Ratings based on 177 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Linda

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 3, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Jeff

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 17, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

cheated

Posted Feb 24, 2016
they cheated - gave us junior suites instead of the suites I paid for and gave our suites to other guests so only after 2 days they gave us the suites. they credited us for the difference in price - but ruined our 2 first days of vacation. the suites were far from restaurant and front desk - so one couple had to move back to the room they got first. we with the other couple liked the suites and had to deal with the distance. no WiFi in the rooms although in the booking form it says that there is for $5 - but not, no Wifi at all. even in the restaurant it is not always working. at the pool not working at all. the hot springs have dirty water.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Rustic Cabins

Posted Feb 13, 2016 on Lastminute
Good food and lots to do with go adventures over the road. Good volcano views.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Convenient location and nice view.

Posted Jan 22, 2016
Pros: see above
Cons: better lights in the room
Location: Lots to do - halfway between the National park and La Fortuna
Attractive room with great view of Arenal, but they had installed low wattage energy saving bulbs so very difficult to read in bed and shave in the bathroom. The bathroom shower was like a faucet - no spray - but plenty of volume. Otherwise, a nice breakfast, pleasant and helpful staff and flowering trees and bushes that attracted a variety of birds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lindsey L.

Couples trip

Posted Dec 14, 2015 on Orbitz
This hotel met and exceeded my expectations. The service was wonderful and exactly what we needed. I would recommend this place to everyone I know! We loved it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Maury

Good experience

Posted Dec 14, 2015 on HotelClub
Beautiful setting, varied amenities and options of activities. A bit dissapointed by the availability of wifi in rooms, but other than that enjoyable stay.
3 out of 5
by Kevin from Rockwall

check out other facilities

Posted Dec 6, 2015 on Hotels
Security great, staff was really good.the beds have lots to desire.hard mattress. Air conditioning was almost aweful.
1 out of 5
by Samantha H.

In Need of Upgrade

Posted Nov 29, 2015 on Orbitz
The outside of the facility was very nice and well kept and the staff were all very helpful. But the rooms themselves were awful!!! Beds were brick hard, the extra blankets looked old and dingy, and mildew in bathrooms and tile on the floors. The amenities were all old and outdated. Several things weren't working in the room. And despite the advertising that WiFi is available, they neglect to tell you that it isn't in ANY of the rooms. Just in the common areas (I.e front desk, pool, and restaurant) and even then it goes in and out very frequently.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Towels lacking!

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Cons: They need to increase their towel supply.
Location: We were about 10 minutes from the town.
If we go to Costa Rica again I would not stay at this hotel. While the room was clean, there were no towels in the room and when I called the front desk I was told they were still in the dryer! They didn't mention this when we checked in and didn't even have a towel to dry hands after using the bathroom. They brought us two towels to start with even though there were three of us staying. They eventually brought us two more and the floor mat. On the 2nd day the maid took the dirty towels but never brought back clean ones or a new floor mat. Again we needed to call. Also, there are no shower curtains and the water sprays every where and they are very conservative with the towels. I have never had this problem at any hotel no matter what country I was in. It was very strange. We had a similar issue with the pool towels... very hard to get. The rate includes breakfast which was above average. The decor is very weird in the bathroom. The TV's are not flat screens and the picture is not great. No Wifi in hotel rooms which is a problem when traveling with young children. The hotel staff was very nice. We had a nice view of the volcano and they had several nice pools but we didn't have time to spend a lot of time at them.