Ratings based on 225 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville, FL

Perfect little spot to get away from it all!

Posted Oct 1, 2016
Pros: Hotel room views, location, friendly staff
Cons: Provide shuttle service into town
Location: The Arenal Hanging bridges are right next door to the resort! La Fortuna is about a 15 min drive.
My husband and I spent a week at the Lost Iguana for our honeymoon last month. We absolutely loved the resort!! The Lost Iguana is situated in the middle of the rainforest. It is perfect if you are looking for a secluded place to unwind and relax. The staff are soo sweet and really care about making your experience enjoyable while you are there. We loved Juan Carlos! The view from the junior suite was absolutely amazing!! My favorite part was waking up every morning and going on the balcony to listen to all of the animals come to life! There is a heated pool with a swim up bar and happy hour daily from 3-5pm. The hotel staff are super helpful when you want to book excursions and will arrange everything, no need to book anything in advance. We visited during slow season, so we were the only people staying at the resort for a couple days. The only things we didn't like about the stay was that we were under the impression that they had free transportation off site, which they do not. We ended up getting a rental car halfway through our trip to avoid paying transportation fees. Free buffet breakfast was advertised, but since it was slow season, they did not have the buffet breakfast. You still get to choose whatever you want from a menu. The store onsite was almost always closed too. Regardless, we still very much enjoyed our trip and would definitely recommend!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

Absolutely Gorgeous

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Can't say enough good things about this place! We stayed here last week for 3 days and it was amazing. Great views, the staff was very friendly and spacious rooms. The outdoor shower connected to our room was our favorite part. If you are going to Arenal STAY HERE!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Western New York State

Adult Family Trip

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Very nice place for a quite remote get away. The resort has plenty - spa, pool, hiking trails, food, and bar. Staff was very helpful and friendly. The location of the resort was about 30 minutes away from the town and many of the activities, so if you do not have your own transportation, plan on paying extra to the different sites.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, USA

Beautiful resort in a rainforest with lovely views

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: -The rainforest setting and view of the volcano -The restaurant & the food+drinks -The helpful staff
Cons: It's a little bit hard to find, tucked in from the main road. They should put up more signs on the main road starting at the dam.
Location: -Hanging bridges park, which is a must do. It's beautiful and a bit adventurous. -The Dam -Fresh fruits and coconut water vendors on the main road
The setting of the place inside a rainforest with views of the Arenal volcano are amazing. The property is landscaped so well and is such a delight to walk around. You see tons of tropical plants, toads croaking, birds tweeting and butterflies flying around with raindrop sounds. It's magical. The pool next to the bar and the restaurant are well designed. The food is excellent and reasonable priced for a fancy resort. The breakfast is included in the stay. The sauna and the exercise room are secluded and quiet with a walkway to a nearby waterfall. The staff is very helpful and offers a good set of tours, they speak English well. The bellboys are very prompt and polite in bringing you stuff or dropping you to your rooms in case of rain.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Absolutely Great!

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: Views and Location!
Cons: some cheaper options on the dinner menu!
Location: Mystic bridges, La Fortuna, Arenal!
We stayed here with my son and daughter. It is a fairy small campus but felt very intimate and welcoming. Staff were amazing, food was great and the 'jungle experience' was unforgettable. The volcano view from our room was literally picture perfect! We did have a car to support our daily outings and I felt the location was perfect,. It was 20 minutes from town but I wouldn't have wanted to be any closer to the La Fortuna 'hotel run'. I agree with some of the other comments, the la fortuna resorts felt too much like what you might find anywhere else, the lost Iguana is in the jungle! and may not be for everyone, but it truly made our vacation seems more 'Pura Vida' and memorable. Great value, highly recommended!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from miami

Great surprise, very satistied!

Posted Aug 7, 2016
The hotel is located nearthe lake 10 mins away from the other hotel/springs area. The view from the room was amazing! Great service, clean, comfortable and breakfast buffet. Highly recommend it.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey.

Perfect oasis away...

Posted Aug 1, 2016
We had an awesome time and what views. The location was quiet and secluded from the surrounding touriste hotels but the closet to all the things that the Arenal volcano has to offer. We would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Great view

Posted Jul 27, 2016
You must visit the spa, it is superb, and the prices are good.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing view of the Arenal mountain !!!

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: The location and the view
We prefer quiet places away from busy downtown , this hotel was perfect !! It is located further away from La Fortuna, with an additional 1.5km off the road in the forest. The rooms are spacey with beautiful wooden furniture and the balcony faces the Arenal mountain - simply amazing !!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada, Toronto

Nice Hotel, friendly stuff, excellent location!

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: Great stuff, very helpful, beautiful view to the volcano and jungle. Great food. a bit expensive diner, nice breakfast.
Cons: everything is good. soundproof windows maybe))
Location: Tamarindo hot spa, waterfalls ziplane
Roads good to rent a car. Taxi expensive - 35-30 dollars US each way to fall. Hot spa Tabacon take for sure, it is excellent. Good to take with dinner branch - ten dollars more, total 70 dollars US. but food is very fresh and great. Sun down very early like at 5-30 - 6pm is already very dark, count on it. Everything is possible to pay in dollars.