Ratings based on 137 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Wonderful hotel beautiful in every way

Posted Jan 17, 2017
It was very rainy when there but I spite of it we had a wonderful time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Romantic trip

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Absolutely loved the room and grounds surrounding. Will definitely go back. I highly recommend !!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

I loved my stay at the Lost Iguana!

Posted Nov 28, 2016
I had an incredible experience. The view from the room was breathtaking. The staff was extremely accommodating as were the other services such as the pool, spa, and restaurant. The only issue is that it's a bit far from other hotels so you may need to pay extra for transportation when booking excursions. Overall great experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel with a beautiful mountain view.

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Great experience with a staff that is never rude and always friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from US

Jungle Paradise

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Pros: peace and quiet
Beautiful resort in the middle of the jungle. Amazing to just sit on the balcony and enjoy all the jungle sounds in the morning. If you are looking for a getaway from your city life...this is the place to unwind!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Really enjoyed the stay.

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Pros: Shower head had good pressure. Great view of volcano. Majority of the food was good.
Cons: Need more lighting in room. Shower was also dim. Pool isnt that big for swimming
Location: Zipline, Atv, Canyoning/Rappelling.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville, FL

Perfect little spot to get away from it all!

Posted Oct 1, 2016
Pros: Hotel room views, location, friendly staff
Cons: Provide shuttle service into town
Location: The Arenal Hanging bridges are right next door to the resort! La Fortuna is about a 15 min drive.
My husband and I spent a week at the Lost Iguana for our honeymoon last month. We absolutely loved the resort!! The Lost Iguana is situated in the middle of the rainforest. It is perfect if you are looking for a secluded place to unwind and relax. The staff are soo sweet and really care about making your experience enjoyable while you are there. We loved Juan Carlos! The view from the junior suite was absolutely amazing!! My favorite part was waking up every morning and going on the balcony to listen to all of the animals come to life! There is a heated pool with a swim up bar and happy hour daily from 3-5pm. The hotel staff are super helpful when you want to book excursions and will arrange everything, no need to book anything in advance. We visited during slow season, so we were the only people staying at the resort for a couple days. The only things we didn't like about the stay was that we were under the impression that they had free transportation off site, which they do not. We ended up getting a rental car halfway through our trip to avoid paying transportation fees. Free buffet breakfast was advertised, but since it was slow season, they did not have the buffet breakfast. You still get to choose whatever you want from a menu. The store onsite was almost always closed too. Regardless, we still very much enjoyed our trip and would definitely recommend!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Absolutely Gorgeous

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Can't say enough good things about this place! We stayed here last week for 3 days and it was amazing. Great views, the staff was very friendly and spacious rooms. The outdoor shower connected to our room was our favorite part. If you are going to Arenal STAY HERE!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Western New York State

Adult Family Trip

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Very nice place for a quite remote get away. The resort has plenty - spa, pool, hiking trails, food, and bar. Staff was very helpful and friendly. The location of the resort was about 30 minutes away from the town and many of the activities, so if you do not have your own transportation, plan on paying extra to the different sites.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, USA

Beautiful resort in a rainforest with lovely views

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: -The rainforest setting and view of the volcano -The restaurant & the food+drinks -The helpful staff
Cons: It's a little bit hard to find, tucked in from the main road. They should put up more signs on the main road starting at the dam.
Location: -Hanging bridges park, which is a must do. It's beautiful and a bit adventurous. -The Dam -Fresh fruits and coconut water vendors on the main road
The setting of the place inside a rainforest with views of the Arenal volcano are amazing. The property is landscaped so well and is such a delight to walk around. You see tons of tropical plants, toads croaking, birds tweeting and butterflies flying around with raindrop sounds. It's magical. The pool next to the bar and the restaurant are well designed. The food is excellent and reasonable priced for a fancy resort. The breakfast is included in the stay. The sauna and the exercise room are secluded and quiet with a walkway to a nearby waterfall. The staff is very helpful and offers a good set of tours, they speak English well. The bellboys are very prompt and polite in bringing you stuff or dropping you to your rooms in case of rain.