Ratings based on 329 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by Jose Rodrigo

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel with great view

Posted May 16, 2016
Thoroughly enjoyed every minute of our stay. The staff was top notch, breakfast was delicious traditional Costa Rican food, and the room was adorable. Great place to relax and enjoy the beautiful area.
5 out of 5
by Ruben

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

There are better options in La Fortuna

Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel seemed to have high promise but I had too many issues during my stay. First the door locking mechanism was flaky, second the rain shower had no water pressure. Third the waterfall shower felt like buckets of water being dumped on your head (hint install a diffuser). The pool was closed for renovation during my entire stay. I did get a credit voucher for a nearby hot springs but had to take a paid taxi to get there! The staff seemed indifferent to the guests and I felt many didn't want to be there serving their guests except for the lone receptionist at the front desk. Finally, this place was too far from La Fortuna, you have to take a $10 to $12 shuttle or taxi ride if you don't have a car every time you want to go do something.
4 out of 5
by Regan from Cypress, TX

Remote Tropical relaxation 10min away from town.

Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
We were 3 adults on a photography and sightseeing tour. Upon arrival, you are greeted in the lobby with tropical refreshment, handed your profile tablet ready for quick check-in, and then you are golf-carted up the hill to your room and explained the room operational items. The room was clean upon arrival, just needing the A/C to be activated to cool things down. There is a coffee maker in the room with local coffee packets. There is a closet room safe to secure your items. The daily 6:30am – 9:30am breakfast buffet was included and offered made to order omelets, pancakes, fresh fruit, and a mixture of meats, rice/beans other items. It was changed up for the two days we were there. We chose this hotel due to the remote tropical environment vs. being near downtown La Fortuna with all the noise, traffic. It is a 10 minute cab ride each commute to downtown. At the hotel, your early morning will be very active with birds and loud chirping at the break of daylight ~4:50am, surely to wake you up. The first morning had a howler monkey in the nearby trees. Worth a great morning walk for photography. You will do a lot of walking at this hotel up/down the hill to your villas. Of course you can request the golf cart if needed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2016 on Hotels
- The pool was currently closed, so the hotel was providing free access to a hot springs center located at 5min driving distance (which is fine as far as you have a car, otherwhise you have to wait for one of the shuttles) - Room is big, with a nice view on the Arenal volcano - However bubbles bath was not working - Free yoga courses
4 out of 5
by Rene from West Palm Beach

Peaceful Paradize

Posted May 6, 2016 on Hotels
Peacefull retreat away from the crowds,close to Nature and the Arenal.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 4, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City

The resort is just...ok.

Posted May 4, 2016
We felt like this place could be great but is just mediocre because of some rough edges that could stand to be polished. Sub-par staff, poor quality food for the most part, and pool which felt like too-warm bath water, at least in the hot daytime.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Beautiful Hotel

Posted May 2, 2016
Cons: Went during dry season-- The rooms can be quite warm because of size and location. Make sure to turn on your AC and give it time to cool off the room
This hotel is beautiful, the breakfast was amazing and the views are breathtaking. Rooms are very large with high ceilings. Waterfall shower was amazing-- and staff is friendly. Its nice to have your own villa