Ratings based on 178 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S

Checking in 0

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Check in made me feel like a nuisance any questions I asked. If it wasn't about a hotel service I got the impression don't ask. Room was ok but hot as heck when we entered and no towels to get a shower after the long trip. Little things matter. Good side, breakfast is good, view is perfect, hot tubs are nice. Decent parillada across the street also. 3/5
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best view of Arenal Volcano! Beautiful grounds.

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: I liked the fantastic view of the Volcano, the beautiful ground, the spacious rooms, the staff, the location and pretty much everything.
Cons: The shower tile and maybe more drawers for clothing and personal items.
Location: You can book anything from the hotel - Volcano hike, the suspension bridges, the Fortuna Waterfall, zip line, rappel, tubing, rafting, Rio Celeste
The hotel grounds were beautiful. It had the right combination of privacy and people, you could chose to be alone or social. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The hotel has a great restaurant- recommend the fried Tilapia if you don't mind whole fish- but everything was tasty. Close to La Fortuna, Tabacon River, and walking distance from two other restaurants- also had a convenient store across the street.Great Private Cabanas with a front porch and a viewing balcony from the back. I had an issue with sink leaking and they fixed right away! They have hot springs, a trail, and beautiful grounds. The only thing I didn't like was the shower tile floor- I went in with flip flops- Despite this, I strongly recommend and would stay again. The Guides were amazing- it was individual attention and care- took pics and even held our stuff!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 16, 2017
The hotel is in a great location, but is old and tired in appearances. The staff need to pick up their game a bit when it comes to service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 26, 2016
What a great staff they have. All were very friendly. Thanks to Jason for helping me with my key issue. The grounds are very nice, situated across the road from the volcano. Rooms were ok..... mine had no phone or bedside lamp like our other travelers in our group and the refrigerator door was rusted. It was clean though. Their zip line tour was great. Breakfast was also a plus!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Friendly staff, great view, convenient location

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: Location, staff, pools.
Cons: Rooms need just a small bit of maintenance -- screen repair, weather stripping on the bottom of the doors...
Location: This hotel is in close proximity to La Fortuna town, La Fortuna waterfall, several entrances to the volcano, lots of hiking, activities, Lake Arenal
The Montana de Fuego staff were super friendly and very willing to help. The location between the Arenal park entrance the La Fortuna town is convenient, especially if you have a car. The mini market across the street is great. The pools are lovely. The rooms themselves need a bit of TLC, but were comfortable and clean. And, wow, the shower water was nice and hot and powerful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not coming back

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
It was just ok. I will start by saying that the staff was truly amazing- but the good stuff stops there. We paid extra to have "lake" views. I was thinking Arenal Lake- but no- it was a tiny pond next to the main road. All night long we had car/truck lights/noises. We didn't sleep. We had a suite so we could have a pullout couch for our 9 year old. There was a pull out couch- but no sleeper sofa mattress- they laid a very old springy mattress on top- even he couldn't sleep on it- so he ended up sleeping with us. We did move rooms the next morning to a double room further away- which was nice of them to do. We had a wonderful show from the howler monkey's right out side. The down side to this room was that it was located to an area that the workers are working- so on the 1 day we wanted to have some down time in our room they were using loud things- like grinders etc. It went on all day. The pools were all to cold so we couldn't even play in the water. And don't bother with the spa- it is not really a spa- but a make shift spa- save your money- I pretty much couldn't wait to get out of there- and she finished early- like way early. Food was decent. It being my 3rd time to Arenal- I have stayed in better places.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Ant Hotel

Posted Sep 15, 2016
The staff were okay. There were ants all over the bungalow I stayed in (bathroom, bedroom and they even made it in my bed). I informed staff of this issue but they didn't seem to do too much. They said it's normal but it wasn't to me. I ended up paying to stay at another resort after I already paid to stay there. Bugs were all over the food. If I was an outdoorsy person, this would've been not so terrible. Plus there was no wifi in the rooms. They could have at least not charge me for the bar tab since they wouldn't refund me for the days I didn't stay. Never again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 23, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Jose M from Carolina, PR

Nice choice

Posted Aug 15, 2016 on Hotels
Enjoyed our stay here. Beautiful view of the Volcano and parks and recreation are near the hotel.
5 out of 5
by Zsuzsanna

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 25, 2016 on Hotels