Ratings based on 248 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BURLINGTON, CANADA

Excellent view of ARENAL VOLCANO

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Located in a Rainforest with a heated pool with a swim up bar. The staff here were very friendly, the rooms nice and clean with great shower.
Cons: the menu could be a bit more expanded, although it has a nice variety. I had the stuffed TILAPIA which was very good.
Location: TABACON springs nearby -- VERY CLOSE to the HANGING BRIDGES; TABACON hot springs, ARENAL VOLCANO park, LAKE ARENAL.
Beautiful JUNGLE resort with an incredible view of the ARENAL volcano right outside of our patio. The hotel is about 20 klm's out of LA FORTUNA - I would definitely come back. We only had a standard room as the deluxe rooms were already booked. I heard these deluxe rooms were quite nice with outdoor private showers. Our room had 2 double beds and was quite nice - but would have preferred the deluxe room. The views are great all around the resort - the heated pool is really nice after a long day of exploring or hiking or whatever - open until 10pm with a swim up bar. The only issue could be that most of the rooms are up and down hills which could be a bit of a challenge for some patrons - but you can ask for their golf cart to take you to your room. We opted to walk the beautiful path among the forest. The restaurant had breakfast included - including fresh omelets. The staff was accommodating and friendly - rooms clean - nice restaurant. Very close to the "HANGING BRIDGES" - but need a car if you want to go to other restaurants. Most of these hotels outside of LA FORTUNA are the same way ..but this one has a unique RAIN FORREST jungle setting - with birds flying around and a great view while of the VOLCANO having breakfast in the restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from British Columbia

Living in the jungle

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Our room was like living in luxury in the jungle. We had an indoor shower that was open overhead to the rain and had plants growing in it. Our balcony on the ground floor had a Jacuzzi on it and a couple of chairs and a side table with the jungle a foot in front of it. You could not see anyone else staying around you,only plants and birds and palm trees and flowers. The staff were so wonderful, the food great, and everything else was perfect for romance. Would highly recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great experience

Posted Feb 10, 2017
The hospitality was great at this hotel! The staff was beyond helpful and extremely nice.Some of the staff members my husband and I remember is Luis Angel ( bartender), Juan Carlos , Kelvin ,and Marcos these guys were easy to talk to and friendly. Thank you everyone for making our stay memorable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis

Nice facility nestled in the jungle!!

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Pros: room was fine and a good restaurant
Location: Lots of activities in and around Arenal volcano
good sleeping and good food at the hotel along with a spa and some hiking trails
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from St. Catharines, Ontario

All the creature comforts in the rainforest

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Pros: Very peaceful and quiet. Great views of the volcano.
Cons: Improving the seals on the doors would reduce the number of insects that get in to the room.
Location: Arenal Dam, hanging bridges, Arenal volcano, hot springs
We stayed 5 nights in a lovely casita. It was large and well equipped. We loved the double outdoor shower and the double outdoor jacuzzi. It was very private and had awesome views of the volcano. The staff is very friendly and the breakfast is good. It is a steep climb to get to the rooms but if you are unable or unwilling to climb, they will ferry you around in a golf cart.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Great Resort with Volcano view

Posted Jan 23, 2017
We really enjoyed our stay here. Specifically because the staff was wonderful to interact with and the view of Arenal Volcano from our room was amazing to wake up to each morning. There are a ton of activities that kept us busy for four days that are close to the resort. Also, can't go wrong with the heated pool with swimup bar! Overall great place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Wonderful hotel beautiful in every way

Posted Jan 17, 2017
It was very rainy when there but I spite of it we had a wonderful time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Romantic trip

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Absolutely loved the room and grounds surrounding. Will definitely go back. I highly recommend !!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

I loved my stay at the Lost Iguana!

Posted Nov 28, 2016
I had an incredible experience. The view from the room was breathtaking. The staff was extremely accommodating as were the other services such as the pool, spa, and restaurant. The only issue is that it's a bit far from other hotels so you may need to pay extra for transportation when booking excursions. Overall great experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel with a beautiful mountain view.

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Great experience with a staff that is never rude and always friendly.