Ratings based on 341 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Regan from Cypress, TX

Remote Tropical relaxation 10min away from town.

Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
We were 3 adults on a photography and sightseeing tour. Upon arrival, you are greeted in the lobby with tropical refreshment, handed your profile tablet ready for quick check-in, and then you are golf-carted up the hill to your room and explained the room operational items. The room was clean upon arrival, just needing the A/C to be activated to cool things down. There is a coffee maker in the room with local coffee packets. There is a closet room safe to secure your items. The daily 6:30am – 9:30am breakfast buffet was included and offered made to order omelets, pancakes, fresh fruit, and a mixture of meats, rice/beans other items. It was changed up for the two days we were there. We chose this hotel due to the remote tropical environment vs. being near downtown La Fortuna with all the noise, traffic. It is a 10 minute cab ride each commute to downtown. At the hotel, your early morning will be very active with birds and loud chirping at the break of daylight ~4:50am, surely to wake you up. The first morning had a howler monkey in the nearby trees. Worth a great morning walk for photography. You will do a lot of walking at this hotel up/down the hill to your villas. Of course you can request the golf cart if needed.
4 out of 5
by Rene from West Palm Beach

Peaceful Paradize

Posted May 6, 2016 on Hotels
Peacefull retreat away from the crowds,close to Nature and the Arenal.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City

The resort is just...ok.

Posted May 4, 2016
We felt like this place could be great but is just mediocre because of some rough edges that could stand to be polished. Sub-par staff, poor quality food for the most part, and pool which felt like too-warm bath water, at least in the hot daytime.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Beautiful Hotel

Posted May 2, 2016
Cons: Went during dry season-- The rooms can be quite warm because of size and location. Make sure to turn on your AC and give it time to cool off the room
This hotel is beautiful, the breakfast was amazing and the views are breathtaking. Rooms are very large with high ceilings. Waterfall shower was amazing-- and staff is friendly. Its nice to have your own villa
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san diego ca

Not worth the money

Posted May 2, 2016
I paid the upgrade for the jacuzzi on the patio. It didn't work and was dirty. First arrived and our door didn't work so they had to replace the whole handle. Bugs in the room. Food was the worst we had in 3 weeks of traveling. Flys all over the free breakfast. Pool bar didn't have anyone tending it at noon. Towels at front desk not at the pool
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario canada

Quiet hilltop villa

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Staff was excellent Food excellent. Location close to volcano and many attractions. Cool evening breeze due to hilltop setting. Nicely landscaped. Highly recommended to all
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2016 by Shir, Hotel Management
Good afternoon. Thank you for your comment. The location of the hotel is great advantage for those cool evenings with an excellent breeze. We hope you back and enjoy our service Restaurant, Spa , Tours, and more. Blessings. Shirlene Moya S. Reservations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel near Arenal volcano

Posted Mar 20, 2016
Pros: Loved the pool!
Cons: The water in the shower doesn't stay hot very long at all.
Location: Great location near the hot springs, Arenal volcano, Sky Trek park, Butterfly conservatory
We had an amazing time at the hotel. Close to the hot springs, Arenal volcano, Sky Trek zip line, and Butterfly conservatory. The hotel has two restaurants on site both of which were really good. The pool was our favorite part to the end of the day--our kids absolutely loved every minute of it! The only reason I gave 4 stars for room comfort was because our shower didn't stay hot for very long. Other than that, everything else was great!
4 out of 5
by Heidi from Westchester NY

Monster Bathroom

Posted Mar 14, 2016 on Hotels
Staff extremely friendly And helpful However our room was all the way up and we had to leave car at reception Staff would drive you in golf carts But where not always awailible Overall a pleasant stay
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This place is a disappointment

Posted Feb 23, 2016
Where do I start? - daughter left iPhone in room and staff stole it - leaves and dirt in "private pool" (c'mon) - staff unfriendly and rude - food disgusting and expensive - old run down rooms - overpriced - bugs in rooms (my daughters wanted to leave after night one) - many areas not staffed ("wet bar" has no bartender - so annoying) - walk from room to main hotel dark and no lights causing me to get lost. DONT STAY HERE. This place has a very bad vibe. Can't believe I paid $300 a night for this place.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto,Ontario,Canada

Recommend hotel with qualifiers!

Posted Feb 21, 2016
Tour guide Angelo excellent. Food at main restaurant is over cooked and not fresh. Breakfast and lunch are okay, avoid for dinner. However Arenal Kiota is a gem! What is odd is that this restaurant is part of hotel where the food is fresh and well done. The view is fantastic! So if this restaurant can provide excellent service and food, then why can't the main restaurant? In addition, the front desk staff are not very helpful. Only one of the team seems to know what is going on. The hotel itself is in a great location for seeing the volcano, when it is not covered by clouds, but is very dated. Arenal area is very "toutisty" and so I do not think they really care because another bus load of tourists will arrive to replace you. So buyer be aware!