
We really enjoyed Lost Iguana. The setting was beautiful,the rooms were lovely and he restaurant was reasonably priced and ver good. The staff were very nice and generally helpful. The hotel may not be for everyone because it is somewhat remote from activities and the rooms are generally a steep climb from the restaurant. But, we found it beautiful and restful. There was so much to see just from the balcony of the room and the views were spectacular. We also enjoyed the hikes right on the property. While we had to travel at least 20 minutes to do anything, we felt that was an advantage not a detriment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA USA

Beautiful Getaway

Posted Jan 6, 2016
A beautiful resort! Room was very spacious - we got a view of the volcano. Staff were very attentive and friendly. Restaurant was nice and they served good food for breakfast and dinner. We were there for New Year's Eve and the dinner and entertainment was phenomenal - the dinner buffet was delicious and the musicians played amazing music! After dinner, they had a DJ and at midnight we were pleasantly surprised by fireworks and dancers. We had such a blast! We would definitely recommend this place to anyone!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 25, 2015
Very pleasant stay with beautiful grounds..Food was a little overpriced as there is only one restaurant, however the complimentary fantastic breakfast made up for it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 4, 2015
Excellent resort in the middle of the rain forest. It was great experience staying at the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Jungle Hideaway Boutique Hotel

Posted Nov 22, 2015
Cons: Have Spa Sauna fired up and working.
Beautiful hotel in privileged tropical forest location. Adjacent to Mystical Aranel Hanging Bridges walk, a must. Golden Budda Spa elegant. Massages wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful accommodations.

Posted Nov 22, 2015
Enjoyed the hotel and the spa. Golf carts taking you to your destination helped to get around. Enjoyed great room and patio with view of volcano. Breakfast buffet was great. Too rainy to use pool but looked great with swim up bar and nice lounge area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A jewel in the rain forest

Posted Aug 6, 2015
Pros: Spectacular rooms and views, friendly and knowledgable staff and… a dehumidifier in the room! Why didn't other hotels think of that?
Cons: The breakfast buffet could offer a bit more variety, but for the most part the food was good and the fruit wonderfully fresh.
Location: Tabacon Hot Springs is only 5 minutes up the road and La Fortuna is an easy 20 minute drive.
The Lost Iguana is real gem in the middle of the rain forest. Located in the hills, it is a terrific getaway to just sit back and enjoy the forest. Make sure to spend the extra few dollars for their junior suite and you will be presented with spectacular views, a wonderful balcony, a jacuzzi and a room that is simply stunning. In addition it contains a dehumidifier that will keep the room dry and avoid the musty smell found in the lower level cheaper rooms. The trails around the lodge are well maintained and will give you the chance to explore the surrounding rain forest with flora and fauna to die for. Almost every step you take around or outside the Lost Iguana lodge is filled with wildlife. From toads and frogs at night to toucans, tayras, coatis, wild hogs, iguanas, humming birds and butterflies of all sizes, shapes and colors, the Lost Iguana was truly a treasure trove. The rooms are clean and spacious, offering every amenity you could ask for, including reliable wifi internet access from almost anywhere on the property, combined with the stellar views, the friendly staff and the great location, the Lost Iguana is definitely a go-to destination. I know we will return there in a heartbeat the next time we visit Costa Rica. Keep in mind, however, that this is a remote location, so you will need a car to get around to places such as the surrounding hot springs or La Fortuna. You really are IN the rain forest here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, Ohio

Great hotel to get true rain-forest feel

Posted Aug 5, 2015
Pros: We liked that it was a bit more secluded than other places yet we were able to do whatever we wanted with a short cab ride.
Cons: One improvement could be to have more lights in the room
Location: La Fortuna is near; you could shop, eat at many restaurants, enjoy coffee in a cafe, sign up for rafting,zip line at outfitter and visit hot springs.
This hotel is out of the way from busyness and crowds. To get into the nearest town, La Fortuna, it will be a taxi fair of about $30. We knew this before hand so we planned our trips into town and our adventures accordingly. But if you like the quiet and more intimate experience of the rain-forest, this is the place to go. It was nice to meet the other guests at the pool or during meals but we also had plenty of quiet time too. Our balcony overlooked the rain-forest with a perfect view of Mt. Arenal. However, since we went in July, we usually had classic cloud/fog hovering over the peak of the volcano. None the less, it was a pretty view plus the sound of the rain-forest were so relaxing and we relaxed on the balcony. It is close to Hanging Bridges trail plus the hotel has a nice nature trail on the grounds.Service was good and very friendly. The desk help was always willing to answer questions and help with anything we needed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Rude & Slow Restaurant Staff

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Pros: The room
Cons: The Restaurant Staff
Location: Down a long steep road, a it out of town, close to the handing bridges.
It's a shame to give the entire place a bad rating, because really it was the Restaurant who let them down. It's a very open layout resort, so to get to our room we had a guy in a golf kart drive us up a steep hill and around a few corners to get there. Had there not been fog, there would have been a great view of the Volcano. The room was nice, very pretty, and comfortable with rocking chairs on the porch, but there was no information book to tell us what time the restaurant, pool and bar etc was open/closed so we just had to remember from what we were told or call reception and ask. We went to the restaurant for dinner, it was very confusing. There was no one to greet us and tell us where to sit or anything & the person we saw just kept walking so we picked a table and told someone we were there. We were bought nice looking menus & after a while received water & our order was taken. We waited a while for our wine & didn't ask for it until we saw another couple come in after us and receive their drinks before us. When the waiter bought them over he just plonked them on the table with a bad look on his face and walked off. It's a pretty expensive menu, but the food was really yummy. We inquired about an early breakfast one morning as we were leaving before they opened. They tried to charge us an extra $25 for it, what we got was over ripe fruit, horrible sandwiches & corn flakes. I called reception and refused to pay for it. After a word to the manger they honored it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 30, 2015
Nice resort with great views. Friendly staff, lots of wildlife on grounds. Not quite as close to town and activities as other resorts but overall experience was good.