Ratings based on 349 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One of the nicer hotels, somewhat expensive

Posted May 23, 2017
The front desk were very friendly and welcoming upon our arrival. The location of the hotel is beautiful and has amazing views. The pool and swim up bar are very very nice! We enjoyed our stay at this hotel however there were a few snags. We felt the hotel staff weren't as friendly as we are used to and felt like sometimes we were more of an annoyance than a paying customer. The food at the restaurant was very expensive. We had a coffee maker in our room but no coffee to make (as is usually found in a 4-5 star hotel). There was s camera in the room, not really sure what it was used for but we covered it up. Other than these minor complaints it really does live up to its 4 star rating
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Beautiful hotel.Close to everything.great staff

Posted Apr 6, 2017
We had a great stay at this hotel. Beautiful and large room, clean, in the middle of nature. Warm swimming pool. Nice restaurant. The staff has been extremely helpful during the whole stay , from picking up at the airport at night time to organising our tours. They also allowed us a late check out for free. I would highly recommend mountain paradise if you stay in arenal. Thanks for everything.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

beautiful mountain location

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: The foliage was older and fuller for the forest experience and some wonder birds on the property.
Cons: Restaurant dinner not very good for the price.
Maybe because older jacuzzi in room didn't work, and a few other minor room problems, but the rooms and beds are huge and the rooms have a nice rustic feel. The view from the room was spectacular.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from illinois

Pura Vida

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: The rain fall showers
Cons: There were problems with the electric and were not resolved during our stay.
Location: We did hanging bridges hike and leisure time at a thermal spa both were great
Nice unique design of resort. Staff was very nice and accomidating
5 out of 5
by Lorraine K

Great place; Nice surprise! Great Location

Posted Feb 15, 2017 on Hotels
Near Volcano, Hot Springs. It was such a beautiful place, comfortable bed, the room was huge and awesome. The bathroom was a surprise! Had two showers, one like a little waterfall! Also huge. Not the typical American hotel! We loved it. Had a hot tub on our patio which was a nice surprise. Great service; Very accommodating. They drive you up to your room, like a little cottage. Towels on your bed, shaped like an elephant. Beautiful grounds and pool (with a bar). Very pretty! Breakfast was excellent with fresh fruit. We enjoyed it. Didn't even watch the big tv. But don't look for the "frog pond" mentioned on the flyer. It isn't there. We walked the grounds to find it. Did find cows out back though. Thin compared to our overfed, fattened up cows.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 23, 2017
The atmosphere and staff were outstanding would recommend to everyone
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Orbitz
Nice hotel. Little away from the town. Spacious rooms, comfortable large beds. Waterfall shower was awesome. Great breakfast buffet had mix of local and western variety.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Naples

Great place & staff

Posted Oct 23, 2016 on CheapTickets
Pros: Room price & location
Cons: No fridge or microwave in the room
Location: Chato volcano hiking, thermal waters, falls, horse riding....
Not fridge inside the room and out of the free breakfast drinks and food are a little bit expensive. Rooms and view are amazing, its close to the most important attractions. Super secure and awesome decorations.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Lack of paradise...More like glorified camping

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Pros: The staff was extremely friendly and nice. Tour guide was incredible knowledgeable and friendly. Property was beautiful, with many birds and animals.
Cons: Everything about the rooms, beds, bathrooms
We booked this as part of our honeymoon trip to Costa Rica. We were supposed to stay for 4 nights. It looked great online, and the reviews seemed to state what we were looking for. While I understand that we were staying in the jungle, I did not expect the jungle to be staying in our room. When we got to our room, we immediately realized that it was not what we were looking for. The room looked dirty. The front door was not sealed properly, and had approximately a 1/2 inch gap around the perimeter, which allowed MANY bugs to find their way in. The "porch" double doors had a 1/2 inch gap on the bottom, as well as a 1/2 inch gap between both doors, again, allowing bugs (which we saw) to enter. I woke up the next morning with multiple bug bites. The bathroom was gross. We refused to walk around without shoes on. The bed was the most uncomfortable thing we ever laid on. The next morning we realized it was just a box spring. We spoke to the staff and they kindly moved us to another room. Unfortunately, the move left us with a queen size bed, when we paid for a king, as well as no view of the volcano, which we also paid for. We tried the room out for the second night stay there, but both doors still had gaps, the conditions were still dirty, and there were still multiple bugs in the room, and now there were ants in the bed. We had it and moved to another hotel. Hotel refused us a refund for the next 2 nights we were supposed to stay, and Expedia has been no help either.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 6, 2016 on Hotels